Cabbies protest against Uber, Grab outside Parliament

You would think that after being legalised and even endorsed by the prime minister as a source of income, that ride-hailing services from Uber and Grab have become a part of Malaysian life. Still, there are protests going on, this time by a group of taxi drivers outside Parliament yesterday.

According to The Star, the group of about 50 gathered some 200 metres from the Parliament guardhouse in the morning, carrying placards and chanting slogans opposing Uber and Grab (image above is a file pic). They also submitted a memorandum to several opposition MPs who met them, including Pokok Sena MP Datuk Mahfuz Omar, Bukit Gantang MP Idris Ahmad and Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli.

Blowing the same old horn, the group claimed that the ride-hailing services were flouting the law and carrying out “illegal activities”.

“Uber and GrabCar must be subjected to the same laws and regulations as taxi drivers. Only then can we accept them. We are here today because we want our MPs, whom we have chosen through the ballot box, to meet us and ask us what is really happening on the ground,” said group spokesman Zailani Sausudin, who is the chairman of the Klang Valley Taxi Drivers Action Group.

“Taxi drivers all over Malaysia are facing many difficulties right now. We cannot pay rent, we have no source of income and are unable to support our families or pay for our children’s education. What is happening?” he added.

PAS MP Mahfuz said the government must find a solution “once and for all” to assist taxi drivers, whom he said were being marginalised. He said while there’s nothing wrong with services from Uber and Grab, the legal procedures that cabbies have to abide by should also apply to drivers from the other side.

“There are already so many taxis out there, so if the government wishes to allow Uber and GrabCar, then I think taxi services should be terminated and existing drivers should be allowed to use their own vehicles to ferry passengers,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• passion on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:21 am

yup taxis should be allowed to be uber drivers as well. it will help with their income.provided they keep their cabs neat and tidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:47 am

In order for them to be uber their cars need to be in proper order – uber set nothing more than 8 yrs old, they need to know how to use uber app and Waze and last – manners. Many taxi drivers are lacking either one of them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • Mikey on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:06 pm

U are right alldisc. Most taxis/drivers fail at least 2 of the conditions mention by U.

• Albert on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:04 pm

The other day,there was a horrible jam in front of UH,Jln Universiti.
          As I approached the bus stop……omg..30 red taxis waiting for patients at 10am.
          How stupid these dudes. By the time the patients depart,usually will be around 12 noon to 1pm before the doctor’s lunch break.
          They wait 3 hrs just to get 1 passenger who may end up paying only RM5 for a short ride.
          U see the madness here,leading to mass insanity.
          Hello,this is the age of smartphones.
          u want to use manual typewriters,pls go drive red cabs in Timbuktu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Ur kunta dupe no enuff, so need to bring new dupe below kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Mashitah on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:59 am

KWAP dan Khazanah Nasional sudah menambah pelaburan dalam Uber. Syukur…

• Michael Goh on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:03 am

There was massive jams yesterday. Many people took 2 hours to go to work. All because of this.

Who is to be blamed? We can safely blame PDRM cause last year when the teksi gangsters held Malaysia at ransom, PDRM was like chicken. So scared. Dare not even arrest. Roadblocks that caused massive jams in the capital due to teksi gangsters were all let off the hook.

Do you know so many people died because the heart attack victim in the ambulance cannot reach hospital in time due to their road blocks? Even yesterday, few died in ambulances.

Time for PDRM to buck up and stop escorting VIPs all over town. Do your job. People are dying because of you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
      • Some say illegal mass public gathering is our human rights wor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Kunta now michael on Mar 22, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Just join grab or uber. Find a life taxi drivers. Same to kunta also.

• Faith on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:22 am

I’m curious how do you know “many had died”. Perhaps you are working with the paramedics?

• Ngo Thye Aun on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:11 pm

I agree with u totally Goh…I am.a heart attack survivor and I was lucky to be save in time.

• Ah Kow on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Whatever those hooligans are doing now, literally proved to the public and also the world, of how UNPROFESSIONAL they are in doing their job.

Imagine if they can act like this and show it to the parliament and the public, wonder how much scarier it is to sit in the same taxi with them privately going places?

Who would want to go into their taxi? The public are scared with you.

No one will sympathize you hooligans, the public is not bothered, UBER GRAB drivers all happy fetching customers, your dear crony boss sitting in office counting money, gomen is in full support with GRAB UBER services

• Ah Kow on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:14 pm

The good thing about UBER GRAB is that, there’s a customer service, an effective one. Where customers can complain and comment on the driver. Then UBER GRAB is able to take action against the problematic driver.

Good for those innocent, non-gangster taxi driver to survive in their business. Kesian them for getting a bad name due to all the hooligan taxi drivers.

I believe those SMART taxi drivers would ditch their taxi business much earlier for UBER GRAB.

• Aniki Tan on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:30 am

It’s very easy, since Uber and Grab got less thing to bother about, why not switch from normal taxi to Uber or Grab? Those protester is only those who suck money from taxi driver, not the driver as i know most of them already convert to Uber or Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Michael Goh on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:15 am

Our teksi gangsters now say they cannot pay rent. Their problems started 20 years ago. They had to pay super high rates to a crony dude who held many teksi licenses. It is still happening today. All the teksi companies are just run by a few fat cats who are cronies.

These political fat cats are the ones squeezing the teksi gangsters until today.

Unfortunately, they are too stupid to see who is squeezing them. So, they just blame Grab and Uber.

Hello kawan kawan pemandu teksi, jangan bodoh sangat. Buka mata anda. Tengok siapa pemilik lesen in semua.

These teksi gangster desrve it cause 20 years, they never complain. they let the crony be happy with his wealth increasing.

