VIDEO: Honda BR-V Malaysian quick walk-around tour

The Honda BR-V was recently previewed at the Mines International Exhibition & Convention Centre (MIECC), making it the first public debut of the seven-seater SUV on Malaysian soil. Today, we bring you a quick walk-around tour of Honda Malaysia’s latest model, so you can get to know the BR-V a little better.

The BR-V is a crossover variation of the Mobilio MPV, and is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine providing 120 hp, which Honda says is the highest in its class, and 145 Nm of torque. All that power is directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT automatic.

Being a seven-seater, the BR-V comes three rows of seats, with the second row being 60:40 split-folding ones, whereas the third row is 50:50 split-folding. They can be easily slid into place (second-row only), folded down or tumbled with a few lever/strap pulls, allowing for up to 539 litres of boot space.

As for kit, projector headlamps (with DRLs), 16-inch alloy wheels, reverse camera, leather seats, second-row air-conditioning and three-point safety belts for all seven seats are all offered, at least on the preview unit you see here. We’ll have to wait and see if additional variants will be offered, as well as how much they may cost.

In terms of safety, the BR-V was awarded a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for models fitted with electronic stability control (ESC). The model scored 14.79 points out of a possible 16 points in the adult occupant protection test, with a 72% compliance in terms of child occupant protection.

Interested? Well, you can register your interest at Honda Malaysia’s official website, and while you’re at it, you can also check out the various roadshow locations where the BR-V will be on display. You can also read our first review of the SUV, here.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V preview at the MIECC

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 15, 2016 at 4:39 pm

They want to preview the vehicle to the public but did not give access to the front of the BRV…..right.

• If you all follow PT’s report. Base Honda Mobilio scored 0-star in safety

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Such a good car but the back is so ugly. Everybody wanting to buy this car have decided to cancel their order cause the back looks so ugly.

• Pinky on Nov 15, 2016 at 4:40 pm

That butt looks like a Chery. Totally no class and not elegant at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • rahman on Nov 15, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Toyota Rush terbaekkk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Ahmad on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:01 pm

berpeluh2 presenter…takde tukang kipas ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • alpinestar on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:23 pm

range around 97k .. insane of dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Either a 7 seater BRV or a 5 seater weird alien sien-ah. So its quite reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Albert on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Carlovers,
    The US Dollar is at an all time high now.
    At 1 US =RM 4.5, u wanna commit to new cars,kah?
    By Dec 1,car distributors will jack up car prices citing the weakening ringgit as the cause.Of course,we know their profits are also jacked up.
    There r thousands of good/boleh pakai used cars at the click of your mouse.
    It is high time,we ,the rakyat STOP BUYING NEW CARS as if there is no tomorrow.
    The fact is THERE IS A RECESSION TOMORROW.
    The swinging good times ARE OVER.
    MORE AND MORE BUSSINESS are crumbling and employees are teethering on redundancy.
    Do your homework.Be in control of loans.Not loans controlling you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
    • We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Support! Say no to new car until we all get Langkawi car prices!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • JB_KIA on Nov 15, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Dont worry. When the buying power is down, the price will follow suit unless they don’t mind closing shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • 1st time I agree with u. Yes, pipu shud stop using cars and instead use public transport. MRT is coming online less than 1 month away.

Najib is doing his part, u shud do urs too. Reduce congestion in city NOW!

• Jimmy on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Majority USAs will cry when it is 6.50 one day, under my hands.
      Please buy whatever things that me like, me desire, me dream, in addition to what me need, now, immediately, before it is 6.50. Economy is supergood under Obawa.

Invert the w, vice versa.

• Italian job on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:08 am

Ringgit to thai baht , sin, brunei , indo rup , china yen oso drop ..drop gao gao in sourh east asia contry…ha !

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:15 pm

but then gomen cry cause all car companies are directly or indirectly owned by the Gomen and GLC.

It is our gomen that is screwing the rakyat with high car prices. Gomen will blame the car companies but look deeper and you see, most car companies owned by the gomen!

• Jeffrey Chew on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Why the Honda Malaysia masked the half front of the cabin interior? That is weird!

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 15, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Future Uber Grab Car

• Kenny on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Scared their rivals with copy

• Azlan on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:34 am

I think maybe the preview unit was borrowed from thai/indon version. Malaysian version might have different gadget/equipment somewhere at the front. Thus they wouldnt want to preview the wrong one to their potential buyers.

