DASH highway gets green light, work to start mid 2016

Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 10.58.41 AMDASH-01

Previously removed from the PJ Local Plan 2 due to a realignment proposal, the Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) has now been given the official go-ahead by the Selangor state government, based on all technical standpoints.

News of the approval came about quietly last week, when it was mentioned that the Works Ministry said the Selangor state government had given the green light for the construction of DASH as well as the Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway (SUKE).

The three-lane, dual carriageway project will run a 20.1 km-long route from the Puncak Perdana U10 Shah Alam intersection to the Penchala interchange at Mutiara Damansara.

According to The Star, construction of the highway is expected to start by mid-2016, with completion in 2019. The Selangor state government was said to have already set aside a budget to accommodate DASH, prior to this. In addition to that, the green light was given by 13 departments, despite protests from groups such as the Say-No-To-Dash (SNTD), which comprises of residents in the area.

Yaakob Sapari, Kota Anggerik assemblyman said, “only about 12% of those who would be affected are protesting, and their properties only make up 200 m of the 20.1 km stretch.”

Highway concessionaire Prolintas, which carried out traffic impact assessments previously, stated that an alternative route such as DASH was needed for residents living in Puncak Alam, Saujana Utama and Cahaya SPK but were working in Kuala Lumpur. “Currently, there is no alternative route,” said one resident, while another noted that the NKVE was not able to handle the number of cars and was especially important for those in Section U9 and U10.

To address the issue of noise and dust pollution, Kuala Selangor councillor and advisor of the Yes-2-Dash (Y2D) group, Mohd Fakaruddin Ismail, said a solution has been drawn up by Prolintas. “Prolintas is willing to include a sound tube in the revised design for DASH. This is an elevated tunnel on the stretches where it is close to residential units.”

According to Ismail, aside from being a sound barrier, the tube is able to prevent dust as well. Jamalulkhair Khairedin, president of Y2D said the group will continue pushing for DASH to ensure that Persiaran Mokhtar Dahari is “expanded to ensure smoother traffic flow.”

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Politicians….whether red or yellow, they are all the same greedy creatures!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Black Dog on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Somebody has to sacrifice for development

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Black Dog on Oct 05, 2015 at 2:48 pm

there is a persiaran mokhtar dahari? what about Chin Aun and Santokh Singh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • yup, …shud hv jln for hassan sani, shukur salleh, redzuan abdullah, james wong….those great player during msia great football time…and spider man the late R Arumuggam

• Mat Yo tak salah! on Oct 06, 2015 at 5:30 am

Oh, and please “Persiaran Mat Yo” LOL!

• If Gov approve, rakyat will demo, bash, complain, Bersih, etc
    If PR approve, rakyat will tepuk tangan, says it good for the rakyat, dihalalkan.

This is Malaysian hypercritism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • Look, whoever approve, the one who making money is prolintas.

and it is owned by PNB.

And why hypercritism? because the one who made up this statement is wear the same shoes.

• Markos Alonso on Oct 05, 2015 at 4:47 pm

More highways, more traffic.
    What they should have done is improving the public transport..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Cik Emy on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Check this out….so who is making false claims now?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/citynews/greater-kl/article/selangor-denies-kota-anggerik-reps-statement-on-dash-approval#sthash.cVfgIJgs.dpuf

http://www.therakyatpost.com/news/2015/10/05/azmin-says-no-clear-decision-made-on-dash-yet/#ixzz3ng88Wqmx

• Heskey on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Say no to dash!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Miyoko on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Say No to Dash in Damansara Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • peter on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:55 am

For a highway that is being approved to provide “an alternative route”, the toll placements are definitely not going to encourage drivers to use “efficient” routes.

Why? My points below

(i) Too many tolls between Puncak Perdana / Alam Suria to KL. Drives need to pay 4 tolls at Denai Alam, RRI, Mutiara and Penchala to get in to the city. Furthermore, the target users are from lower to middle class homes are unlikely to be able to afford this (compared to current route with paying only RM1.10 at Federal + low fuel prices, doesn’t add-up)

(ii) Even if the driver re-route to DASH, they will likely exit through Subang Airport before the RRI toll and still head-back to Federal (extra cost will now be Denai Alam toll less RM1.10 for Federal, may be a reasonable top-up).

