Uber launching service in Kuching, Sarawak tomorrow

kuching-sarawak

Uber will be launching its service in Kuching tomorrow. Sarawak’s state capital is the second city in East Malaysia where Uber has introduced its app-based ride hailing service, after Kota Kinabalu, even if it has met resistance from taxi drivers and the authorities there.

“As a pioneer in using technology to solve real problems with real people in mind, Uber can provide Kuching with another choice for reliable transportation and help solve traffic congestion; by moving more people in fewer cars through ride-sharing,” the San Francisco-based company said on its website.

uber-x-kuching-fare

“Whether you’re a local resident or visiting tourist to the city, it’s a simple as ‘push a button, get a ride’: for after-dinner drinks at Jalan Wayang, shopping at The Spring, or even kolo mee at Jalan Green Hill and laksa at Chong Choon!” it added.

Uber needs to attract what it calls “driver-partners” in Kuching too. “Driving on the Uber platform gives you the flexibility to pursue your personal financial goals – whether it’s saving for a special occasion, a specific treat, or providing for your family – on your own terms,” the tech company said. Driving for Uber and Grab is now legal and on the path towards regulation.

Only the uberX product will be available in Kuching, and payment can be via credit card or cash. The fare structure is attached above.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Teks1M on Sep 13, 2016 at 11:42 am

we sapott Uber in Kuching

• Ben Yap on Sep 13, 2016 at 2:27 pm

fares too low for driver to cari makan.

• Tak sukak, jadilah taximen!

• P support lah taxi good luck. servis tak guna, attitude mcm gangster, kreta hancur dan banyak. nak org pakai takar lah sikit tapi mustahil. good luck support taxi!

• look future on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:39 pm

yes…let see which the rakyat choose…. sooner or later it will be legal bcoz people know what the best for them…