Same with the AP priciple also. 30 years we suffer cause few AP thieves want to get richer and richer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • Syabas!! bersatu Rakyat Ubah!

https://paultan.org/2017/01/24/laws-to-regulate-uber-grabcar-to-be-tabled-march-6/

• Prakata on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:53 am

the taxis and their personal cars are generally more than 5 years old..how to switch to uber and grab car?

• Shikin on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:38 am

Because of lousy proton cars that feels like falling apart and with the lousy service and drivers don’t use metering system to charge the customers, customers will not take taxi. Why pay more to seat in a lousy proton with no safety feature when I can grab a Toyota Wish 20-30% cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Tokwea on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Don’t run for the brand shikin but convenience and accessibility are the choices of priority.

• Does the taxi industries Up their customer service and concern on consumer’s complaints. No, I haven’t heard any of it, only more and more complaints from the consumer, and most of the taxis outside shopping mall are still negotiating price instead of using meter.

They refuse to change on their abusive culture on making money and hate people using the rite way.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:15 am

nobody say u cant quit and be uber or grab also…bising apa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • David Tan on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:18 am

I have experience charges for a 5km journey cost RM25. When I reject the offer politely, I was harass with nasty words from the taxi driver. Although they are few good taxi driver out there, but most of them act like gangster.
    It is such a relieve now with all this ride-hailing apps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Some of the condition of these taxi are so scary that I wouldn’t dare to step in. If there’s a regulation that all car used as taxi must be below 8 years (rules set by Uber) and well maintained, then I will consider taking taxi.

• Harry on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Isn’t this an unlicensed, unapproved public gathering? Worse public disturbance and hazard.

• TokGuru on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Go fly kites

• Mikey on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:29 pm

I REALLY pity those Taxi drivers who could have earn extra $$$ but choose to protest outside parliament. With many complaints about its drivers being rude, uneducated, obnoxious & whats not, they are Marginalize by most M’sian including our Gov & us paying customers.

Yes, they may be bad & sometime even act like gangsters but who will want to be a cab driver if there are better alternatives. I guess the idiom – As you make your bed, so you must lie on it – says it all. U sow what U reap.

• HippyT on Mar 22, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Until the day our taxi service is willing to take me to the nearest LRT station using meter without asking where I’m going before boarding then you have my support. Grab and Uber always accept my booking to the nearest LRT station regardless of the fare amount. Will our taxi accept a short RM3.00 ride? NO! End do discussion!

• Move on or become extinct

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Illegal activities also include cheating, like charging RM50 for a trip from Petaling Street to KLCC, extortion, threats towards others, damage to other vehicles by your so called protests etc. If you taxi drivers do not sedar diri, you will become like Nokia 3310. If you are unable to accept fair competition, then you must be living under the coconut shell. Today, someone from London can advance booking a room in KL using an app. You taxi drivers must still think the telex machine is the only way to communicate overseas.

• ben yap on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:16 pm

meanwhile, uber and grab drivers protest because of low fare and incentive cut.

• No worries. Then taximen can plotes against Grabuber and the Grabuber drivers too can plotes against Grabuber… last-last somehow plot twist ini salah Gov…

• Ken C on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:08 pm

It was a scary experience the last 2 times I took airport cab from KLIA to Puchong (one was 8 months ago and one was 4 years ago). In both the cases I bought the tickets from KLIA taxi ticket counter. Both the drivers was driving recklessly and was really driving fast (up to 160km/h in a old Waja) & rushing. The one I took 8 months ago nearly hit another at a traffic light near my residence area. Now I am really scared to take another KLIA taxi. These drivers just don’t care about the safety of their passengers.

• Rhino on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Please join international services like uber or grab. Dont spoil name again and again doing unnecessary things.

• why not just protest only taxi can be on the road…
    ban private cars, buses, train, LRT….
    and can add in airplane to the list too, just in case, car may fly one day….

• Dale Ismail on Mar 22, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Sorry I’m lost here. Actually who’s stopping them from switching over to Uber or Grab? Hmm..something very fishy here.
    I read along that they are not so “techy”, then learn; why are they whining all the times? Why so manja one :) everything must need gov’s support, assistance and crutches. Sheesh..

• Tiger88 on Mar 22, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Permanent scare on malaysia image on top of other issues. Floating basis always otherwise less then 1hr job to settle this issue.

• Bernard on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Grab the drivers and throw them in jail…

• Mustafa on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:33 pm

‘Nasib baik ada uber….xmemilih passenger dan tempat…murah dan drebar xpelik perangainya’ ….that is the comment from my uber passenger this afternoon from sect 8 Shah Alam to AEON Mall Shah Alam)

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:59 am

Not sure about uber but a source from Grab told me that they are very stringent on allowing whom can be driver. Anyone with drug offences or even speeding offences beyond 3 tickets will be banned from becoming a grab driver……Perhaps these protesting folks cannot become uber and grab drivers even if they want to?

• Faith on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:27 am

I wonder what kind of law enforcement is the cabbies referring to? You mean unfairness because cabbies can’t use smartphone device to get riders in comparison to Uber and Grab? Cabbies can use older cars but Uber and Grab are strictly with cars below 8yo? Or because cabbies can “choose” when they need to use meter, but Uber and Grab have to have all routes recorded by the app?
    What is the cause of the uproar, exactly?

From Confused Consumer

• Government won’t ban uber/grab. It revitalises a city. Too many locals and tourists use them.

• spartan on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:27 am

“I think taxi services should be terminated and existing drivers should be allowed to use their own vehicles to ferry passengers”, well said.. lets go for it