Perodua-Axia-Polis

At the on-going General Police and Special Equipment Exhibition & Conference Asia 2015 (GPEC) event taking place at the Putra World Trade Centre, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) is showcasing its latest range of patrol cars.

Thanks to reader Razi Mohd, we have exclusive photos of the new vehicle range. Among the familiar Proton Inspira, Mitsubishi Evo Helang, Lancer, Toyota Fortuner and the Hilux, there are some new faces here you should get to know.

First up, we have the Proton Suprima S and Iriz patrol cars that only just broke cover on social media yesterday. More interestingly, there are several newcomers that we haven’t seen before – the Proton Exora MPV and a humble Perodua Axia (in ABS-less Standard G guise, it has to be said).

Just like the Axia, it has been reported that the smaller Proton Iriz will also be used by smaller police stations – replacing the old Perodua Kancil vehicles – while cars like the Suprima S, Inspira and Exora will be commissioned for duty by larger stations.

It also looks like PDRM has acquired a Volkswagen Jetta model for use — calling on the 1.4 litre TSI engine’s 158 hp/240 Nm to help catch the baddies. Next to the Mitsubishi Evolution X, the Jetta is now the most powerful vehicle in PDRM’s fleet, not counting the the Toyota Fortuner SUV and Toyota Hilux pick-up truck.

The new patrol vehicles you see here are all part of the 1,200 new units that have been approved to rejuvenate the existing fleet of ageing vehicles – particularly those aged eight years and above. You can also spot PDRM’s latest patrol car liveries.

GPEC 2015 is unfortunately a closed-door event, which means members of the general public will be denied entry. Fortunately, we do have these pictures for you to check out, so do enjoy.