2017 Honda Rebel – 471 cc, 45 hp and rider-friendly

17YM Rebel

For 2017, Honda has released the Honda Rebel, a middleweight cruiser aimed squarely at the new rider market, as well as those wanting a mid-displacement machine for general riding duties. Designed to be easy to ride and accessible to all riders regardless of experience, the 2017 Rebel is also meant for the owner to stamp his or her own personality on the bike.

Taking the parallel-twin engine from Honda’s CB500-series bikes, the soft power delivery of the 471 cc, eight-valve engine puts out 45 hp at 8,500 rpm and 44.6 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. Tuned for strong bottom-end torque and linear power, the Rebel is very rider-friendly and easy to manage.

The engine drives a six-speed gearbox, and the entire package is carried in a tubular steel frame. Front suspension is with OEM-brand 41 mm forks, while the rear is sprung with a Showa Pro-Link absorber.

17YM Rebel

For braking, Nissin calipers are used, with a single disc front and rear. ABS is fitted as standard to the Honda Rebel for the American market.

Carrying a distinctive silhouette in the “bobber” style, with thick tyres, the Rebel features a relaxed riding position, and has a very accommodating seat height of 690 mm. Fuel is carried in an 11.2-litre tank, and this middleweight cruiser weighs in at 190 kg.

17YM Rebel

No word from Boon Siew Honda Malaysia if the 2017 Honda Rebel will ever be brought in to this country to join its CB-siblings. In Malaysia, the full-fairing sports Honda CB500R retails for RM31,681, while the naked sports Honda CB500F goes for RM31,363.

On the dual-sports touring side, the 2017 Honda CB500 comes in two versions – with and without ABS. The Honda CB500X can be purchased for RM31,893, with the ABS-equipped Honda CB500XA going on sale at RM35,391. All prices include GST.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• hondaman on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:58 pm

reminds me of suzuki savage

• redidiot on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:39 pm

the savage looks better than this. what with its air cooled single, clean lines and belt drive

• Ootai on Nov 19, 2016 at 10:21 am

Suzuki savage, honda rebel and kawa LTD 454. Once, considered entry bikes in late 1980s. Cost about rm14,500 those days. Now, a scooter cost that much. Crazy days.

• Mikey on Nov 18, 2016 at 6:09 pm

I’m sorry to say this. It is one of the dullest bike I’ve ever seen. Wonder who will buy this which is a single sitter meaning your good friend or partner will have to go their own way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • previously honda is good. but now since they swap the location of horn switch with signal switch, i do really hate that. what so special about that anyway, or you want to be different from the others? me, was sticking stiff to honda for more than 40 years, just because of this small thing, I’m out. NO MORE HONDA. this might be the best time for me to fall in love with the others. HONDA YOU BREAK MY HEART, I’M ALMOST DIE BECAUSE OF WRONG PRESSING HORN BUTTON -at bottom as now is signal button ~because of normal riding habit reflection over than 40 years. it was unexpected riding experience. that’s enough honda. I can’t suits you. astalavista for idiot idea.

• Looks nice

• what a beauty
    but man.. they spoiled it with that digital speedometer

• Bernard on Nov 19, 2016 at 10:57 pm

A nice looking bike for mature adults. Is there a 250cc version?

Bring to bolehland quick !

• Clamund Wong on Nov 21, 2016 at 11:26 am

2017 Honda Rebel – 471 cc, 45 hp and rider-friendly how much OTR price?

• Coming to our shore?

• It show as 745 cc
    boonsiewhonda.com.my/rebel/