Mazda Malaysia announces recall for Mazda 6, BT-50 – faulty Takata-made airbag inflators in 1,003 vehicles

Mazda Malaysia Takat recall

Mazda Malaysia has announced a recall for the first-generation Mazda 6 (GG) and BT-50 (J97M) to replace potentially faulty Takata-made airbag inflators. Similar to previous recall programmes related to such airbag inflators, owners are urged to send their vehicles in for the necessary fixes as soon as possible.

For the Mazda 6, both the driver- and passenger-side airbag inflator will need to be replaced. According to Mazda Malaysia, 427 units of the D-segment sedan are affected. Meanwhile, only the driver-side airbag inflator in 576 units of the BT-50 will need replacing. Keep in mind that the current BT-50 and Mazda 6 (GJ) are not affected by this recall.

Customers are advised to contact Mazda Malaysia at 03-7627 8999 to check if their vehicle are among those affected by the recall. Vehicles owners can also log on to a dedicated website on the matter, where they can key in the 17-digit Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) at the bottom of the page to confirm if their vehicles are affected. The website can be found, here.

According to Mazda Malaysia, the fix will take roughly 1 to 1.5 hours, and due to the limited stock of new airbag inflators, the recall campaign will be done on a “first come, first serve” basis. Again, with all matters relating to airbags, please do not hesitate in ensuring that your vehicle gets checked should it be listed as an affected model.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Albert kata; siapa berani persoal dia punye tuan jepunis, dia akan potong kepla itu orang. Nak kasi up tali-barutness dia.

• Its OK on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:09 am

its ok Mazda Malaysia..you dont have to recall ur car..its really okay for us Malaysian to died in a Japan’s made car..its like an honor for us to die in ur vehicle. We really dont mind at all..really. Unless its a Proton..even the vehicle score highest safety level, we still hate it. Why?dont question us why as u dont question us why we didnt mind to die in Japans made vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Lance on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Problem with some typical Malaysians. When there is no recall in Malaysia all hoohah why no recall, why Malaysians life is cheap la, why you think Malaysians are stupid la.. Now when there is a proper recall they now say no need la, honor to die la..Whatever it is they will always complaint. Even if you give them a Ferrari with Myvi price they will still complain why fuel consumption is high la, why spare parts expensive la, why so difficult to park the car la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • anakikan on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:24 pm

my friend..have you ever heard of word SARCASM/SARCASTIC ever in ur life?senang cerita PERLI lah..you should read more books..

• Lance on Jun 20, 2016 at 3:09 pm

My point is, some Malaysians will complaint just about everything and yes, sarcasm is a form of complaint too.

• true indeed..see how they complain P1??even the company has improve recently..but people dont want to see good thing from P1..they only look for negative..

• not ok on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:27 pm

y u no see sarcasm flag?

• No matter what happen, jap brand car stil the king !

• Toriton on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

Better than proton pretending they have a working airbag in their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • goread on Jun 20, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Pretend? Lol you tarak baca ka?
      1.It’s not takata airbags
      2.In ANCAP and Australian NCAP it was deployed
      3.It did deployed in p1 car accidents, go read.

• P1 airbags from Autoliv Sweden. So far haven kirr pipu yet. U jelly?

• clutch_plate on Jun 21, 2016 at 10:42 am

Another blind basher in the making.. do some research & go back to school kid..