Jaguar F-Pace rides up Goodwood Hill on two wheels

The Jaguar F-Pace is a surprisingly agile and nimble SUV, as we found out during our escapade in Montenegro. For this year’s Goodwood Hillclimb event, the British carmaker has decided to push the big cat’s capabilities further, by having it complete the route on just two wheels.

To accomplish the feat, Jaguar teamed up again with stunt driver Terry Grant, whose previous outing in the F-Pace involved setting a new Guinness World Record for the biggest loop-the-loop. This time, he’s not alone because professional freestyle motorbike stunt rider Lee Bowers will join him to upset the insurance agents further, as you’ll see in the video.

While it may look easy, even for an expert like Grant, the two-wheeled drive required hours of planning. Final preparations were completed at Santa Pod Raceway in Northamptonshire just days ahead of the live event.

“When Jaguar gave me the opportunity to reunite with the F-Pace used to break the world’s largest loop record, I couldn’t say no. Its light, stiff aluminium body and precise controls make it the perfect wheelie vehicle, and it was great to have Lee Bowers along for company – even if he did climb out halfway through our run!” said Grant.

The F-Pace is Jaguar’s first-ever SUV, and uses the same aluminium-intensive architecture employed by its XE and XF sedan siblings. Engine options include diesel units from Jaguar Land Rover’s (JLR) Ingenium modular engine family, and petrol powerplants. The Jaguar F-Pace is expected to arrive in Malaysia in the fourth quarter of 2016.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I can do this on my Gen 2

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Amazing Jaguar. Once upon a time, Jaguar was a bankrupt company. It was practically dead. Nobody wanted them. UK Government also wanted to shut them down.

But then, they transformed. They produced cars like the XF which sold in the hundreds of thousands. Now, they have this F Pace. Within months, its doing so well. Even Top Gear gave a salute to this car.

I wonder if Proton also can turn around. Firstly, they need to change their attitude of sleeping on the job. If MAS workers can be sleeping during office hours, you can be sure, Proton also, will have staff fast asleep in the assembly plant.

Maybe its time to listen to the German Muellar (MAS ex CEO) and wake up and transform yourself Proton! Cukup lah tidur bang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Er no. Jag’s image is quite pitiful now. They used to be the rich mans toy, the fun car for those who have rolls royce as their famili car. Now they relegated themselves to compete with Mesidis, Beemer and even down to Audi level.

Very very far cry from their heritage, prestige, image, legacy, history, that the ori Jag team built up for decades but took less than 10 years for India HQ to destroy.

Sir William Lyons wud be spinning like a turbocharger if he knew what happened to his creation now.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:04 am

Go back to your Proton storeroom to tidur lah bang

• Funny this comes from someone whose life achievement is sitting inside a showroom lexus.

U better go back to snoring in ur vios cuz nobody coming to ur toyota showroom.

• Jaguar on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Now,that’s something that u don’t see everyday.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:32 pm

i will try it on my TRD VIOS

• thepolygonal on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Same place with the same stun on Goodwood… done with the Juke a year ago. I think it’s a yearly event. Wonder what will be for next year. :D