With even more developments scheduled for RRI and Ara Damansara, would Subang airport road be able to handle all the additional traffic?

(iii) Exiting at Mutiara (i.e. paying both Denai Alam and RRI tolls) to head to the city via NKVE is a bad idea. This is because both Jalan Duta and Damansara NKVE tolls and exits are very badly congested now.

Meanwhile, the current toll alignment coupled with low fuel prices also does not encourage users commuting between the areas as it is cheaper to just burn fuel in traffic vs paying the toll. For example:-

(i) travel between TTDI, Damansara Perdana and Kota Damansara – will continue to use Persiaran Surian due to no reason to pay Mutiara toll due to the very short distance travelled. Hence Persiaran Surian route will continue to be as congested as it is now or worse

(ii) Kota Damansara and Subang – will continue to use Tropicana or the old Shah Alam route because also short distance travelled. Hence, residential routes will also continue to be as congested and probably exceed the capacity soon

But hey, I’m no traffic assessment specialist, or even a town planner – what do I know, all I have is common-sense…

• Merah Kuning on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:36 am

As a potential use of DASH, i’m definitely willing to pay the tolls. Of course, it would be better if the highway is free. But we’ll take anything solution to escape the traffic. It’s really bad right now and it will only get worse as PMD get more developed.

#Yes2DASH
      #GerakanSokongDASH
      #Y2D

• Merah Kuning on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:38 am

As a potential use of DASH, i’m definitely willing to pay the tolls. Of course, it would be better if the highway is free. But we’ll take anything as a solution to escape the traffic. It’s really bad right now and it will only get worse as PMD get more developed.

#Yes2DASH
      #GerakanSokongDASH
      #Y2D

• Paxter on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Most who live at the end of that highway are not low income users they are in fact middle to upper class homeowners an average house here is 500k. They all own cars and if both husband and wife drive that is two cars on average X the area and X the fact the rubber research land is about to be one massive town ship go figure where those cars are supposed to go? nkve? Just try for hilarity at peak rush hour get on nkve from Bukit jelutong and exit at damansara… just try…. u get why this highway is not only needed it just logical

• Ling Ling on Mar 21, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Well said..Peter. Your facts are absolutely correct. Now Penchala Link toll rate is at RM3.00 per way. It is a very expensive toll.

• justRay on Oct 06, 2015 at 5:35 am

Why NO to DASH? Seriously guys? TYou’re not even live there. The penduduk needs an alternative routes to Damansara and KL via Damansara. Think about how much cost of transportation we can really safe from DASH? For penduduk and peniaga. Increase of productivity for the people

• Thank God for this great news! Ohhhh I and the residents of Section U9, U10 and even as far as Puncak Alam and Saujana Utama definately need this highway. Cannot stand with only one access road already.

• Development? Yes…Highway? Yes….BUT not in my backyard….please be fair to others sometimes

• BNsupporter on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:10 am

Do it for the sake of the country development lah…so ungrateful citizen

• kuntakinte on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:38 am

I believe that LDP, KESAS and other highways were once in someone’s backyard as well. Something that is fair to you might not necessarily be fair to others.

• Eddy Irwan on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:08 am

highway is gud, toll with every 2 years increase is bad practice…

• Daniel on Oct 06, 2015 at 12:38 pm

This is outdated news. According to this news on 5th Oct 2015, the Selangor state government denies that approval has been given. See link below:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/citynews/greater-kl/article/selangor-denies-kota-anggerik-reps-statement-on-dash-approval

• Paxter on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Thank god, was on the verge of selling my house when this highway was cancelled. The traffic getting from this new residential areas to KL/PJ is crazy as it is it takes me 2hrs to do what would logically need 30mins to get to. I know I may sound selfish but then again I am assuming most who protest fail to realize Rubber research land is going to be a massive town ship in just a few years without this highway, what ?you mutiara people won’t mind a surge of cars trying to cross that township just to get to work and back? As it is we use that road to get to work imagine 3 times the size of traffic going thru mutiara to get to damansara heights > KL