2017 Peugeot 5008 revealed – goodbye MPV, hello SUV

PEUGEOT_5008_SUV

Peugeot has revealed the new 5008 ahead of the 2016 Paris Motor Show later this month, and there’s no mistake here – the 2017 Peugeot 5008 is now an SUV, and is no longer an MPV. All has changed but the name and the old people carrier’s seven-seat capacity.

The new 5008 is a C-segment SUV with a length of 4.64m and a wheelbase measuring 2.84m. That’s the same overall length as the current Nissan X-Trail, but the Peugeot’s wheelbase is a massive 135 mm longer, leading the French brand to call the 5008 “the most liveable of C-segment SUVs”. Compared to the second-generation 3008 that was revealed earlier this year, this big brother is 19 cm longer.

It’s pretty clever inside too. The second row gets three individual seats that can fold, slide and recline (five different angles vs two in the MPV), all with Isofix points. The third row is made of two individual flat folding seats that are removable, and max boot capacity is 1,060 litres. The front passenger seat can also fold forward to accommodate long cargo of up to 3.2 metres, and there’s a hands-free motorised tailgate. The MPV DNA is strong.

2017 Peugeot 5008-08

The new 5008 comes with Peugeot’s i-Cockpit, a layout that was first seen in the 208. Key points are a compact steering wheel, an eight-inch touchscreen and a 12.3-inch high-res digital head-up display, which is basically the meter panel.

Peugeot claims “excellent sound insulation” and “body-hugging front seats” with an optional multipoint massage system. A Focal Premium Hi-Fi system, Qi wireless charger plate, TomTom navigation and a panoramic glass roof are also available.

Available safety features include Advanced Grip Control with Hill Assist Descent Control, Automatic Emergency Braking System, Distance Alert, Active Lane Keeping Assistance, driver attention warning, Smart Beam Assistance, speed sign recognition and speed suggestion, adaptive cruise control with stop feature (automatic gearbox), active blind spot monitoring, Park Assist and Visio Park (360-degree vision).

Like the 308 and 3008, the new 5008 sits on PSA’s Efficient Modular Platform (EMP2) and is 95 kg lighter than the MPV. The car is powered by Euro 6 petrol (1.2L PureTech 130 and 1.6L PureTech 165) and diesel engines (1.6L BlueHDi 100, 1.6L BlueHDi 120, 2.0L BlueHDi 150). A sporty range-topping GT model gets the 2.0L BlueHDi 180 motor.

Lastly, the 5008 comes with two friends that can integrate nicely into its boot. The e-Kick is an electrically-assisted folding scooter, while the e-Bike eF01 is a new electrically-assisted portable bicycle. We’ll probably have to wait for the Paris show to see the two bikes, though.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Samuel on Sep 07, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Not sushi, no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
    • Low Class Car - Jeremy Clarkson on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Even in Europe, when you sue Peugeot, people label you as a failure. This is why Jeremy Clarkson also said Peugeot company made the worst cars in history. Go and see the Top Gear episode on Peugeot. The car company is a joke.

Sadly in Malaysia, people think it is luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
      • even people here driving Honda and Toyota vios tries to drive it like bmw…and try to tapau bmw, or tapau Ferrari
        and some here even thought Toyota and Honda is luxuries

• u got money, easy la…

toyota and honda quite luxuries to me. and millions of us in malaysia

ingat toyota honda mitsu semua tu murah?

cuba dulu hidup gaji RM1500

• justsomepissedoffdude on Sep 07, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Hahaha you must have some selective watching/hearing/comprehension disease..
        Are you talking of the same Jeremy Clarkson that LOVES the peugeot GTI hatchbacks? Yes he did dislike some particular models (406, 307, older 308) but also said peugeot used to make fun, good, excellent cars and hoped they would again.. and they are! Starting with the current 208,308,508,408,2008 and the upcoming 3008 and 5008, peugeot is back on a roll. Have u been living under a rock all this while? Of course with car prices in malaysia even a common toyota or vw is already considered luxury. So stop smoking whatever it is you’re smoking and get clear eyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 07, 2016 at 12:23 pm

If the 5008 is now a C segment SUV..then where is the 3008 going to slot into since the 2008 is a B segment SUV. I would have thought it will rival the likes of the CX9 or become the poor man’s GLS class / X7 seven seater SUV.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Wah good observation. I think 3008 will be something like a sporty version of their SUV offering much like GLC coupe. Anyway no bother la getting Pijot. Always problem here (temp sensor, pump, air cond, radiator all faulty within 2 years) yet still MY pipu crave for this so-called conti brand. Seen 2 units break down in highway bukit jalil last month alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • lol what a joke
        the worst is not the pipu here have no knowledge to identify that it isn’t a luxury brand
        is that they have no sense of awareness about the safety features etc, but only talk about rv la rv la
        and drive txxxxx or hxxxx like bmw with nose pointing to the sky

• Sk8trboi on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Toyota Fortuner rules

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • justsomepissedoffdude on Sep 07, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Exactly, I thought 3008 was a compact competing with cx-5/cr-v and this would a mid size compete with cx-7? Strange

• Ozgur on Sep 24, 2016 at 4:06 am

I think bigger and higher version will be DS model with more advanced engines such as Plug in Hybrids also I guess they will use a much more advanced suspension system in their new DS models Plug in System will be later used in other PSA cars first Peugeots(Suvs and big sedans) than Citroen Suvs …

• Wow… good thinking.. go with the trend. by the time it reaches our shores it will be near 180k mark !

