Mercedes AMG Petronas wins 2016 F1 Constructors’ World Championship; record third consecutive title

petronas-championship-en-2

Mercedes AMG Petronas secured its third straight constructors’ championship during Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix, and to celebrate the team’s dominating success in the 2016 season, Petronas employees gathered for a photograph session at KLCC this morning.

Present at the event was executive vice-president and chief executive officer (downstream business) Md Arif Mahmood. “We’re are proud of this success because Petronas’ involvement is not merely as a sponsor but also a technical partner. All lubricants found in the (Mercedes-AMG) Formula 1 race cars are Petronas products,” he said.

Mercedes AMG Petronas is now the fifth team to secure three back-to-back constructors’ championships after Williams, Ferrari, McLaren and Red Bull. The team will need to clinch the 2017 title to equal McLaren (1988-1991) and Red Bull’s (2010-2013) tally of four successive titles. Only Ferrari holds the record for the most consecutive constructors’ titles (1999-2004).

petronas-championship-en-7

Of course, the 2016 F1 season isn’t over, with four races still left to go – United States Grand Prix (October 23), Mexican Grand Prix (October 30), Brazilian Grand Prix (November 13) and Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (November 27).

All eyes will be on Mercedes AMG drivers – Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton – to see who will win the drivers’ championship in what has been a season filled with intense rivalry between the two. Currently, Rosberg leads the championship with 313 points, followed by Hamilton with 280 points (after the Japanese Grand Prix).

Below the Mercedes pair is Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo (212 points), followed by Kimi Raikkonen (170 points), 19-year old Max Verstappen (165 points) and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel (165 points).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Congrats Petronas. But pity, they could have done better and be No 1 had they had more money for training.

You see, past 30 years, When Tun Mahathir was PM, he nicely took billions from Petronas coffers and gave it to Proton to keep it alive. He took so much of money, to the tune of tens of billions just to keep Proton alive. All unaccounted and unaudited. Magic from A into B without records.

Now poor Petronas, due to oil prices being low, have very limited funds. they themselves cannot invest so much in training.

I am glad now Proton is no more a burden to Petronas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
    • lilytan on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Taking credit for someone else’s success is a bit pathetic really. U dont see other sponsors like total or shell claiming the success during their teams reign. They might argue that they should because they are their ‘technical partner’. Ironically, they did not claim the ‘failures’ during their Sauber era. Honestly I saw more ROI during their Sauber era compared to now. EO1 engines, local boys in the Sauber team, etc. Petronas moans about their current financial standing, blaming the G for milking them dry. Yet they splurge on this F1 wastage. Marketing it maybe but it is excessive in reality. Majority of Petronas revenue is generated domestically. U dont see Petronas fuel stations overseas. Their refinery in S Africa is doomed. Their lub business is insignificant. Their exploration projects are in chaos. So better quit F1 on the high, save money and pay their Chad’s fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 57
      • Hammertime on Oct 10, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Lilytan, I am making a lot of assumptions here based on your writings. It looks like you are not clued in on the complexity of downstream business. Also you have no idea the wide ranging downstream business that Petronas is currently involved. You also don’t understand the concept of leveraging or multiplication of branding in F1. Just to give you an idea, please check about 15 years back when Petronas got started in F1, how many O&G companies were in? Now let me share some information about Petronas downstream business.

First of all downstream is not only about forecourts. It includes blending plants, petrochemical plants a good example is our RAPID in Johor. Secondly, The oil drop brand is also represented by Engen in African continent upto sub-Saharan region. It’s also in North African through Petronas Sudan. We have also country marketing offices i.e. Pett Thailand, Pett Philippines etc. Thirdly, PLI lube business is in almost 50 countries world-wide including blending plant and distributors. Finally, Petronas lube and fuel (or commonly referred to as Fluid Solutions) powers 5 other F1 teams currently.

I do hope these will somewhat enlighten you on the downstream business.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
        • Damn bro! U think bashers with their limited grey matter can brain ur explanation?!

BTW, u left out that all AMG road cars now use Pet lubes & engine oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Lee Kum Kee on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Im officially your fan now. Nice reply. Clapx10.

• pxp154 on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:34 pm

too much bashers like lilytan kat Paultan… too much hatred! wahahah.
          take credit laaa if team did well 3x in a row. Pet part of the team kan??? if not doing well, keep quiet a bit la… ride on the bandwagon…

from the looks of it, the lubricants sales are doing well. saw a recent article Pet looking in europe as sales were good on lub.

downstream market it is :)

• Dedak in the house on Oct 11, 2016 at 3:52 am

Congrats on the PFLNG SATU!!! Proud to be msian..

• lilytan on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Rather than explaining what your downstream is all about, perhaps u as pet’s PR boy can enlighten us on what exactly petronas have significantly achieved as the ‘technical partner’ for Mercedes F1 team? Like i said, I saw more technical achievement during the sauber era. Im not denying the positives from your F1 program. But with plunging revenue, austerity measure should have been taken. Since the F1 program have served its purpose n no significant technical achievement from it, pet should call it a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Gojeng on Oct 11, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Particular set of people who claimed to be the smartest, non-corrupt and best people in Malaysia.

Did you know that Petronas owned Engen in South Africa and that sub-brand is the largest petrol provider in many countries in the Continent? Besides having a significant presence in Sudan + South Sudan, they also won LNG contracts in Canada. And no other sponsors claiming the success of their F1 teams? Err..have u ever been to Shell and see their Ferrari themed contest and what-not?

Come on la, when people ask u to leave the country if u hated it so much..u bark like dogs. I bet your ancestors must be rolling in their graves right now.

• Leonardo on Oct 10, 2016 at 5:07 pm

@Encik Kunta or is it Encik Auta? This is about Petronas success as a main sponsor in team Merc AMG Petronas. Congratulations to PETRONAS.
    Why the small mind to drag Proton into this? Where is your proof? If not you are just talking through your a** and just leaving ‘hot air’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • U can oso call him encik Albert cuz thats his real name

• Kentut Berapi (Fiery Fart) on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:51 pm

john if you have nothing to say please shut your pie hole.

• wan jamak on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:09 pm

poor lilytan couldnt understand the term between “sponsor” and “manufacturer”.

“sponsor” is like Qu puteh, sponsoring kelantan team. give money. that’s it.
    “manufacturer” is contributing their technology, for petronas case, they are contributing their fluid technology into the process.

try swallowing the Qu puteh example, it wouldnt be hard to understand if you got brain, would you?

• lilytan on Oct 11, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Wow these pet minions surely cant take some positive criticism. Sniffing too much cheap sour crude perhaps. Occupational hazard. Apparently ur fluid tech is so good that lewis blown his engine here in Msia. A huge embarrassment. What a shame.

• J.Milbrand on Oct 11, 2016 at 8:14 pm

O, come on Lily, can’t you just be happy for once. You sound like a single old granny moping about everything in life. I don’t think they’re taking credit at all. They’re just being happy for the team they’re part of as a fan and technical partner. No wrong in that. Now sod off!!!