Malaysia Budget 2016 live updates (auto/transport)

Bajet 2016 02

Malaysian Budget 2016 (Bajet 2016) will be announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak at 4pm today. We will be posting live updates on any automotive-related announcements from his speech here.

Transport

• Improvement of logistical infrastructure, including the Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Highway (DASH), Sungai Besi-Ulu Klang Elevated Expressway (SUKE), Pulau Indah Expressway and Central Spine Road highway.
  • RM900 million for Jalan Tun Razak Traffic Dispersal Programme, to reduce traffic along the road.
  • To study the construction of a coastal highway between Masjid Tanah to Klebang and from Klebang to Jambatan Syed Abdul Aziz in Melaka.
  • RM42 million to build Mukah Airport in Sarawak, and to renovate airports in Kuantan and Kota Bharu. Studies will also be made to improve the airport in Batu Berendam, Melaka.
  • A more efficient public transport system for those outside major cities.
  • LRT Ampang Line, 18.1 km, to be ready in March 2016. LRT Kelana Jaya Line, 17.4 km, to be ready in the middle of 2016. Both projects are worth RM10 billion.
  • MRT Sungai Buloh Line-Semantan will be ready in December 2016. Phase two, Semantan-Kajang will be ready mid-2017. Total 51 km, worth RM32 billion.
  • MRT2 Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya, total 52 km, to benefit 2 million residents. Costs approximately RM28 billion. Initial work will begin in Q2 2016, completed by 2022.
  • LRT3 Bandar Utama, Damansara-Johan Setia, Klang, total 36 km, to benefit 2 million residents. Costs approximately RM10 billion. Initial work will begin in 2016, completed by 2020.
  • Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail discussions to continue with Singapore.
  • Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) KL-Klang project to go ahead, worth over RM1.5 billion. New BRT Kota Kinabalu, RM1 billion.
  • Upgrade works of rural road network, total 700 km, worth RM1.4 billion. Also, improvements of roads around FELDA settlements, RM200 million.
  • Road network coverage outside major cities have been expanded to 51,000 km, from 46,000 km in 2009.
  • Sarawak Pan Borneo Highway, total 1,090 km, to be completed by 2021, worth approximately RM16.1 billion. Phase one of this project in Sabah to begin in 2016, total 706 km, from Sindumin to Tawau, worth RM12.8 billion.
  • Pan Borneo Highway will be toll free.
  • Rural Air Services in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan to be exempted from GST.
  • Addition of 500 PDRM patrol motorcycles and 500 patrol cars, worth RM35 million.

5.45pm – And that’s it! Looks like there’s nothing concerning the automotive industry announced this time. You can read the PM’s speech in full below.

So folks, what do you think of Budget 2016? Sound off your comments below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Rakyat expectation: gip free car, free toll, free petrol, and free maintenance. RV same as 1st day bought. Hiway far far away from house, but near near so easy to use. Then they will vote 51% in your favour.
    #rakyatiskingjanganpersoal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 67
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Malaysia is a super rich country. Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world. We have everything, oil, gas, tin, iron, gold, palm, kuprum, coconut, nenas and even some very rare materials that are super high in price. You name it, we have it.

There is enough abundance for everyone IF there NO SONGLAP. Singapore has ZERO resources and yet, see where they are. Why? Because Songlap is kept at the minimum.

In Malaysia, one man can songlap RM2.6 billion and get away scott free. Even his own party cannot sack him and condone and approve his Songlapping.

