Bangkok 2017: Honda Civic Hatchback 1.5L Turbo

You’ve seen the new CR-V – the main event at Honda’s 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show (BIMS) booth – now let’s focus our attention on the 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback, which was launched earlier this month in Thailand. Like the folks at Honda Malaysia, their Thai counterparts must also think that rest is for the weak.

This is the five-door hatch version of the latest Civic FC, and it’s available here in a sole 1.5L Turbo CVT variant, priced at 1.169 million baht (RM149,620). The L15B7 turbo-four produces 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Unlike North America and Europe, there’s no six-speed manual option for Thailand. Paddle shifters, yes.

The Civic Hatchback’s styling is differentiated from the sedan with unique front and rear bumpers that have large, faux inlets and outlets, the latter of which is fitted with fog lamps. Meanwhile, the shortened rear hosts a tailgate and roof spoiler and C-shaped taillights. Too busy for me, like what you see?

Dimension wise, the hatchback shares the same width (1,798 mm) and wheelbase (2,700 mm) as the sedan, but it’s taller (+20 mm) and shorter by 112 mm. The hatchback also trades some rear passenger space for extra cargo room, where a claimed 727 litres is available with the rear seats up, against the booted car’s 519 litres. A temporary spare tyre is under the boot floor.

Standard kit include 17-inch alloys (with 215/50 tyres), LED headlights/DRLs/fog lamps, dual-zone air-con, a digital instrument panel, seven-inch touchscreen head unit (with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto), paddle shifters, multi-function steering wheel and black leather upholstery.

Also in are smart entry and push button start, remote engine start, cruise control, auto brake hold, 60:40 split-folding rear seats, reverse camera, and powered front seats. Safety-wise, the Civic Hatch comes with six airbags, VSA and Hill Start Assist.

Black Burgundy Night Pearl is the signature colour for the bodystyle, and it’s a 6,000 baht option. Also 6k baht dearer is Crystal Black Pearl, while the Orchid White Pearl hue you see here is a 10,000 baht option.

Honda is clearly trying to lure performance hatchback fans with this one, having placed a Volkswagen Scirocco as the villain in the Thai ad for the Civic Hatch. Want it in Malaysia?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rr on Mar 28, 2017 at 2:48 pm

I sure this model can kill easily Proton Suprima S..

• Tansri85 on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Suprima already died macha

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:41 pm

Why on earth is the double exhaust hidden? Why….oh why???

• Omg…the bumpers skirts spoilt the image of this car…yucks…puihhhh

• YeeHar Hwa on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Lol to suprima is dead by tansri85.
      Sadly have mo idea why Proton doesn’t offer their SuprimaS with 6-speeed MT unlike in Australia.

• ben yap on Mar 28, 2017 at 2:53 pm

the latest civic is one of the best cars made in the world, rivalling the italian cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • bunser on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Crab moving on road

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:52 pm

RM 1 = 7.78 thai Baht.
      RM keeps tumbling and is already among the world’s worst performing currencies, Malaysia facing a financial crisis. BNM announced youth unemployment rate 10.7% and March inflation exceeding eight year high!

How to buy Honda Civic Hatchback?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • ducatiscrambler on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:19 pm

I’m a sucker for hatchbacks. I don’t think they would land on our shores though

• no market here, malaysian ppl preference like US one. prefer sedan and auto. now slowly move to crossover..

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Hatchbacks don’t sell well in Malaysia. Malaysians prefer sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Civic sedan is better to look especially with four door coupe style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • But it is still welcome to Malaysia to address the civic sedan issue which is it cannot folded the rear seat for who search for the car with the practicality and high styling

• Megane on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:41 pm

The rear lights are ugly enough then add the super hedious bumper with silly large black accents . Bravo Honda ! Way to go man .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • You can always go to sunway or kedai ah beng to make new bumpers, even bumpers with 2 big nostrils olso you can have.

• Fenix on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Honda please improve your interior quality . The plastic looks and feels cheap , the interior design is messy and cluttered . Malaysians dapat Honda gila mcm beruk dapat pisang . lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • This civic is global car. So klau macem tu, sedunia lah yg dapat “Honda gila mcm beruk dapat pisang”. Bukan MY saje…

• Penolong kanan on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Diorang upgrade dari P1. Mesti la heppi beruk…hehwhwheew

• Fenix on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Haha baru nak kenal dunia . Just now I hopped into a Proton Saga Uber car . A young chap was telling me that his next target is Honda City . I asked why , he said ” More comfort and stability ” I almost died laughing.