• Ben Yap on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:03 pm

this car is definitely better than the alza and even the sienta.

buy one now and you’ll never regret it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • Another moron Honda fan boys speaking nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • camtakpro on Nov 17, 2016 at 7:51 am

lolwut. The 3rd row seat just block half of the length for luggage and not flat down? If that’s the final product, will damn regret when bought.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:24 pm

TOYOTA SIENTA 1.5V A/T CBU
    RM99,900 Peninsula price
    RM66,224 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM33,676 or 50.85% more for tax to the government and perhaps some extra profits charged extra for the rest of Malaysia by UMW Toyota.

Honda I expect your BR-V to be a lot less than that because it is a CKD. Car makers it is time for you guys not to take advantage of pricing your cars so high. Car manufacturers and government, we want to know what are the breakdown additional costs that we are paying and why is it sohai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Cuz they knows pipu will still buy them overpriced while shifting blame to Gov, but profits go to jepunis?

• You are paying RM33,676 or 50.85% more for tax to the government and perhaps some extra profits charged extra for the rest of Malaysia by UMW Toyota — nope, it should be like this, You are paying RM33,676 or 50.85% more for extra profits charged by UMW.

• George Abdul on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Honda “Alza” ?!?! Ok will wait for the full price review to final comment…

• Mr. Loba Loba on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Price it around 85k to 90k…Sienta confirm sau pei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • the last part , just a stupid joke on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:06 pm

1) weird super big door window
    2) exora more spacious
    3) brv face looks quite similar to the persona I think,
    but of course persona is more handsome
    4) the tyre doesn’t match the body looks, makes the brv
    looks so high and big but the reality is not, because
    of the small tyre
    5) not impressed at all since this brv doesn’t have any
    cool feature, all feature that we can see in the video
    is almost same like other cars, quite similar to
    alza(except for the rear aircond)
    6) when paultan show us the feature of the brv , that is
    real waste time..cuz all people know what they can do
    in the interior , of course the seat can be
    adjusted, lainlah kalau kerusi tu boleh pusing
    360darjah, boleh dibawa keluar utk jadi kerusi roda
    hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
    • Susukotak on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:22 pm

nasib baik tayar Jaguar tadi bentuk bulat.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Exora one class bigger lor of cuz more spacious.

• Salam Sejahtera on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:31 am

but proton and other brands didn’t hide their car interior..why so honda jdi penakut? I have strong feeling that brv front interior must be ugly

• the car is not yet officially launch in malaysia. if they open all to public, better launch it already. imho, i think they want to keep the element of suprise (suprise la sangat) for the launching day.

• Elchino on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:48 pm

They block up d dash as they need to hide the full spec CBU model such as reverse camera, gps etc. By d time this car reaches here, many of these features will be removed and we cannot complain as we will never know the difference!

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:24 am

What if I told you, it could be a left hand drive

• there he is on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:48 pm

ugly car

• Kuinosan on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:58 pm

I got to say that the rear end of the BRv is one cheap looking design, and the wheel size is ok albeit a much needed thicker tyre to beef up its looks and to increase comfort in the process.

• crash on Nov 15, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Kudos to you guys to provide 4k youtube video .
    Btw, since you already open the rear hatch, why not show us the spare tyre as well ??
    Is it in the cabin or is it underneath the car like those Toyota Vellfire ?
    If you compare the 3rd row leg room , is BR-V more spacious than Alza ?

• Susukotak on Nov 16, 2016 at 5:27 am

I tried this @miecc. Spare tyre underneath. The 3rd row space much better than Alza & Livina. & still have luggage space.

• Peroduas have good legroom kan

• dingle on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:44 pm

looks good for something below 70k.
    Anything more than that, not worth it.

• Wait till next year, China car with cheaper price longer warranty to offer. With spare parts gett u ng so expensive and car value sure depreciated with time, I will choose car give the max warranty . Better value for money

• for me, its depend. if the car broke every month than no use if warranty is longer while we cant use the car when we need it.

• john is otak batu on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:38 am

Hi Hafriz, what is the key entry type? Keyless?

• SUV or station wagon with extra seats?

• In the meantime….korean car seller will come and condemn honda….norah (troll)