Budget 2021 – all auto and transport-related points

The Malaysian Budget 2021 (Belanjawan 2021) will be tabled by finance minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz in parliament at 4.00 pm today. As usual, we will be monitoring the speech for any automotive- and transport-related matters – will there be any further aid on these fronts going into next year? We will be posting live updates on any announcements made on these here, so be sure to tune in later.

UPDATE:There were no directly-related auto-related matters, but all relevant transport topics have been included in the story.

No automatic loan moratorium extension

• With banks reporting that 85% of lenders are resuming payments after the blanket moratorium expired on September 30, the government is not extending the loan moratorium scheme.

However, banks are allowing Bantuan Sara Hidup (BSH) recipents in the B40 category who have trouble repaying their loans to choose from two options, either by going for a three-month moratorium or by reducing their monthly installment payments by half for six months. Eligible borrowers will only need to contact their banks to choose the options and complete the documentation.

Meanwhile, those in the M40 category can rework their financial packages through a self-declaration process if they experience an income reduction. The facility for both B40 and M40 will be available from December 2020.

Roads

• RM1.3 billion will be spent to improve roads in the country, with the implementation of rural and interstate road projects totalling 920 km, which will benefit 290,000 people.
    Additionally, RM3.8 billion will be allocated for the implementation of a number of projects. These are:
  • Phase two of the construction of the Klang third bridge in Selangor.
  • Continuing the 325 km-long Central Spine Road (Kuala Krai–Kuala Pilah highway) with the new alignment from Kelantan to Pahang.
  • Upgrading the bridge across Sungai Marang in Terengganu.
  • Upgrading the federal roads linking Gerik, Perak to Kulim, Kedah.
  • To continue building and carrying out upgrading work on the Pulau Indah ringroad phase three in Klang.
  • Continuing the construction of the Serusop to Pituru package of the Sabah portion of the Pan Borneo Highway.
  • Continuing the construction of the Cameron Highlands bypass road.

Public transport

My30 unlimited travel pass

• The My30 unlimited public transport travel pass programme, which was introduced in June, will be continued and will be expanded to Penang and Kuantan. The goverment is allocating RM300 million for this.

RM5 unlimited KTM travel pass for primary/secondary students and the disabled

• An unlimited access monthly travel pass priced at RM5 a month will be introduced for students in Standard One to Form Six as well as for the disabled. They will be able to utilise the pass for travel on the Klang Valley komuter lines as well as the inter-city service between Kuala Lipis and Tumpat in the peninsular and the Beaufort and Tenom line in Sabah.

Buses

• The stage bus service transformation programme is being implemented in Kangar, Seremban, Ipoh and Kuala Terengganu, and will be then expanded in phases to Johor Bahru, Kuching, Kota Kinabalu and Kuantan, with RM150 million allocated for the programme.
  • To ease the burden on bus operators, the government has announced a sales tax exemption on all new locally-assembled, air-conditioned bus purchases in the country for a period of two years, beginning from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022.

Railway

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Pak Cik on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Takde keje, takde income..takdak makan.
    Apelagi mau belanja

• Scam call everyday on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:08 pm

Now economy is bad. Youngster going for quick money, make scam call to many people.

First will tell you “ this is my new number, i lost my phone and wallet” if u ask who you are, he will say” wah, how can u do not know me, now you get rich you forgot me” when you say are you Cipek Lim, he will say, yes I am Cipek.

After that he ask to pinjam duit and transfer to his supplier with all sorts of stories.

• Pity Young Kid on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Today can still hear from news many well educated widow, professional that got cheated.

• Veyron Owner on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:52 pm

Help many of them too, i transfer duit straight to their acct. kesian diorang… henpon hilang. #kitajagakita

• Yeah and worse there are certain politicians trying to bring down the sitting Government. Idiotic opportunistic snakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • AJibkor on Nov 06, 2020 at 8:11 pm

With so many occasions of semilockdowns due to covid one wonder how many people can travel by KTM double tracking?
      Can someone publish the ridership of the double track trains?
      Now ,we cant travel even to seremban from KL,except with Polis permission.
      Covid will need at least2 years to tackle.There may be further semi lockdowns..so tell us YAB.Finance Menteri,are u the only few travelling by KTM?
      The double tracking has so many cost over runs.The rakyat have a feeling that they are not the real beneficiaries.
      We have the NS highway,thats good enough.

• Fordist on Nov 06, 2020 at 10:14 pm

Lockdown only for Klang Valley & Sabah. The rest of Malaysia still function as normal and double tracks in these places are vital.

• KUNTA KUNCHI on Nov 07, 2020 at 11:26 am

Tak Tau Fordist
          Do u know how many billions u as part of taxpayers spent on the double tracking?Now they come out with ECRL.Do u need it?Now people prefer to buy used myvi cos of covid.They rather not take trains,lrts cos of
          the virus.Times have changed.People will avoid public transport at all costs just to avoid the virus.You are still lockdown in your ancient mindset thinking of the double tracking.

• Logical Deduction on Nov 07, 2020 at 9:43 pm

You asked do we need it? No, not directly if we don’t use it ourselves but it is an essential transport backbone. Ask yourself, do you need a 40ft container truck. No right? But without this truck, there is no movement of vital and essential goods and so no trade. The same thinking applies to ECRL.

• dong gor on Nov 06, 2020 at 2:50 pm

my trusted source says yes, the sales tax exemption will carry on next year. extra incentives may come with the extension as well. say yeah!

• azrai on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Fuel price confirm going down tomorrow.

• common sensor on Nov 06, 2020 at 3:20 pm

The current automotive incentive mechanism is already haywire due to inconsistent execution as a result of unclear policy being interpreted in many ways. The industry needs no aid; rather transparency, consistency, and continuity.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 06, 2020 at 5:45 pm

I blame this on NAP2020. Who made NAP2020 last year? Paham-paham lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Nov 06, 2020 at 8:00 pm

You left another point. 0-10% income tax i 10 years for company that move their operation to Malaysia.