Toyota 86 recalled – 15k units in OZ, M’sia affected too

Toyota 86 001

An announcement by Toyota Australia today stated that it will be recalling approximately 15,000 units of the Toyota 86 built between April 2012 and March 2015 for a potential loss of power steering assistance. This recall involves right-hand drive vehicles that are equipped with driver’s knee airbags.

The recall stems from an improper wire harness layout, the company said, which is likely to interfere with the instrumental panel lower cover – this contains the driver’s knee airbag on Australian-specification vehicles. This occurs when the rotation angle sensor of the vehicle’s electric power steering (EPS) wears over time and accumulates debris, oxidising the sensor and rendering it non-conductive.

If the driver’s knee makes contact with the knee airbag lower cover, the EPS wire harness routed behind the cover could move, causing the connector terminal to touch the debris and result in electrical contact failure. This, in turn, warns the EPS control unit of a fault and interrupts steering assistance, which requires considerably greater steering effort from the driver, potentially leading to loss of control.

toyota-ft86-74

Toyota Australia expects parts for the recall to arrive late next month, with the repair work estimated to take just over an hour and will be carried out free of charge. The statement adds that there have been 62 reported incidents in Australia, with no accidents or injuries resulting from this condition.

We’ve reached out to UMW Toyota Motor, which confirmed that the recall also affects official Malaysian-spec units sold at authorised Toyota dealers, and the company will contact owners for the procedure.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• targa on Aug 04, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Well, this car could do with less power assistance, maybe it’s a blessing in disguise. Haha…

• Jangan bimbang. Since this is jepunis overlords, so recall is gud, means they r taking care of customers, top quality. But if this was P1…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:29 pm

P1 cannot do much. They got no money. No money means, no recall. Also, cincai service will be done and cheap oil given.

That is why people not taking MAS now. MAS got no money, how to service the planes?

• hailthepurist on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:42 pm

But if this was P1….. the punch cvt still sucks..

• GT86 Afficiando on Aug 04, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Would Toyota be covering grey imports as well? Since this is manufacturer’s fault and all, being a grey import still does not exempt the manufacturer to extend coverage to those units as well. Hopefully Toyota will look at Honda, who is making effort to visit used car dealers to ensure all Hondas affected are detected and rectified, and also covering grey imports as well.

• Toyota response:
      Since u din buy from either my salesman, Sam Loo or Albert, why shud I gip u recall service? Lu balik to ur cheaper AP lah! Padan muka u for buy from crony APs instead of my overpriced underspec cars! Told u to support Party Hard and u will get warranty & recall servis, but u dun wan! U wan to support BN cronies APs! So jangan bazir masa ku since my sales drop like rock! I wanna kejar more noobs and unkers! Lu balik kampung now! Jangan kacau and jangan persoal!

• thepolygonal on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:00 pm

That steering wheel… noooooooooo

• sepul on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Will this affect Subaru BRZ too? Both cars were assembled at the same factory.

• Battu on Aug 05, 2016 at 7:53 am

well this is quite similar with a viral facebook post about axia steering sudden lock, but no proof yet, just a normal viral stories. need more evident to back it up.

• Wow how did they come up with this findings?