JPJ: Owner’s biometric verification not required for road tax renewal, caution advised with social media

jpj voc

Contrary to messages circulating via social media channels, vehicle owners are not required to give biometric verification of their identity for the renewal of road tax for their vehicles, according to a statement issued by the Road Transport Department (JPJ). The process for road tax renewal remains as before, where either the vehicle owner or a representative can carry out this procedure, without biometric verification being needed.

“The JPJ would like to advise the public against believing and spreading messages received from unverified sources via social media, without first verifying the information with the JPJ,” the department said in the statement.

Beginning September 1 this year, vehicles which are having their road tax renewed will be issued with a Vehicle Ownership Certificate (VOC) as a replacement for the existing registration card (RC). The replacement of the existing RC with the VOC will also be carried out when vehicles requiring amendments or corrections to their particulars, haven’t been issued with a VOC.

The issuance of the VOC is free of charge for the first time. For vehicles which have already been issued with a VOC, JPJ can issue a new copy of the VOC at the owner’s request if there are any changes to the vehicle records.

The move to the VOC will take place in phases, and from January 1 next year it will be possible for all vehicle owners to obtain a VOC to replace the RC, done on a voluntary basis by going to a JPJ office. By Jan 1, 2020, it’s expected that all registered vehicle owners in the country will have moved from the RC to the VOC.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Why is there efforts to spoil a gud thing coming from Gov?
    Its cuz we r Malaysians, thats why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • What if it’s my clone that’s doing the renewal?

• Then I thank u for running my errants for free, lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:23 am

This rumour was created by the ulat ulat who hand around JPJ office. See who they are. Then you will know. They are part time hanging around JPJ office by day and part time red shirt protestors by night.

Lazy fellows. Don’t want to work. Just bribe the JPJ officers to jump queue and pakat with the JPJ officers.

Hello JPJ DG, please clean up your offices. All the ulat ulat can jump queue how come? Obviously they pakat with the JPJ officers at the counters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Curious on Aug 12, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Any reasons why JPJ wants to replace the present RC with VOC. What I understand under the VOC, the bank that provides hp financing on the motor vehicle is not disclose in the VOC, so when the car is sold, how does the purchaser knows there is still outstanding financing on the motor vehicle?

• Abg ECO on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:12 pm

The VOC can be laminate or not?

• Nasik lemak ayam on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:50 am

what do we expect from the nasi lemak govt, really??

• If u never eat nasi lemak b4, then ur not Malaysian.
      So why shud we belip u?

• reyust on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:46 am

VOC need to be present when required i.e roadblock, right? “Your license and VOC please”