Honda obtains first energy efficient vehicle (EEV) motorcycle certificates in Malaysia for four bikes

Honda Wave Dash FI Malaysia  019

With emissions and fuel consumption standards being tightened up in view of current environmental conditions, Boon Siew Honda (BSH), official Malaysian distributors for Honda motorcycles, has obtained energy efficient vehicle (EEV) certificates for four models that it assembles locally.

The models in question are the EX5 Fi, Future Fi, Wave Dash (Fi) and Wave Alpha. The EEV certification is issued to vehicles confirming to carbon emissions and fuel consumption standards determined by the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), as defined in the New Automotive Policy (NAP) 2014.

According to the NAP definition, EEV certificates are granted to motorcycles that consume less than 2.2-litres of fuel per 100 kilometres. In the case of Honda’s EEV bikes, three models – the EX5, Future and Wave Dash – consume 1.8-litres per 100 km, coming in 18% under the NAP limit, while the Wave Alpha records a slightly higher 1.9-litres per 100 km.

From January to July 2016, a total of 49,324 motorcycles manufactured by BSH were EEV certified, out of a total production total of 58,934 units. This represents 83% of its motorcycle production in Malaysia, and signifies its commitment to introducing new models that meet EEV standards.

Retail pricing for the Honda EX5 Dream Fi starts from RM 4,716 to RM4,960, the Honda Dash Fi at RM5,670 to RM6,094, and the Honda Wave Alpha at RM4,292 to 4,716, with all three using a 110 cc single-cylinder engine. The 125 cc Honda Future Fi starts from 5,914 and tops out at RM6,306.

Honda motorcycles that are sold in Malaysia which are EEV compliant will display a special sticker on the headlight denoting its EEV certification status. This is to enable easy recognition by buyers. Honda’s EEV certification does not attract any tax exemption and retail prices remain the same.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• hahaha… A long writeup but really the most important key point is the last sentence…

Initially I thought honda would now cut prices..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • yeah..this is Boon Siew Honda we talking bout on Aug 19, 2016 at 6:13 pm

yeah i thought that honda are gonna reduce prices. But this is honda we are talking about and i came to my senses.

Boon Siew Honda has the highest price for motorcycles in malaysia. you can try to compare similar model by other makes and you see that honda are the priciest. I guess with the EEV incentives it means more money will masuk poket BSH.

• Tony F on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Now everyone can EEV!

• Ootai on Aug 19, 2016 at 6:06 pm

The price remain not cheap for low income earners.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Is there no price reduction at all or there is but Boon Siew Honda isn’t sharing it?

• Dont Talk cock on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Get EEV status but price still the same what for? Talk cock like this

• What a waste of time. Give me back my 2 minutes.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:22 am

Other than less pollution (which i think not significant at all), this EEV does not benefit BOTH manufacturer and consumer? Walawei.

• Marc Marquez on Aug 20, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Honda’s EEV certification does not attract any tax exemption and retail prices remain the same. – WTF???!!!

• When is the government going to ban 2 stroke bikes ??? At least discourage the use of it by taxing the 2T oil heavily or put a much higher roadtax on those bikes . They are so polluting to the environment . Ban these 2 stroke bikes before talking about EEV especially kapcai class bike.