DRIVEN: New Toyota Innova 2.0G – MPV, reinvented

toyota-innova-2-0-g-ext-1

Reinventing yourself is certainly not an easy task. Even if you do it well, there’s no guarantee that those around you will be very receptive, nor acceptive of the new you. The same can be said of cars, with automakers having to sink in a lot of money should they decide to overhaul their vehicles, and with it, granting them a new persona, tagline or USPs.

The Toyota Innova has been around for well over a decade in Malaysia, being a replacement for the well-known Unser. Having undergone facelift upon facelift here, the MPV has always retained that utilitarian look that has served families and the transport industry for many years.

However, with the second-generation Innova, Toyota has decided to inject a healthy dose of premium-ness into its popular MPV, while giving it a fancy tagline as well: Prestige Perfected. Mighty words, and we’re here to see if the eight-seater can walk the talk.

Greeting you first is an all-new design that will make you forget all about the 2014 facelift that was introduced here. Hints of the Hilux can be seen at the front, with the upper section transplanted from the pick-up truck, albeit with a tweaked two-slat grille with an integrated badge.

The model you’re looking at here is the top-of-the-line 2.0G, which shares its halogen reflector headlamps with the 2.0E, but not its front fog lamps. Unfortunately, we do not get the fancier LED projectors as seen on the Indonesian-spec model, nor do we get LED DRLs (bulb-type used here).

Further differences include the new hood, bumper, and the new-design 16-inch aluminium wheels. Down the flanks, the variances continue, where the trim piece near the wheel arches has been done away with, and the window near the D-pillar has been reshaped to not only look sharper, but helps with visibility from the third-row seats.

Things have also been cleaned up at the rear, with the large chrome element above the number plate being done away with, making room for two-piece taillights that occupy the new, easy-close liftgate. The overall package is certainly more visually-appealing than before, even though it may not gel well with all.

If the car looks bigger than before, you are absolutely spot on. The new car measures 4,735 mm in length (+150 mm), 1,830 mm in width (+70 mm) and 1,795 mm in height (+35 mm), rides 24 mm higher (at 200 mm), but retains its 2,750 mm wheelbase. The increase in length is in the overhangs with 135 mm being added to the front, and 15 mm at the rear.

Toyota also improved the Innova’s ladder-frame skeleton in several areas to make it more rigid, starting with 66 additional spot welds, while the cross members have been strengthened and the side rails enlarged (by 20 mm). Furthermore, certain body sections also employ high-tensile strength steel in its construction (590 MPa and 440 MPa).

Accompanying the architecture is an enhanced suspension setup, featuring larger rear shock absorbers and revised damping characteristics in general. Toyota also says it changed the rear bushing structure to allow for a smaller reaction from the shock absorber stroke by up to 84%.

Has any of this worked? Well, on the move, the Innova certainly rides a whole lot better than before, while primary ride remained pretty compliant. However, secondary ride does suffer from a tad too much rebound, resulting in a pretty “floaty” feeling at times, but something expected in a vehicle this size.

The steering remains a hydraulic-type as before, with changes being found on the steering column that now has an expanded range of tilt of 20 mm from 14 mm, as well as telescopic adjustability.

toyota-innova-dynamic-3

Although the feel is a little vague, the steering is pretty light and makes it easier to navigate the big MPV around. Through the corners though, the vehicle’s increased heft of up to 1,720 kg (up from 1,615 kg) becomes noticeable, although body roll is kept in check to make sure things don’t get too lairy.

To cope with the higher kerb weight, the Innova also gets a new powertrain, comprising the 2.0 litre 1TR-FE naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, which now comes with Dual VVT-i. The gains? There’s now 139 PS at 5,600 rpm (+3 PS) and 183 Nm at 4,000 rpm (+1 Nm). Additionally, fuel consumption is claimed to be 9.4 l/100 km (from 10.7 l/100 km) for the manual and 9.1 l/100 km (from 11.2 l/100 km) for the automatic.