• Hope Proton will re-badge this car as the new Proton Satria with the Earth Dream 1.5l Turbochargers engine and put the new 2.0l TGDI engine for the new R3 model

• Why tomyam Civic HB at 150k compared to MY civic sedan at 110k? Ini mesti salah… oh wait…

• passion on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:36 pm

the 1.5T is having lots of problems. have the issues been solved?

• Jonn Dol on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Styling-wise, as cliche as it might sound, is subjective. In Asian countries, the styling of the latest Civic Sedan is mostly well-received and considered head-turning. Whereas in Europe (which is the Hot Hatch Market of the World), the public mostly despised the styling especially the front face although some did actually admire it. But on handling & quality side the new Civic Hatch is a step above the previous model and commendable although still considered slightly inferior to their beloved VW Golf & Ford Fiesta….

• iampetergriffin on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:04 pm

Not Ford Fiesta, but the Ford Focus, particularly the RS model is beloved in Europe.

• Mikey on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Why is this Civic HB so expensive in Thailand ? At 1.169 million baht (RM149,620), M’sian can buy a bigger & better quality D-segment car.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:55 pm

What the heck those plastic grills are for at the back? Looks cheap.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Whats with people driving new Hondas? They think they’re owning God’s car or something. Big deal.. It is just a Honda. Honda powered McLaren Formula One also not so great

• hyundai90 on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:13 pm

front view-nice
    rear view-nice
    side view- not nice
    rims design- not nice
    engine bay- not nice
    interior- nice

• Suprima still a better buy

• Ploton satlia on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:30 pm

why all honda cars look funny now…they need to hire outside designer now like Hyendei and qia…

• Ploton satlia on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:42 pm

That front and back bumper f@$%ing ugly!! who design that… better create functioning design like audi and volkswagen always do. Practical, smart, simple and functioning.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:40 pm

i like hatchbacks but this isnt one of them

• tkhengong on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm

In my opinion, the rear is over done and the dashboard so understated in styling it looked dated; not the typical Honda dashboard that I have come to expect. I think I will take the forthcoming all-new Subaru XV anytime.

• gti owner on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Is it this car which make VW Scirocco “Chased” very hard?

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:25 pm

I like the hatchback more than the sedan. Boot space is more versatile as you can load stuff to the roof and the rear seats can be folded. And the rear parcel shelf design is very practical too as it can be rolled up and literally stored below the boot floor. So it does not take up much space. Brilliant packaging as always from Honda. But those rims are not good looking to these eyes. The North American Hatchback Sport model has some cool 18 inch rims and central twin exhaust – which are not just for aesthetics as they actually increase power.

• gravatar on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:53 pm

dunno if can get used to the holy bits on the bumper

• gravatar on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:53 pm

dunno if can get used to the holey bits on the bumper

• Tansri85 on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Suprima already died macha

• markgoh on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:54 pm

VW behind the Civic…

• Golfer on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Is it me or this hatch looks fugly. Sedan looks better.

• gigi kuning on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Fake front bumper vents…
    Fake rear bumper vents….

Only appeals to Ah Beng drivers…..

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 4:02 am

Everything fake… it looks terrible, and who is going to be fooled anyway? What a wannabe. If they’d remove the fake bits up front, smoothen it out, paint it, the car would look much better. It would look wider too, which means it’d look sportier.

• YeeHar Hwa on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:35 pm

For a performance hatchback, I would like to suggest Honda Malaysia to bring in the six-speed manual variant. I knew the difficulty to drive a stick in a jam, but why not make a significant different with the hatchback and the sedan version clearly? It’s also great to letting the hot stick fans to have a excellent spiritual stick drive on an affordable, brand new, japanese hatchback around here. We should encourage the teenager to drive with 3pedals, we shouldn’t let the stick spirit to fade out. It’s just my humble opinion. Hopefully Honda malaysia will hear the voice of the fans of stick drive.
    P/s: Even UMWT is eliminating M/T variants for their Vios, and hence we(stickdrivers) have lost one more stick to drive with. What a sad news.

• vtec turbo on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:35 pm

please bring the civic type R!!!

• Jeffkl on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:29 pm

Kampung design for kampung ah being folks