JPJ to study proposed reduction in bike licence fee

driving riding licence categories

A proposal to reduce the cost of obtaining a motorcycle licence, including that for higher capacity motorcycles, is being studied by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), Bernama reports. The department will study the suitability of the proposal and also the costs involved, JPJ director-general Datuk Nadzri Siron said.

To date, more than three million motorcyclists in the country have Class B2 or B motorcycle licences, he said, but added that there were many bikers who did not possess a licence, and that the department has been campaigning to get those without driving licences to apply for it.

“Nearly 1.2 million motorcyclists in the country have no driving licence and 6,000 accidents involving the group with 18 fatalities are recorded daily. Because of that, we have been organising various programmes in collaboration with volunteer entities to educate people on road safety issues,” he told reporters during the launch of the Selangor Bikers Fiesta 2016 and Jom JPJ Carnival, which was held in Shah Alam over the weekend.

The department has long been wanting to know the reasons why people forego driving licenses despite being eligible for them. In August, it was reported that 80% of the 117,000 students who use motorcycles to go to school do not possess a valid licence.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Random Rant on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Aduhh… You guys are stupid or what? Why do you have to be so lembik, bow down to every request. License should be expensive, and it should be hard to get. These people who dont have license, they have money. It is an ethical problem, its nothing financial at all. Its not gonna solve the problem. I can guarantee you. Come on, as an authority you should be stern for you action, do something to them, those without license. Ni yang you nak saman, tinted lah, plate number lah. I hope you come to realisation at the end of the study.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
    • Bike lesen shudnt be too expensive neither shud it be free, cuz u need to pay the pipu running the system. For juvenile offenders, Gov shud saman parents instead of going for the kid, and warn these irresponsible parents to get them a bicycle if the cant walk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • JPJ revamp needed on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Increase the age to 18 from 16…when car licence needs 17. HOW it it possible that bikes is
        16 ? Persevere the youth life is more important than winning cheap votes

• 16 is okay. The problem is kids riding from age 10. The parents need to be educated, not the kids.

• Anonymous on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Its ridiculous that bike licenses be made too expensive… over RM1k for a bike license is simply misguided. Affordability of licenses means youths get to have knowledge and training on how to be a better motorist. Cost is just one part of it of coz. The truth of the matter is how to educate, instruct and inculcate proper and lasting attitude to become a responsible motorist.

• Sukakak on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Dude, its “JPJ to study” not “JPJ to implement”. Hold your gear mate.

• Hello randon rant, for your own kind reference. License play an important role in our daily commute life. Why not grt more people to afford getting a license than rather letting them break law.

• Sammy on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:50 am

The problem in malaysia, the more power you give to the authority, the more possible corruption it gets. Imagine the law that allows the forfeit of your vehicle if you break the traffic rules. What will happen? You will probably still able to keep your vehicle… but…ahem ahem, it will cost you.

There is no such thing as better law or better enforcement when there is corruption in the system.

Getting license as it is, there is a kopi-o option to be ticked.

• Saitam on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:21 pm

The question is also, why need to get a license? Is not to say our licensing system produce quality drivers or riders.
    having a license or not doesn’t really determine the ability of the driver / rider. Only need to folk out more money for renewal. And people with long outstanding summons also get to renew it anyway.
    Tell me, what’s the point of the license? So that JPJ has work to do?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Totally agree with you especially when you can pay to get a license. Look at the amount of idiotic drivers on the road. In the end it only looks like you are the only one driving properly and everyone else is in front of u.

• Yup. Lets just ban lesen, and while we’re at it, why not driving skools that was mandatory to go for that lesen, as well? After all, we’re so expert at driving after countless hours of “simulation training” on GTA V, Forza, & NFS, right?

Of course u wun blame the kid who will sideswipe ur car with his father’s, cuz theres no more age limit to drive then, right?

• Guanyinmaaa on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:43 pm

HAHA. They no money to pay license but got money to buy Motor. WOW. You guys at JPJ are so smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Anonymous on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Bro… u dont even have to pay deposit to buy a capchai… n monthly payments starts around RM200 x 48 months… bigger deposit lesser monthly…

• Black Dog on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:23 pm

So they thought giving free licence will reduce accidents?Enforement! Enforement! ENFORCEMENT!
    Masih tidur kut?

• Black Dog on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Should do what they currently do for students caught with bringing handphones to school. First time offenders confiscate for 1 week. Second time, 1 month.
    In this way, did not hurt them financially. If no motor, naik bus atau jalan kaki saja lah!

• Ben Yap on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:40 pm

government should ban kapchais on the road. only bikes above 250cc onwards on the road.

than people cannot afford bike, and everyone cycle a bicycle.

• Megane on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:39 am

The higher the Cc the more the maintenance dude . Many people who opt to use bikes are cost conscious .

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:56 pm

while you are at it JPJ, why not increase B2 ceiling to 400cc instead of 250? it is a beginners bike in as many advanced countries. amend B1 license for 400-749c and B full for 750cc above

• Sukakak on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:11 pm

And which country is that again, please let us know?

• Nelliel on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:28 am

USA, Canada, most of Western Europe, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand. Those are advanced countries, right?

250 cc as beginners’ bike in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Taiwan, China, HK, India… to name a few… these are not advanced countries… am I right…

Man… google it instead of just writing to oppose… what a smug…

• Francis Lim on Nov 15, 2016 at 4:36 pm

In the US of A, 125cc and below, no need license to ride these bikes.

• People having motorcycle license won’t do anything to improve / eliminate yobs on kapchais skipping the light & weaving in and out of traffic dangerously. Just the other day there was this guy on his kapchai with his two kids (without helmets) and wife on it, running the red light. When I honked he was the one to yell at me.

And on the way to lunch today, I saw 2 (I’m assuming) form 5 students running the red light as if there was no junction at all. They didn’t even braked. I’m not sure which is worse, them or the lady who stopped at the red light but was on the phone AND not wearing a helmet.

• the driver on Nov 14, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Can I hijack this thread? How about JPJ reduce the road tax on big bikes? The cost of paying road tax for big bikes is disproportionate to the amount of damage big bikes make to the road and is really a form of punishment or punitive towards big bike owners.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 8:26 pm

less expensive…but pay more for kopi =D

• Jamal on Jan 17, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Police should carry out road block at school gate before the school ends to catch those who ride without licence.