• Looks like everyone is going for SUVs nowdays. Well except for America families. They seem to love their minivas very much

• spongewai on Sep 07, 2016 at 12:35 pm

great game changer for French car company

• justsomepissedoffdude on Sep 07, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Sweet!! Seems like peugeot’s design team is on a roll!! Hoping both the 3008 and this one come here without them giving cut throat prices.

• Pugger on Sep 07, 2016 at 1:52 pm

luckily i never buy the prereg 2015 one at 127k. Changed my mind about buying 5008 after i read how bad and sucky their after sales service is. Check with some used car dealers, they don’t even want to take peugeot. If they want to be serious about selling pugs here they have to clean up their act here. Also i heard all sorts of reliability issues that their SCs cannot solve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • Disappointed on Sep 07, 2016 at 5:54 pm

i regetted buying a 408 for my wife. have AC problem and they cannot fix it after so many months. their SC in glenmarie really suc**!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • rchoo on Sep 07, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Stunningly beautiful both inside and outside, 7 seaters in SUV configuration is just what i want. Hopefully the price is attractive also.

• my friend bought the 3008 at RM 135K during 2014 but now trade in at RM 50K. Worst RV among the car in malaysia.

This poor RV apply to 308 turbo also. Rm 30K for 3 years car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Ms Aguilera on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Who’s that idiot using car for just mere 2 years? Maybe he’s rich guy buy why must complain?

• SillyMeMe on Sep 07, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Your friend car accident before? I bought my 3008 in 2012 and sold off last year for 60k.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Sep 07, 2016 at 7:19 pm

some people are just full of BS and have nothing to do but to spread lies and incomplete truths.. how can a 2014 car sell second hand for 50K in malaysia??

• Pugilist on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:01 pm

U go call up some used car dealers see if they will take your pug onot? If take also they quote ridiculously low prices cos they have to factor holding car for months before can sell it. If u don’t believe go ask dealers. I almost bought but after doing some checking around i quickly cancel and i thank my lucky stars everyday that i fall into trap!!

• neutral on Sep 07, 2016 at 2:33 pm

is it or is it not coming to Malaysia? Peugeot and Citroen Malaysia are lacking in fresh new models. Hell, the DS5 and DS4 facelifts have been selling for over half a year elsewhere but here they are still selling the pre-facelift. Can’t clear stock?

• Most countries esp north american & europe even oz are moving away from boxy mpv’s/minivan and buying in huge no big sporty 7 seater SUV’s….But here in, those boxy mpv’s /minivan are still hugely popular, just look at the number of alphard…hellfire..elgrand…guess msian still like these box on wheels.., while most westerner wont be caught dead in one

• JChong on Sep 07, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Pug has always been able to design beautiful cars just like pretty french lady. Just that it lack the reliability and the technical expertise to nurse this sickly lion back into health. What is the point when your beau is most often in and out of hospital and the doctor can’t even cure it for good. Alas, I am always want a pug but reading horror feedback from pug owners had made me stay away just like a plague.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • passion on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:43 pm

2012 polo sedan cbu is valued at 30k only. new price rm99k.

• passion on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:44 pm

STAY AWAY FROM THE FRENCH AT ALL COST!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 07, 2016 at 3:45 pm

really like the 40/20/40 seats

• Beng Ong Mung on Sep 07, 2016 at 4:32 pm

All manufacturers said goodbye to MPV but Toyota still retain and producing out more ugly MPV..MPV NO RV leh same L0rr

• Malaysians can buy this beauty for only RM358,888. Thanks to that Proton creator who started all these mess!!!

• Dun worry. Wait 1 year later, then can get at 58,888 cuz Sammy says it no RV. 600% price reduction!

• nasha on Sep 07, 2016 at 5:50 pm

If u buy this here in mesia, make sure u triple check the chasis number with the 1 stated in geran coz got soo many kes where people kenot resell their pug. Go google pug owner problem.

• Disappointed on Sep 07, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Looks quite good. But I will never buy a peugeot in malaysia. They dont even know how to fix the aircon in my wife’s 408. Its been months and many visits to their service centre in Glenmarie and the problem is still not fixed. Hello … it is just the aircon and you guys dont even know how to fix it!!!

