Volvo, Federal Auto open new dealer on Federal H’way

IMAGE_003

Recently, you may have noticed that Federal Auto’s iconic Volvo showroom along the Federal Highway has been vacated (it’s now been converted into a service area). Its replacement, just a stone’s throw away in the premises of Menara MBMR – the new headquarters of Federal Auto’s parent company MBM Resources – was officially launched last week.

The new RM10 million, 16,685 square feet showroom is the first in Malaysia to implement the new Volvo Retail Experience (VRE) – a new corporate identity designed to help the brand on its way to becoming a true luxury marque. Federal Auto claims the outlet offers Volvo’s latest products and services, and also promises an improved aftersales service experience, giving more importance to service customers than ever before.

Differentiating the VRE showroom from the others is the frosted glazing across the front of the showroom, with clear sections of glass highlighting the latest offerings.

Volvo Federal Auto launch 7

Inside, 40% of the floor plan has been dedicated to a new “living room” area that features Scandinavian-designed furniture, free WiFi and Swedish cakes and coffee, while the rest of the facility is a contrasting “street” display area showcasing Volvo’s vehicle range. The area has been designed to allow customers to stay in the showroom while their vehicle is being serviced.

“The Volvo Retail Experience is just one of our strategies to strengthen and close the gap with our competitors,” said Volvo Car Malaysia managing director Lennart Stegland. “As we continue to introduce products that are well-designed, luxurious and safe, we strive to extend the same feeling to our customers from the very moment they enter our retail environment.”

IMAGE_004

Federal Auto Holdings chairman Aqil Ahmad Azizuddin said, “The former showroom was an icon and a landmark in its own right but the establishment of this new Volvo Retail Experience Showroom is necessary to keep the brand competitive. It will still maintain the same sense of familiarity that our customers are accustomed to.”

The new showroom at Menara MBMR is open from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm from Mondays to Saturdays, and 9:30 am to 5:00 pm on Sundays. For more information, customers can contact 03-2260 1411.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Congrats Volvo!

• showroom on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:40 am

yes, this is what we call Showroom…please upgrade the Melaka Showroom too, I think it is the worst Volvo Showroom in Malaysia

• And if you notice, just outside Federal Auto is a BIG billboard advertising a Merc, giving people the impression that it is a Merc showroom.

It is very silly of them to let a rival brand advertising so prominently just outside their tuft.

• katak on Aug 29, 2016 at 4:00 pm

come la, this is the trend for most auto showroom design world wide, ask merz to patent this design lor…katak di bawah tempurung

• Sammy on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:08 pm

I think is more like their marketing team need to get fired for letting a rival brand putting a flag infront of their house.
        I am sure they got approached also to put the ads.

You totally miss the issue of SOSO raised. Is about the Billboard outside (by Mercedes) that actually cover the Volvo signage. Not about the design of the showroom.

• the same thing.. tesco will put up a billboard nearby giant supermarket.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:03 pm

its great their showroom is no longer under a mercedes ad…it was just insulting to put the ad of an inferior car over the mighty volvo

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Ikr. Merc being such an arse, Volvo wouldn’t put their banner on a Merc showroom. So rude.

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:53 pm

This is what they do. It has been a good bilboard rivalry between them. Merc Benz, BMW, Audi, Subaru and etc. Nothing rude about it. Auto trolling at its finest.

• I agree. I much prefer Mercs but this is rude. You don’t see BMW doing this.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:09 pm

You’d expect BMW or Audi to troll like that. But no, it’s Mercedes Benz.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Federal Auto, Federal Highway. Okay I hope you walk the talk with for the ‘improved service’, not just for this outlet, but for all SCs. And service should not just limited to new cars XC90, S90 but for the rest of the lineup also.

• how u know volvo service not good? or u just heard friend’s friend’s friends said so…which model u owned before?

• my father used to own the 244 DL some 30 years ago. 2.1 litre engine. 4 speed. but never send to Federal Auto la. of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:31 pm

its like im driving w124 230E and i send to ah keong to service but i scold hup seng biscuit stars for lousy service

• drillero on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Well, a lot to be improved. Can someone provide me with Mr CEO Volvo & Mr Chairman email address? Need to write to them directly.

• Ikea furniture and China cars with whiteman skin. NEXT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • don’t forget ur iphone ( u might be using huawei or oppo ) also made in china, might be made in india later….lol

• nabill (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:50 pm

That showroom is really synonymous with federal highway…. Its been thr forever…

• congrats on the new showroom. any idea why the model was holding her breast and gave the kind of stomachache face when the men were shaking hands? OMG, get better quality models next time

http://s2.paultan.org/image/2016/08/Volvo-Federal-Auto-launch-7.jpg

• Bernard on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:22 pm

For most luxury car buyers , they can’t pronounce or spell the brands they drive. But they can afford to buy it. Isn’t that ironic?