Sadly, this is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

For example, Taib alone songlap US$20 billion (RM85 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

Until all this Songlap stop, car prices will remain high.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 17
      • That’s y u can see Malaysian pay so much for kosong milotin car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • If you can get your basic facts wrong in the first paragraph, what do you think I will read the rest of your wall of bull.
        Just the fact that Malaysia has some abundance but not resource rich like you say. We have a lot in valuable commodities like oil, gas, palm, rubber, timber. Tin & copper has long been mined by your British overlords until dry. Gold & iron is minuscully mined and whats left are dangerous to go further. Coconut, nenas are not even worth mentioning. And rare earth materials , dun think there is in MY (even if got, do you think DAP will allow to mine it? See Lynas). If you had studied Geography, you had just threw everything back to your school teachers, tuition teachers, lecturers, and parents. Congrats on that.
        All these are commodities which are vulnerable to market ups and down (ie Tin & Rubber crash). Right now its on a down. If we had stick to agri & mining based economy pre-Mahathir, we would be in a shittier condition by now.
        I will leave your songlap thing alone, but to say there is no corruption or crony in SG is a lie. All the top positions in Gov, GLCs (singtel, temasek, smrt,sbs,etc) are LKY related. And having to pay obscene amount of cash to them is legalised corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
        • George Abdul on Oct 25, 2015 at 8:43 am

Look at the economic 1st world country singapore and 3rd world country Malaysia… Malaysia were by far richer to Singapore past 40 years and now?? Malaysia economic are behind 30 years compare to SG… Dumno ministers only knew self-praise and blame others !!!

• olio benzina on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Singapore
        Flat instlmnt. S$1500
        Water bill monthly S$50
        Elect.bill monthly S$300
        Exora instlmnt S$1200

Malaysia
        2 storey terrace corner instlmnt RM1500
        Water bill monthly RM20
        Elect bill monthly RM150
        Exora Instlmnt RM800

Singapore no songlap but do their people enjoy lower cost of living? Who do you think have to pay for the highest salaried ministers and civil servants in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 49
        • LOLOL on Oct 23, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Which 2 story terrace corner lot you bought has installment RM1500? In sungai petani ah? Or u took only 50% loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
          • I think he live inside the jungle. That’s it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • Orang kampung pun tahu la susah mau dapat macam tuu on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Hahaha… is it punchline from u..??..Malaysia 2 storey terrace corner instlmnt RM1500.. nonsense laa…!!.that funny..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • JB_KIA on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:11 pm

obviously u know nuts bout Sg.

1. Mostly of the ppl pay their flat installment with CPF. No cash needed.
          2. There’re no such things as water bill and elect bill. Water/electricity/sanitary(toilet)/refuse(rubbish) and other taxes are combined into 1 bill called utility bill.

• JB_KIA on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:00 pm

pardon my ignorance…what’s kuprum???

• Don’t forget bauxite..

• I hope the Government raises the tax on cars and prices of cars. This will be good because the Government needs the money for our own good. They will use the money for our education and healthcare, build better roads etc.

Pls be reasonable pipu. Where else are they going to get money? Langit kah? If we don’t do our part, how are our roads gonna improve?

I pray this Budget, prices of cars go up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 77
      • John oh john. HAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • SAM VHL Loo on Oct 23, 2015 at 7:07 pm

I hope the Government ban all brand new cars that doesn’t have ESC and raises the tax on cars that have poor safety rating. This will be good because the Government needs the money for our own good (through their 30 years old ‘baby’ Proton, at least they still can comply while Perodua and Toyotaik which make most of the vehicle sales in Malaysia will have very hard time to comply). They will use the money for our education and healthcare, build better roads etc.

Pls be reasonable pipu. Buy a safer car and boycott stupid unsafe jamban taik cars from a distributor which put profit above everything else. Where else are they going to get money? Langit kah? If we don’t do our part, how are our roads gonna improve?

I pray this Budget, all brand new cars are compulsory to be equipped with ESC starting from Jan 2016 (even if carmakers need to raise their price a bit to offset cost of ESC, it’s still better than paying very expensive hospital bills once get into an avoidable accident if equipped with ESC).

• HaIrI on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:05 pm

#ManaRM2.6B haha topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Hoping that sam loo gets tax rebates for his toyotak

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Tax rebate or not. People will buy, same like Apple iPhone. Because everyone know they won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • LOLOL on Oct 23, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Ahahahaha….. sales down already still head strong ah….. smoke more of that weed my fren.. it will easy the butthurt of reality…. and keep giving discounts and free crappy bodykits…keep it up!

