Malaysia Budget 2017 live updates (auto/transport)

malaysia-budget-2017

Malaysian Budget 2017 (Bajet 2017) will be announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at 4pm today. We will be posting live updates on any automotive- and transport-related announcements from his speech here. Will there be special incentives for first-time car buyers or electric vehicles?

Auto/transport updates:

• The limit for motorcycle loans for civil servants has been increased from RM5,000 to RM10,000.
  • A total of 97,000 street lamps will be erected, including 3,000 LED street lamps at junctions. This will involve 7,500 kampungs nationwide, including in Sabah and Sarawak.
  • An allocation of RM1.2b for the building and upgrading 616 km of kampung roads and bridges to improve connectivity with towns.
  • To maintain state roads, a total of RM4.6 billion will be allocated to all states under the Malaysian Road Records Information System (MARRIS).
  • A RM5,000 grant for taxi drivers to purchase new vehicles, plus the offering of individual taxi permits. An allocation of RM60 million has been set aside for this. This will benefit 12,000 cabbies who have ended lease contracts with taxi companies.
  • The government is encouraging the B40 group to increase income by joining ride-sharing app companies (Uber, Grab). For those who do not own a vehicle, downpayment can be made using BR1M and a RM4,000 rebate will be provided for the purchase of a Proton Iriz.
  • An allocation of RM29 million for the upgrading of drainage and two overhead ramps for the Federal Highway motorcycle lane.
  • To stimulate private investment, infrastructure projects such as Jalan Lok Kawi-Pengalat-Papar in Sabah, and Jalan Kg Keruak-Gua Musang-Kuala Berang to be carried out. Also, Batang Lupar bridge in Sri Aman.
  • To ramp up the construction of the Pan Borneo Highway between Sabah and Sarawak.
  • A RM55 billion East Coast Rail Line will be built – 600 km-long from Klang Valley to the East Coast. Starts from Port Klang and will pass by Gombak, Bentong, Mentakab, Kuantan, Kemaman, Kerteh, Kuala Terengganu and Kota Bahru. Terminates in Tumpat.
  • A RM100 million allocation for the repair of the Gua Musang-Tumpat train line.
  • Nineteen new train sets for the ETS train service, in stages till 2019.
  • An allocation of RM114 million for the building of rural roads in Sarawak.
  • 6.30 pm – The Budget 2017 presentation by PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has concluded. The above are the transport-related points, but there was nothing about the reported “first time car buyer scheme” or incentives for electric vehicles.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:09 pm

SEMUA TOL DIMUSNAHKAN…TAPI ROAD TAX NAIK 3000%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • What’s there left for M’sia Auto industry?
        Irreparable Damage was done 30 Years ago.

• Albert on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Adalah dicadang abolish all red cabs.Gomen open huge yard at Tanjong Malim to absorb all red cabs…and sell to rakyat at half price with new coat of paint minus red color.All taxi taikor companies bungkus.
        All cab drivers migrate to uber and grabcar.
        Is this a myth or distant dream ?

• Rambut palsu on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Ribu ribu tahniah

• Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:11 pm

What people want in the Budget is very simple. People want Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%. That is all. No need complex electric car incentives, no need special tax for first time buyers and all the goreng.

People in Malaysia are suffering with high cost of living. Everywhere we are feeling the pinch. Our biggest pinch is the house and car payments.

It is time for Najib to honour his promise. Najib said he will reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN in. Najib got voted in. Now, it is time he honour his promise.

30% discount to Ministers is nothing because they are all super millionaires and billionaires. But 30% discount on a Myvi costing RM50k is RM15k less. And to the majority of Malaysians who are suffering, RM15k is a lot of money.

So, please don’t goreng in this Budget. We have the highest car prices in the world, it is time to reduce car prices. Not just for first time buyers, but to all 35 million Malaysians.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
        • PM say: alredi tunaikan janji with 31% price reduction. Take for example Forrester. So now on to new target. NEXT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • policeman on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Aren’t you tired of your own BS?
          You want MyVi to be sold at RM35K?
          Highest car prices in the world?
          High cost of living?

What an ingrate. How are you beneficial to this country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • Fatimah on Oct 21, 2016 at 10:07 pm

He cannot do that overnight because that Proton creator messed up the entire Malaysia automotive market when Proton was created. The reason for the extreme high car prices is not because of the government. The reason is Proton. Proton messed it up. Who created Proton ? Go figure! Because of Proton and Proton creator and his pet Proton, Malaysia car market cannot be liberalised like 95% of the countries worldwide. Other countries can enjoy high quality cars at cheap prices but not in Malaysia and why is that? Because of protectionism of Proton. Because the gomen need to protect Proton and ensure that Malaysians only buy Proton cars so Proton can be sustainable and it’s business won’t go bankrupt. Proton is the reason why other cars are way way more expensive than other similar countries like Malaysia. Proton is the reason why you pay a Vios or City through your nose!

