VIDEO: Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X Final Edition build

Not long to go before time is finally called on the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution – the last builds of the Evo X Final Edition are going along, and the automaker has come up with a celebratory video highlighting production of the final iteration of the type.

Only 1,000 units of the special edition version of the high-performance 4WD sedan will be built, and reportedly all have been accounted for. Deliveries are ongoing, with final shipment to customers expected to be completed by March 2016.

This special specification car is based on a Japanese-spec Evolution X GSR variant, and features a slight power hike to its 2.0 litre 4B11 MIVEC turbo unit, the edition boasting 313 PS at 6,500 rpm and 429 Nm at 3,500 rpm for output numbers.

Equipment includes new Bilstein absorbers and Eibach springs and BBS 18-inch alloys, as well as the expected commemorative markings in the form of badging and serial number plaque. A fine farewell for the legendary Lancer Evo nameplate then, but it’s not the end of the Evo moniker – it has been reported that the much-heralded lineage will be continued by a high-performance hybrid SUV model. Whatever transpires, it won’t be quite the same.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Areyousure on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Evo’s glory has overshadowed by GTR reign

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:48 pm

They are both legends in their own right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Better buy Inspira and change the badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • Areyousure on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Like it or not. Both are 4WD.
          Both are from Japan.
          Both used to be King.

GTR makes aggression but Evo makes regression over the years.

• IC400iceman on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:31 am

the GTR is a circuit and highway hero… but with that 1700kg weight, it will lose out on twisty country B roads and tighter touge routes.. that’s where the rally heritage of the Evo line shines

• 4wheeler on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Bro,
          Even the Inspira will be been discontinued.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:52 am

What is Evo or GTR when you’ve got TRD…

• hailthepurist on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:25 am

its imprezas WRX’s, not quad assholes GT-R..

• BlurSotong on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Good bye evolution Lancer.
    Retire in Honors.
    Not Finish, Legacy continue in another form

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Goodbye Lancer Evo on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Proper send off. Kinda sad after watching that video. The Evo will always have a special place in my heart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Evo Lover on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Lan Evo is Lan Evo, and Inspira is Inspira.

To Inspira modders, stop modding your car into something you’re not and driving like a nut in streets or highways. Kinda sad to look at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Well, at least in the Inspira I get to drive a stick. A DRIVER’s STICK! That’s something Mit Lancer Msia do NOT have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Well, at least in the Inspira I get to drive a stick. A DRIVER’s STICK! That’s something Mit Lancer Msia do NOT have. Get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Brand Trend on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:05 pm

the only car that I could beat the boss in NFS Carbon..

• David on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Well, at least in the Inspira I get to drive a stick. A DRIVER’s STICK! That’s something Mit Lancer Msia do NOT have. Get it?

• Kudos Stick Shift! on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:48 pm

I salute u for driving a stick. If Mitsu were to offer a stick in their based lancer GT sold in M’sia, which one you do perfer? Inspira or Lancer? Frm Stick Lover

• Good Bye Evo on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:54 pm

1992-2015. Thanks Mitsu, for every Evo that had touched the heart and soul if very petrol head around the world. From Tommi Makinen’s crazy rally drift to Jakie Chan movie, Evo is not only an ultimate driving machine, it’s a cultural symbol that wets every teenage boy’s petrol dream for over 2 decades (unless you’re a Subaru fan) LOL. TQ Evo, domoarigato! Sayonara! (in tears…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • You forgot the EVOs were also in the 1st couple F&F movies

• Yes I am a Impreza fan. Rivalry between Evo & impreza is kinda Scumi vs Mika in late 90’s. Ferrari vs McLaren. Pinnacle of road car mechanical awesomeness. Interesting and full of excitement.
      Indeed this video really touched my heart.

Perhaps I need to thank WRC & Polyphonic who makes this Evo very desirable & “driveable”.

So long Evolution!

• rizal on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:09 pm

A goodbye not in style.. At least make a new final awesome look..
    This inspira boring look… Just sad..

• cikgu cumi on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Bye bye LAncer Evo. Hope the next version will be more exciting and better!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:42 pm

and all the engineers are gonna jump ship to subaru

• It’s good that Malaysia also have a movie dedicated on the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution – it’s the box-office Polis Evo.

• Diesel on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Wonder why they give up the lancer evolution model. I personally love the EVO 6 TME than all of the later versions. The ride & stability is just absolutely amazing. Kind of sad, lancer is my favourite car since I was a kid.

• Emmmm on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:02 am

P1, go make Inspira Final Edition plis… haha