Mercedes AMG Petronas secured its third straight constructors’ championship during Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix, and to celebrate the team’s dominating success in the 2016 season, Petronas employees gathered for a photograph session at KLCC this morning.

Present at the event was executive vice-president and chief executive officer (downstream business) Md Arif Mahmood. “We’re are proud of this success because Petronas’ involvement is not merely as a sponsor but also a technical partner. All lubricants found in the (Mercedes-AMG) Formula 1 race cars are Petronas products,” he said.

Mercedes AMG Petronas is now the fifth team to secure three back-to-back constructors’ championships after Williams, Ferrari, McLaren and Red Bull. The team will need to clinch the 2017 title to equal McLaren (1988-1991) and Red Bull’s (2010-2013) tally of four successive titles. Only Ferrari holds the record for the most consecutive constructors’ titles (1999-2004).


Of course, the 2016 F1 season isn’t over, with four races still left to go – United States Grand Prix (October 23), Mexican Grand Prix (October 30), Brazilian Grand Prix (November 13) and Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (November 27).

All eyes will be on Mercedes AMG drivers – Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton – to see who will win the drivers’ championship in what has been a season filled with intense rivalry between the two. Currently, Rosberg leads the championship with 313 points, followed by Hamilton with 280 points (after the Japanese Grand Prix).

Below the Mercedes pair is Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo (212 points), followed by Kimi Raikkonen (170 points), 19-year old Max Verstappen (165 points) and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel (165 points).