• pengundi on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Yay! 1 Free tax Car per lifetime. Nak kereta apa yer^^

• thepolygonal on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Probably basikal pun kena road tax

• Can Dewan Bahasa and Pustaka explain wtf is a Bajet? Why, suddenly the term Belanjawan is not cool anymore? Or was “Belanjawan” very accurate in describing the government ministers and high ranking officers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Mikey on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Bajet is for people like U & me to make sure we do not overspent. The Bajet U are referring is for Jibby/Gov to spend like there is no tomorrow bcos our GST will cover for his Gov lavish lifestyle.

• Uberian on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Ada general election tahun depan ke tak bergantunglah bajet kali ini handout macam mana. Kalau handout giler banyak confirm la election sudah mau datang…

• sammyhasfullvalue on Oct 21, 2016 at 3:41 pm

I dont expect much good news from our govn

• I hope they account for what Mr Leonardo Dicaprio wants to return

• takNakP1 on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:16 pm

it is a blessing if there is no disappointment… and more jokes…

• They shud increase price for ownership & usage of cars and then to offset users of public transports. We need more public transports and we really need to put more buses on the roads instead of cars/motors.

One way to do it in this bajet is to upgrade the role of bus drivers, and to commensurate it with pay & benefits on par with SG drivers. Money needs to be allocated to send them for advanced defensive driving course, only accept them when they passed, gip them gud uniforms and hold their upkeep to Jepun drivers standards, yearly medical checkup and programs to keep them fit, and dun pressure them to work more than 8 hours. When the money is gud, more pipu will be attracted and we can then weed out recalcitrant bad hats, without worrying about shortage of drivers.

TLDR: make cars/motors more expensive, make public transport cheaper & more efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 21, 2016 at 9:21 pm

I agree with you but reality is, public transport in Kampung and small towns is going to be ridiculously expensive to maintain. Eg; young miss needs to take bus to her school 10km from her house in her kampung, problem is the number of passenger including young miss at 6am in the morning is young miss herself. Multiply that with the 65% of Malaysians living in those kampungs, can you imagine how much tax money we will have to pay our gov to subsidize those busses to pick up young miss and sirs to school at 6am in the morning?

cincai calculate; 32.1m pipu x 65% = 20.865m pipu, say the gomen need RM5 a day per pax for subsidizing those buses with nobody or 1 passengers in kampung places, that’ll be RM104.325m a day RM38b a year to subsidize their daily transportation.

Then we hope the gomen tax the rich, but the Gov wont bother taxing the rich! It’s their buddies, why in the world would they make their buddies life miserable by taxing them more? Instead the pipu that needs to subsidize those kampung families transportation is u and me, the average middle income joe… Question now then is, are you willing to pay more taxes to help the poor young miss in the kampung to get educated? or instead have the young miss illegally ride a bike that cost her family less than RM1500 and RM5 a week… pretty much what the rural kids are doing now.

• The problem is kampung pipu r too scattered and low density for public transport to be really effective. What we need is to initiate Kampung Baru (New Village) 2.0 targeting the rural population. They shud be fairly compensated of course, but once they centralised to clusters of living areas, then can amenities, facilities, transportation, and everything else, will reach maximum efficiency. The young miss wun have to ride bike w/o lesen but instead take a bus from the new village bus hub. No private transportation required.

Now isnt that a better idea?

• TESLA confirmed plans to build a car plant in Malaysia.

• amri iskandar on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:19 pm

wayang je

• RM5,000 grant for taxi drivers to purchase new vehicles, plus the offering of individual taxi permits. Allocation of RM60 million. This will benefit 12,000 cabbies who have ended lease contracts with taxi companies.
      – Government encourages the B40 group to increase income by joining ride sharing app companies (Uber, Grab)…kehkehkeh… where the Dr.evil now?

• policeman on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Anybody has to keep refreshing the page every 20 minutes cos video stalls?

• policeman on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:34 pm

I think it’s coded that way so you refresh and page hits increase and so does ad revenue.

• RubbishTok on Oct 22, 2016 at 7:55 pm

so many allocation…guess what?..

if plan to put 100 street lamps…i am sure, the CHEAPEST will be bought, and charged the highest….AND there will probably be 20% of the allocation used.

Need I say more….
      As long as there is nobody auditing and suing wrongs/misconduct….pointless.
      Auditing alone is also …pointless…