All that newfound power is directed to the rear wheels via a new six-speed torque converter automatic transmission (with sequential shifter) that replaces the previous car’s four-speed unit. There’s a five-speed manual, but that’s only for the 2.0E, which is more aimed at fleet operators (taxi, travel companies, etc). The reasoning for this drive layout, according to Hiroki Nakajima, managing director of Toyota Motor Corporation, is for better drivability especially then climbing hills. Nakajima explained that in areas like Kota Kinabalu, the RWD approach is a lot more pracitcal.

toyota-innova-dynamic-1

There are minute performance gains thanks to this new combo, with 0-50 km/h (now 5.68 seconds instead of 5.80 seconds) and 0-100 km/h (now 16.44 seconds instead of 16.90 seconds) times down by a few hundredths of a second, despite the added weight. However, the new powertrain does get a shorter gear kick-down response time, and enhancements to ensure optimum fuel consumption and low engine noise.

On the move, the new powertrain certainly does respond quickly, but the sheer bulk of the Innova means you’ll have to listen to the engine working hard before you see the speed. Unlike the Indonesian-spec model, there are no diesel engine options to help provide the grunt here.

However, if there’s no need for the engine to be pushed, life inside the Innova is wonderfully pleasant, as there’s plenty of sound insulation material and expansion foam added to create a pretty silent cabin (with a hint of wind noise). Toyota claims the new car is up to 2.1 dB quieter than its predecessor while travelling between 60-80 km/h (commonly travelled speeds).

As a result, this gives you the time to appreciate the work Toyota has done to make the new cabin unrecognisable from the one found in the outgoing model. The dashboard is entirely new here, and abandons the monotone scheme used in the past. Instead, you get a curvaceous upper deck that peaks above the instrument binnacle, meeting up with new air-con vents along the way.

While the majority of the dash is devoid of any soft-touch material, there is plenty of elements that add a bit of contrast to proceedings. For instance, you’ll find faux wood trim bits running across the dash (including on the Hilux-esque steering wheel, Alcantara-like materials on the door cards, as well as various trim finished in what can only be described as “satin gold.”

As you can see in this photo, the elegant-looking trim also frames the RM3,169.40 optional eight-inch capacitive touchscreen display for the DVD-AVN system, which has all the usual connectivity features (Bluetooth, HDMI, USB, etc.) with the addition of navigation on this particular car. Alternatively you can opt for the DVD-AVX system that is devoid of navigation for RM2,109.40.

The system itself is a real treat to use, with crisp and clear graphics displayed on a high-definition screen, along with a touch interface that feels tablet-like. A safety nanny means you can’t access certain features while the car’s moving, so you’ll have to tell your passenger not to fiddle with it on your behalf.

Drivers will also get to enjoy the new Optitron instrument cluster with its 4.2-inch colour TFT-LCD display. Not only does it look a bit like Iron Man’s palladium-powered arc reactor, it comes with “mini games” like trying to score the highest possible “Eco points,” and the usual driving info.

Manually adjustable fabric seats are standard here regardless of variant type, although the 2.0G has a “tiger stripes” motif (2.0E gets a honeycomb one instead). The seats themselves offer good support, and are pretty cozy to be nestled in, including those seated in the second-row.

For those in the latter, there’s plenty of legroom despite the generous seat base size, and the (60:40 split-folding) seats themselves are slide- and tilt-adjustable to your liking, via an easier one-touch operation.

That simplifies loading humans into the third-row, who will get to enjoy almost the same generous accommodation as those in the second-row. Provided you don’t slide the second-row seats all the way back, legroom for those at the far back is pretty decent, with a fairly sizeable seat base.

In total, the Innova offers seating of up to eight people (2-3-3 layout), with three-point seat belts available for all, and they are kept cool thanks to air-conditioning for all three rows via ceiling-mounted vents, controlled through an automatic climate control on the roof of the second row (2.0G only).

If that isn’t enough, things get even more premium with dual-zone ambient lighting, adjustable via the ceiling-mounted controls at the front and second-row. You don’t get to control the colour here, which remains blue, but the brightness is adjustable to help create the best ambience in the MPV.

Additionally, those in the second row will have access to seatback tables capable of supporting up to 10 kg of weight, so the 13-inch MacBook Air you see here, or an iPad are certainly not an issue here. If there’s one complaint I’d make, it’ll be the lack of USB charging ports, which will have the millennials up in arms again. However, there is a 12 V power socket for rear passengers to plug in a charger if it’s any consolation.

