2017 Yamaha YZF-R6 power figure released – 116.7 hp

The last man standing in the supersports 600 class, the 2017 Yamaha YZF-R6, has had its horsepower number officially released – 116.7 hp at 14,500 rpm. This is coupled with a claimed torque figure of 61.7 Nm at 10,500 rpm, all coming from a 599 cc, DOHC, liquid-cooled inline-four.

With Honda removing the CBR600RR from its line-up this year, and Suzuki following suit with the GSX-R600, only Yamaha and Kawasaki are left from the Japanese big four that still offer a pure 600 cc supersports machine in the catalogue. With the Kawasaki ZX-6R overdue for an update, Yamaha has been pro-active and done this to the YZF-R6.

Coming with six-mode traction control, and an additional “off” mode for track use, Yamaha has built-in traction control to suit all levels of rider. The software is designed to eliminate any unnatural feeling when it intervenes, and also compensates for rear tyre wear to give consistent performance.

This is coupled with the YZF-R6’s up-shift only quickshifter, to give efficient acceleration through the six-speed gearbox. Up front, the R6 gets a front end with styling cues taken from Yamaha’s flagship superbike, the YZF-R1.

On the suspension side of things, 43mm YZF-R1 type front forks with YZF-R6 specific settings are installed, working together with 320 mm diameter YZF-R1 type front brakes with radial four-pot calipers. Suspension is fully-adjustable front and rear, where the back is suspended with a KYB monoshock.

New for 2017 is an aluminium 17-litre fuel tank that shaves weight on the YZF-R6, while also aiding rider movement and at the same time giving the rider grip when in the racing position. A magnesium sub-frame shaves more grammes off the YZF-R6, reducing weight by 1.2 kg over a similar steel assembly, and bringing wet weight to 190 kg.

This weight-loss also extends to the magnesium engine head and case covers, and the aluminium frame and swingarm. A titanium exhaust end-can caps off the Yamaha YZF-R6, emphasising the reason for this machine is performance and handling.

Coming in Race Blu and Tech Black, the YZF-R6 will come with an extensive range of official performance accessories, some of which are intended for racing purposes only. The 2017 Yamaha YZF-R6 will be released worldwide in April. However, our source in Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia has confirmed that the YZF-R6 will not be officially imported.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 24, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Lovely bike but come here become 6 figure. How many Malaysians can really afford? According to EPF stats 73% of all EPF contributors only earn RM1500 and below.

• Birdie on Mar 26, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Suzuki GSXR-1000 just launched at RM94,000

and you’re saying R6 is pricier than a superbike? LOL

and people who can afford this didnt contribute to epf.
      theyre not ‘makan gaji’…

• sohai on Mar 30, 2017 at 6:06 pm

this bike is not target at 73% of the population. it is not a kapchai.

this bike will not be 6 figure if launch here. it shows you don’t know much about bike. Political sites suit you more for comment.

• Heng Lee on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:56 pm

You have to read the report:

‘However, our source in Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia has confirmed that the YZF-R6 will not be officially imported.’

• Sub_zero on Mar 30, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Which is true

All model not officially launched here by hlym are grey import

Which is suck (cause spare part will be rare) high chance of getting stolen

As if their mopeds already “panas” now the big one……

• Mikey on Mar 25, 2017 at 12:41 pm

This YZF-R6 specification looks impressive. This one only weight 190kg. Interesting to note that this R6 have 6-mode traction control & an additional “off” mode for track use.

In short, this R6 is a racing machine but can be used by anyone who want to cruse around. The sad part is it will not be officially imported by HL Yamaha.

• Heng Lee on Mar 25, 2017 at 4:31 pm

What is so special about 190kg? A BMW S1000RR (with 199hp, that’s 82.3hp more) weights 183kg dry and 204kg road ready, fully fuelled?

• Mikey on Mar 25, 2017 at 11:13 pm

If U are comparing the R-6 with the BMW S 1000RR in terms of power, there is NO comparison at all. It is entirely a different class.

The R6 dry weight is only 161/164 kg. That is lighter than my ZZR 600 & this R6 have the 6-mode traction control & an additional “off” mode for track use & that is special to me. Do U have an issue with me or the Yamaha??

• Heng Lee on Mar 26, 2017 at 6:35 pm

I am comparing WEIGHT, not power.

I don’t have any issues with Yamaha or you, I just asked what’s so special about the very average weight of the YZF-R6. You have to take into account that the 14kg heavier S1000RR has a electronically adjustable damping system, a feature the YZF-R6 does not have.

• Sub_zero on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:15 pm

You’re what they malay call “bodoh sombong” get it?

Comparing r6 with s1000rr? Are you bloody hit your head somewhere?

Both IN DIFFERENT CATEGORY

And of course s1000rr has everything cause it’s a FLAGSHIP 1000CC MODEL NOT A 600CC FLAGSHIP MODEL

Even bmw don’t have 600cc i4 cause IT’S NOT THEIR DESIGNATE MARKET FOR 1000CC

God bless your tiny brain

• HondaCub Rider on Mar 26, 2017 at 10:23 am

I tarak duit. Will buy kapchai instead…
    Petrol oso hardly affordable….

• Previous gen R6 cost rm 85k (brand new). This one definitively gonna cost much more if imported. Even the 2016 r1 cost rm 120k. A jump of almost 30k from the previous gen r1.

Zx636R although had some improvement from the previous zx6r, its still a good road & track bike. Surely better on road than the new r6.. R6 are know to get moving only when the revs are in the right spot. ZX636R has no such issues. Pin down the throtle at any rpm n u will have a surge in acceleration, even in the odd gear + speed combination.. BTW, i had a 2008 R6, n then updated to 2013 zx636r.. Nw sold it n riding a rsv4..

• Dennis Merrell on Jan 07, 2018 at 9:40 am

I can only say any of the modern day bikes are truly amazing back in my day I rode a 1979 Suzuki gs 1000 rated 80 hp it was a 2 valve motor dry weight 525 lbs top speed about 120 no faring what so ever the modern day r6 with 599cc engine had about 40 more hp and weighed about 175 lbs less tires suspension appearance any modern day bike today is so far ahead of the past how can anyone complain just pick your style ride and have fun

• eman oN on Jun 21, 2018 at 3:16 pm

There is no way this bike price will be in 6 figure. If so, ARE THEY CRAZY??!! Even a brand new ZX6R will cost around 63k. R6 has been a famous supersport bike but a big mistake not to officially import this bike, while people who want an R6 will stuck with their 2006-16 R6 that barely has electronic or riding aid (but still a good looking bike).