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Sampai hari ini pun anda dikelentong dan diperdaya. Harga kereta dunia sangat murah lah brader. Masuk Malaysia, jadi 3x ganda harga kereta dunia.

This year, LHDN/KDRM will collect the record highest ever tax revenue in the history of Malaysia since 60 years of independence.

Just on GST alone, Government has collect RM50 billion in tax. Not even included income tax, corporate tax, Petronas Private UMNO Free Money Bank, EPF, Khazanah, Ministry of Finance Inc investments etc.

In total, because of GST government is projected to collect record and yet, they hantam Malaysians with super high car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:26 pm

sorry, correction, Just on GST alone, Government has collected RM50 billion in tax in JUST 3 months!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Sampai mati pun takkan habis bayar income tax, GST, toll, road tax, cukai pintu, quit rent, cukai tanah dan segala mak nenek cukai..:P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • “The only sure in life is death and taxes” Wisdom from murica.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • dodgeviper88 on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:23 pm

at the very least i hope they can lower the tax rates to contra off the depreciation of the ringgit and abolishment of the AP system. But of course that’s just wishful thinking from me.

• Where is Najib's Promise??? on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:24 pm

In the Budget, the question Ministers must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas.

For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k despite less safety features and CKD Made in Malaysia.

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would 100% become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020? If not, why are cars so expensive for us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
  • What we want? Simple. Stop wasting money; make logical and rational policies so our country can perform, and please, make sense, when being questioned upon.

Most of us are not really stupid not to understand when you have to take unpopular step to rectify situations as long as it is rational, have properly detailed plans and accountability. Now it is all black-box and lip service, and worse, no results.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Gargantia on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Thanks to paultan.org for this channel :)

• I have a dream on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:04 pm

1. Stop Open AP.

2. Stop Excise duties on imports.

3. Patch-up the roads for real.

4. Give us a 10-yr framework.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Korupsi on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:09 pm

End corruption. Put better use for all those monies that come from taxes (high car taxes & GST). With the combined high income from taxes and natural resources and petroleum royalty, Malaysia is in fact a very rich country. End corruption and stupid wastage of money in government department as reported by Auditor General every year. If all those taxes are put in good use instead of being songlap, I do not mind paying taxes for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • loaded on Oct 23, 2015 at 5:55 pm

So many Billions thrown around in the speech. 1MDB 2.6 Billion sounds peanuts now

• pendatang on Oct 23, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Budget more for cronies. Prospering the rakyat…more like fill up the cronies coffers. As usual….the budget can be summarised as ooIoo middle income folks.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 24, 2015 at 2:43 am

My only wish is for Najib to step down. Period. For all these years, all he did was only talk a lot of shit and yet the price of goods continue to skyrocket.

• Jackaleyess on Oct 24, 2015 at 11:45 am

Well, nothing will happen to our automotive tax rate and price down is just a joke. Stop complaining and work harder folks. I have realized it long time ago that car price reduction is just a dream, a bait for pancing undi. Work hard my fellow Malaysian, gov dont owe us anything therefore we gotta work ourselves out of the poverty level. We are not like some ppl can have hand outs freely. I used to think gov owes the citizen everything now i think since they dont owe us, we dont owe them. When election comes, we will do our part as citizen and vite whats best for the nation. If current party is still the best, good for them. If not, good luck then.

• Mason_ on Oct 24, 2015 at 3:49 pm

so many millions mention,but non of it is good for nation ..only for crony….crappy pm……..

• JB transport upgrade? on Oct 24, 2015 at 7:26 pm

I did not see any JB transport system upgrade mentioned in the budget or i miss out? Only thing that JB have little involvement which is the KL-SG highspeed rail but that too still in discussion phase…. JB city has expand rapidly this few years..we need transport upgrade urgently