As premium as things have become, the Innova hasn’t lost sight of its practical capabilities, and has even introduced several enhancements. For starters, the (50:50 split-folding) third-row seats now get a spring lifter, making it easier to lift them up and tether them in place for more cargo space.

Combined with the one-touch tilt-and-tumble mechanism of the second-row, there’s plenty of seating arrangements to choose from, so the Innova’s role as a cargo carrier is pretty much intact, and even better this time.

Safety-wise, the Innova is a major step up from before, with seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain and driver’s knee) being fitted to this top-spec variant (2.0E gets just three). There’s also brake assist, VSC, hill-start assist, but again, only for the 2.0G, although both will get ABS with EBD, plus parking sensors at the front and rear.

However, keep in mind that many of the features (including keyless operation) this writer enjoyed can only be found in the top-spec 2.0G, making it the variant to buy, tentatively priced (without options) at RM126k (on-the-road with insurance).

toyota-innova-dynamic-4

So, is the second-generation Innova the prestigious MPV that Toyota claims it is? Put simply, yes. The new car is a giant leap forward from before, and certainly a wonderful reinvention of the nameplate. At the end of the day, this car brings welcomed new features, and remains significantly more affordable (prices here are OTR without insurance) than the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid (from RM143,063) and Mazda Biante (from RM145,718), while being comparatively, if not, larger.

More comfortable and better riding than before, while boasting an interior that screams premium, the overall experience is only hampered by an engine that lacks the punch to get the heavier Innova up to speed quicker. Aside from that, it is definitely an MPV to consider for those in the market for an eight-seater.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• andrew on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:21 pm

typical japanese, the low spec one immediately looks low rent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • chowhai on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Nope, it’s just typical UMW Toyota Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:43 pm

More like Toyota ASEAN. Just look most of their car in ASEAN region…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Malaysians kena con again big time. Now this car got EEV certification. So, why isn’t UMW Toyota passing the savings to Malaysians? The price seems higher than previous Innova despite EEV certification.

As we can see from the Mercedes C200 and BMW 320i, with EEV certification, the cars are now about RM50k less.

We can assume that with the EEV certification, UMW will be able to sell ths car for about RM80k to RM90k. But UMW, being the sneaky company they are, has decided to sapu all the savings.

They then kelentong to the rakyat and say now they are giving 7 airbags and VSC. If you do the maths, 7 airbags and VSC hardly cost RM3k or RM4k. So, what happened to the RM30k to RM40k savings from the EEV certification?

This alone shows how dishonest UMW is. A company that lies to the rakyat. Do you dare to buy from a company that lies?

Gomen give EEV savings to pass to the rakyat in the form of cheaper prices but UMW sapu every bit of it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 28
        • Heskey on Dec 06, 2016 at 8:29 am

9l/100km also EEV meh?

• 1 airbag easily cost 5k. There goes the savings.

• Sialkunta on Dec 06, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Ok… If this is not a good deal, tell me which mpv to buy? Don’t just complain and offer no solution. Tell me which mpv to buy that has 7 airbag and vsc and cheaper.
          And please don’t tell me go langkawi or migrate to US.

• Prestige huh? UMW marketing guy must be smoking the same weed as the same proton nutcase who asked KRU to produce those piss-poor videos for those rubbish cars this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Weeder on Dec 06, 2016 at 7:18 am

Hard plastic dashboard and fabric seat. Does this “screams premium” to you?

• Toyocrap on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Inno crap, dun even bother to waste my time to go show room

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Ben Yap on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:46 pm

0-100 in 16 secs?

LOL… imagine full load… will be over 20 secs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
  • Hot dog on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:51 pm

I just went to see the car, plastic dashboard … aiyo !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:55 pm

0 to 100km/h takes more than 16 seconds… Im not saying it need to be even 10 seconds, but atleast 12 or 13 will be considered acceptable.. 16 seconds, only faster than a tractor and my grandma..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
    • nabill (Member) on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:17 pm

even the 1st gen exora which is probably of similar size to this although this sits higher bcos of the ladder Chassis , with NA 1.6 cps, 4speed Auto was doing it with around 12-13 seconds…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:21 am

true. i once drove an old innova..demm took ages to reach 100.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Take the manual version, will pick up faster

• Toyota Nirvana on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Premium? Luxury?
    Obviously you guys have not been in Bentley or Rolls-Royce

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Earnest Lam Soo Meng on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:23 pm

In many third world countries the base model has a 2.4l engine because they know the 2.0l is severely under powered. UMW should have at least put the 2.4l engine in the G model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Aaron on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:35 pm

If UMW Toyota genuinely passed on the EEV savings to the consumers, the Innova would have been priced from below RM80k……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • camtakpro on Dec 06, 2016 at 7:11 am

They even charges buyer for VSC and 6 airbags without giving them to you. Only later offer to add them back in facelift when sales are weak.

