Modenas confirms Bajaj Auto of India collaboration

After speculation that Malaysian motorcycle manufacturer Motosikal Dan Enjin Nasional (Modenas) would be tying up with a new strategic partner, it has now been confirmed that it will be collaborating with Bajaj Auto of India. This is part of Modenas plan to strengthen the brand and capture a larger share of the small motorcycle market in Malaysia.

The collaboration will take place in stages, and includes distribution and technology transfer through the development of a dedicated assembly hub in Modenas’ plant in Gurun, Kedah. Future plans for the strategic partnership include penetrating international markets, such as Asean and beyond.

“The cooperation is in line with our aspiration to strengthen Modenas as a whole, by offering a wider range for motorcycle enthusiast,” said Datuk Sri Syed Faisal Albar, DRB-Hicom group managing director. “The local market was very receptive to the Modenas joint venture with Kymco in the scooter segment, and the company is ready to embark into a more aggressive market, which is the street bike segment. With Bajaj as our partner, we now have a new segment we can cater to,” he explained.

Bajaj Auto of India is the world’s sixth-largest manufacturer of motorcycles and the second-largest in India, with a market capitalisation of USD 9.5 billion (RM41.88 billion).

“There is no doubt that BAL has the experience and technological know-how for this segment. The Bajaj models we are looking to introduce into Malaysia in the coming months have proven themselves globally, and we believe this will be replicated in Malaysia too,” said Syed Faisal.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• incoming Krissatria Bajaj Hitam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • John Geli on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:53 pm

Proton better partnership with Tata India also.

• Sama L00 on Apr 19, 2017 at 1:28 pm

No matter how good/cheap your bike is, you still need to wait under the bridge during raining. Get a car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
      • Dangerous bro… later prototn nona in production for next 20 yrs as to keep promise of 30% price reduction… then mati oi….

• Papa G on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:24 am

Please Modenas, Bajaj has a lot of sub 250cc bikes that you can learn on

Plus, they also have the expertise in manufacturing KTM as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • I’m pretty sure they’ve already thought about that in the first place before partners with bajaj. They’re not stupid, you know

• Sub_zero on Apr 21, 2017 at 9:25 pm

Which indirect affect the current deal with local assembler

Stick to bajaj no need kepoh with ktm

• Maria on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:01 pm

At least Modenas has better effort than Proton that keep syiok sendiri…Good luck Modenas..Hopefully they they can made Yamaha Y15ZR rival ASAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • No they dun. Modenas have been fading in and out of market for some time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sub_zero on Apr 21, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Topkek

Modenas has better effort? You hit your head somewhere? Or did you lose some chromesome? At the very least proton has MUCH more effort done by localizing

But modenas? Same shit every year and then rebadged when shit get to hot

You really need to learn more before spouting nonsense

• Meanwhile P1 pending still.
    Nasi lemak besok lusa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • wawasan2020 on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:57 pm

cant wait to see modenas shows in bollywood film.

• 1st customer shud be PDRM.
      In kariland, the polis rides into the scene, hops of the bike while riding, takes down bad guys while bike continues moving upright, then the polis hops back onto the bike after bad guys r down.

• Both modenas and proton owned by DRB Group ..so there is no issue whose better either proton or modenas

• Commentor A on Apr 19, 2017 at 4:27 pm

So easy to be modenas.

Step 1. Bring in the Bajaj Dominar 400
    Step 2. Change the price tag from RM10k to RM12k
    Step 3. ???
    Step 4. Profit!

• I want the Bajaj Invincible 150cc. Nevertheless, the easy rider pictured is good too.

• Mohamad Syukri bin Mohamad on Apr 20, 2017 at 11:04 am

Isn’t that a Modenas Jaguh?
      175cc power than 150cc

• no problem on Apr 20, 2017 at 3:08 am

bajaj pun bajaj lah. tak kisah india ka apa. yg penting partner mesti ada. jgn dok jadi hero lone ranger mcm proton. bersama berjuang berpadu tenaga!

• Sub_zero on Apr 21, 2017 at 9:32 pm

Kek

Typical malaysian mentality

Both company under drb hicom

So what the hell is lone ranger? If modenas bungkus also effect proton and so is otherwise

Your opinion must come from some puddle of turd and drag to even make it in this comment section is very concerning

• Ootai on Apr 21, 2017 at 8:07 pm

What happen to collaboration with Kawas, koreans and taiwanese?? Ha.. Ha. Not getting any breakthrough?? Which market are you targeting, modenas. If you are targetting local, then you are just like P1. Are you counting days?? Where is your 150cc coming out??