Madrid mayor plans to ban all cars from city by 2019

While our ministers are busy deliberating on whether kapchais should be banned from entering Kuala Lumpur, over in Madrid, the city’s mayor – Manuela Carmena – intends to have all private cars banned from Spain’s capital by the time she leaves office in May 2019.

According to a report by Business Insider, Carmena confirmed on Spanish radio station Cadena SSER that she’s looking to pass a legislation where Madrid’s main avenue, the six-lane Gran Vía, will only allow access to bikes, buses, and taxis

The effort is part of a plan to fight Madrid’s ever-rising pollution, which also includes a ban of all diesel cars in Madrid by 2025. Currently, the city is enforcing temporary driving restrictions should smog levels reach harmful peaks, and had previously banned car with license plate ending with an even number from entering the centre.

More recently, Madrid blocked personal cars from the Gran Vía for nine days in December around the holiday shopping period. Should Carmena’s permanent ban come into fruition, Madrid would be the first major European city to do so.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Casilas on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Bravo Amigo !!!

• I’ve been to Madrid and you actually dont need a car to explore around the city. Public transport is good and the weather is perfect to walk! not too hot

• Mikey on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:57 pm

You are speaking as a tourist point of view which many will agree including me.
      Ask an Italian living in Madrid & chances are they may not agree with U bcos he may need to commute to Rome or Milan with his car on any given time without checking which day & time are best for driving/travelling..

• Hot dog on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Ya true .. KL one people one car , morning jam like sotong !

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:02 am

Everywhere good public transport cause Government invest a lot to enhance public transport.

here in Malaysia, Government use billions to buy new jets for leaders to use instead of money going into public transport

• Add A Comment on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:31 am

Tell that to fellow Malaysian…See their response

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• MY pipu only willing to walk outside when weather will be like in EU spring/autumn…

• Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:48 am

U are right & I agree with U if U are a tourist. Tell that to an Italian who stay in Madrid who need 2 commute 2 Rome & Milan back & forth due to business/pleasure.

Chances are he will Not agree with us here as he can drive to other cities anytime if & when he like & Not be stopped by some politician propaganda.

Banning of cars MUST be Morally & Legally right otherwise we M’sian called it MENYUSAHKAN meaning making life difficult. Shalom & Cheers …

• 12yrsold on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:51 pm

It is the best way to make Electric Vehicle mandatory & set an example for highly congested City to follow. Saya Sokong.

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:29 pm

One thing I like about Spain is super long lunch hour known as siesta. 2 hours lunch time is nothing over there. Yes, the cool, relax and lazy culture is there. Taking things nice and easy

• Sub_zero on Jan 20, 2017 at 7:30 pm

And not wonder they along italy and Greece are eu economy bane

• Passerby on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:48 pm

but in Malaysia bodoh menteri still say car is more pollute than bikes…

• Sub_zero on Jan 20, 2017 at 7:34 pm

By science and logic

A 1.3 litre four cylinder 4 stroke fuel injection engine from car

B 150cc single cylinder 4 stroke fuel injection engine from motorcycle

Which consume more petrol and spew more emission?

• Yeah cars are nice for the open road but unless they become electric fast, desperate pollution situation in cities may warrant such a plan to quickly get it under control. Very few that are worthwhile are easy to do anyway.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:33 am

How about electric cars? They themselves don’t pollute. The diesel ban (in the near future) seems like affecting more European cities, but I still see carmakers (especially European companies) selling diesel cars. Shouldn’t they start phasing out diesel cars by now rather than waiting for the year of the ban takes effect to stop selling them.