So do you think they want to pass on the EEV savings onto consumer?

• Carwoow on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:45 pm

The front is ok, the rear is a cancer growth. BTW UMW TOYOTA, WHERE IS THE EEV PRICE REDUCTION??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Keat on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:06 pm

U should ask our Najib Kor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Najib Kor alredi gip EEV savings but kena gasap by UMW. Wanna ask who? Ask island supreme leader who sapoted them lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • No Door Visor on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:54 pm

The door visor is ugly and unnecessary. It looks Ah Beng and 90s. Aerodynamics of the car or van is also reduced. Also notice that other countries don’t provide the door visor. Why provide the door visor UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • A lot of ppl will said Innova is a underpower MPV, but nope I’m having Innova 2.0E manual 1st Generation, and already drove for 10 years, got one I fetch 9 persons go uphill on the way to Balik Pulau Penang, when I want to cut the lane due infront have 1 myvi drove around 30KM/h it’s too slow, so I start to accelerate from 20 to 70 KM/H it take me around 6 second, I also feel unbelievable it still perform very good power with fetch 9 adult, so I can said if u drive this Innova with fetch a lot of ppl for long term, u will feel this MPV also quite good in performance. For accelerate from 0 to 100 KM on highway it take 13 seconds and top speed it can go for 190KM/h as I tested it in midnight time at highway. But usually I drive this MPV to run highway with 1 to 3 persons, the speed around 110-130KM/H and the fuel consumption it can get around 13KM/L, if mix drive at city and highway only can get below 10KM/L, fuel consumption not good as sedan car. For reliability, so far this car milage already hit 100K but never break down, only change the brake pad, new tyre, rear left hand suspension and on time service. So for those family have 6-8 persons and looking for mid luxury MPV, you guy can consider Innova.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 16
    • mr1031 on Dec 05, 2016 at 6:41 pm

only innova driver knows well about their car..and our family owns one too..

love this car except the lorry sounded engine when it started..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • sayyrl76 on Dec 05, 2016 at 11:57 pm

I owned 1 ( 2.0 G ) for 8 years.Truly up to my expectations,Peace of mind.Only costed me for replacement of wears and tears.And it’s performance,same as yours.Mine is 9.4 km per liter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • camtakpro on Dec 05, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Can’t call it premium without any leather seats.

• Looks cheap and surely feels the part too.indo mari….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • theanswer on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:25 am

generally the mpv is good. but looking at the price..

• lolpanda on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:26 am

maybe it’s just me, but i think it’s starting to look more like a van than an MPV.

also, the most glaring thing would be…how does one get so little power out of a 2 litre engine? with that weight, your real world fuel consumption figures are going to be much worse because you’ll be putting your foot down on the gas pedal all the time just to get it moving.

• camtakpro on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:35 am

Innova Thai commercials are awesome. Seems even better than Alphard lol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rp9HnUg-_hQ

• TheDean on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:53 am

Wait,
    (1) side folding 3rd row seats eat ip precious space instead of fold down flats.
    (2) folding the 2nd row to get into the 3rd is decades old. Seats now stands forward which provides better entry.
    (3) 2 ltr engines churn out 150hp 200Nm 10 years ago. This one is only 140hp 180Nm.
    (4) That’s not a sunroof. More like a roof hole.
    (5) Folding trays have been around for ages now.

I fail to see how this Innova ‘reinvents’ the mpv.

• Innova on Dec 06, 2016 at 12:22 pm

“In total, the Innova offers seating of up to eight people (2-3-3 layout), with three-point seat belts available for all, ”

But I think the middle seat at second row and third row are still using 2-point lap belts? No?

• placing a laptop in that location is asking for trouble. For a journalist to suggest that is pure stupidity. That thing will take your head off in an accident.

SOHAI.