No more Mitsubishi Evolution sedan models for now

mitsubishi lancer evo x final edition 16

If there was any glimmer of hope that Mitsubishi’s long-standing series of Evolution high performance sedans would make a comeback, they have now been quashed after the Japanese carmaker’s chairman and CEO, Osamu Masuko stated that there are no solid plans for such a model in the near future.

Speaking to Autocar UK, Masuko said the company is currently focused on developing its new hybrid SUV line-up, including an all-new ASX. The upcoming model was previewed by the Mitsubishi Concept XR-PHEV II that was shown in Geneva not too long ago. A new eX Concept will appear in Tokyo soon too.

That certainly is bad news for the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution (aka Lancer Evo, Lan Evo, or just Evo) nameplate that has been synonymous with the carmaker since the first iteration was introduced way back in 1992. The model finally bid farewell with a limited-number model known as the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Final Edition for both the Japanese and United States markets.

However, Masuko has not dismissed that the Evo badge will be back, although it may appear on a high performance plug-in hybrid SUV instead. “If we can use EV or PHEV technologies for high-performance cars, we could certainly continue,” said Masuko.

Mitsubishi did build a Pikes Peak racer dubbed the MiEV Evolution II in 2013 so they certainly do know a thing or two about using electrification for performance gains. Word is that the next-generation Mitsubishi ASX will gain an Evo version.

What do you think of this – is it the right way forward for Mitsubishi, or a backward step for the brand?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

When Mitsubishi is mentioned I think of the Evo and Pajero and now they are making hybrid SUVs. Wow

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

New Evo will return before 2020, because everyone know they won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• Fareez on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:02 am

Call me a fanboy or whatever, the name Evolution should only be stick to Lancer only. And do not EV it!

• In US market. ..Evo were crushed by Mustang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Smart guys buy original on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Yes a very sad news indeed.

• death of Ralliart…:(

• Any way to get a high res version of the main picture with all the EVO series?

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

I wonder how Subaru will keep the WRX STI alive?

• Neonceejay on Oct 16, 2015 at 7:24 pm

That’s my Concern either.
      But it seems like subaru is moving upmarket trying to fight audi.
      Just see wrx s4.
      While next generation of wrx sti could be the key, Still manual or DCT? Still handbrake or EPB? Still EJs or DIT?

I do hope that every single bit of wrx sti remains, but ditch that fuel guzzler EJ lah…
      1litre go 5km is Seriously sorhai lah.

Ok I’m one of the stupid fanboy who will ask bout FC when i want to buy Wrx sti, hahahah

• RIP

• lancer gagah on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:09 pm

im Evo owner. Last time everybody looked at my car. now even the VW jetta can tailgate my car.. haha RIP JDM