• AkooIm on Sep 07, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Peugeot is like a very sexy & seductive french woman… u fall in love on the first sight, think she is the best woman & partner in the world…
    But the thing is, after u get married only u realized she actually have Aids…
    Now u suffer a very painfully slow death…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Onanodus on Sep 07, 2016 at 9:03 pm

I believe the 1.6 engine is the THP engine and not PureTech as the biggest PureTech engine is 1.2 litres.

• Peugeot fan on Sep 07, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Peugeot is good in performance & handling. Those never own one would never understand. The car is problematic occasionally, & expensive in maintenance, but with turbo power performance it deliver, it is acceptable to me.
    However, I’m bored with its 1.6 turbo. Please upgrade it to at least 300 Nm torque, so that it is justifiable for us to upgrade our current car

• old horse on Sep 07, 2016 at 10:27 pm

manufacturers are focusing SUV…wait we got p1 focus MPV still! lol

• CarEnthusiast on Sep 07, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Malaysians, why can’t we start to actually think.. why can’t we at least wait for the car to come, with a confirmed price, with a confirmed spec list before we do all these unnecessary acts such as saying how bad the resale price is or how bad the service from the SCs are ?

Peugeots have long been known for their engines, winning engine of the year all along. The shi**y 308 THP that you all are complaining about? It was the European Car of The Year 2 years ago, so are you saying that the car company bribed all of Europe for that title? NO, it earned it because it IS reliable and attractive and its safety features are top notch. For example, the RM140k Peugeot 308 THP, let’s just name some things, firstly, yes it lacks boot space and the seats at the back would give people with long legs a less than ideal experience but does your RM140k Honda Accord come with pre crash features, or even auto braking functions? or perhaps your amazing Toyota Camry, heck I’ve see those in accidents before and it’s why I’ll never get one, Pugs are unreliable? I own a 2015 308 THP and the only problem it has given me is a flat battery, is that not normal for a 1 year 6 months old car? resale price is at around 85k and a 120k Honda Accord of the same manufacture year would cost around 80k, sure the Pug dropped more in value but if I’m getting a car that I will use daily I’d go for safety and stability, rather than value for money, at the end of the day, which is more important? The lives of your wife and daughter or RM25,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • rchoo on Sep 08, 2016 at 9:45 am

CarEnthusiast

Haha, my experience with Peugeot is even better than yours. In used already 2 years 9 months at 64K with ZERO problem except some recall initiated by NASIM themselves. I am very very satisfied. I like its comfort, features, safety, responsiveness and stability in high speed cornering. Yeah I am getting a bit bored of its 165THP (already not enough for me, if PSA don’t increase power, I will probably go for other German/Swe brand in next purchase). Service cost is not really high for me except for major services at 60,000Km. My 508 Premium battery lasted for 2 1/2 years at around 55K and cost of new unit only RM320 (Bosch DIN66), what RM600+ you guys talked about??? I never thought of reselling when I bought this car, so RV doesn’t even bother me. I drove Jap cars and I am disappointed with them except brands like Lexus but then Lexus is not cheap either, haha. So I prefer to stick to Conti VALUE FOR MONEY CAR.

I can’t speak for others complainants, i wonder why, could it be competitive sales men? drive like a asshole? or just pure luck that they got the bad unit?

• Pugilist on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Why should anyone be so unlucky as to get a bad unit as you have mentioned. Manufacturing processes and assembly has reached very high precision these days and tolerance for flaws and faults have been reduced down to 0.001 percent. If your cars are consistently showing up faults and production problems, then there are inherent design flaws in your cars. Please stop speaking like a Proton salesman who always telling their customers that it all depend on their luck if they get a good or problem car. 20 years ago they tell you that rubbish, today u walk in a proton showroom, their salesman still tells u the same shit! Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • rchoo on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Yours reasoning is based assumptions, everything is on theory but in real life not everything come out of production the same.

If it’s design flaw, then every car should have the problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Bolehpatriot on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:17 pm

This is the kind of mindset that makes our country great! We have excuses for everything! If the Japanese thought the same way, they would still be a defeated race feeling sorry for themselves!

• intermilan on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:00 am

The RM600++ battery must be the price of ‘original’ battery (usually Varta battery made in Germany) at authorised SC.

If change it outside, like what you and most people normally do, surely the price is RM300++ only.

• I agree with u. My self also own 2016 308thp too. Very good performance. For those complaint so much about peugeot. I would say want play, than dnt cry. If wan to cry. Dnt play. That all.

• Even after that car crash in one accident and make my love car being total loss. But u gay known. Nothing injured at all to my son (the driver). So is second hand value important o life safe important? N now i m waiting for up coming in new 3008 suv. I would say i love peugeot.

• CBU or CKD, if it is in M’sia?

• Waiting the first owner to regret & sell it on Mudah.my on Jan 20, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Can’t wait to buy 2nd hand one..40k to 50k only..after that change to Toyo or mitsu engine to solve the hanky panky problems