2017 Honda Wave 125i released – RM6,263 for single disc brake model, RM6,549 for front and rear discs

Malaysian distributor for Honda motorcycles, Boon Siew Honda, has announced the release of the 2017 Honda Wave 125i. Targetted at the premium end of the underbone (kapchai) market, the Wave 125i retails at RM6,263 for the single front disc brake model, while the front and rear-disc version of the Wave 125i retails at RM6,549, with prices including GST, but excluding road tax, insurance and registration.

New for 2017 are the rear tail-lights and turn indicators integrated as a single unit. This should please local riders who claimed current Honda design for rear lights with separate turn signals on stalks was less than aesthetically pleasing.

Powered by a single-cylinder four-stroke air-cooled 124.9 cc power plant, the Wave 125i is fed by Honda’s PGM-Fi. Producing 9 hp at 7,500 rpm and 10 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm, power for the Wave 125i gets to the ground via a four-speed centrifugal clutch automatic gearbox, with chain final drive.

Storage space under the seat is a generous 18-litres, sufficient to swallow a full-face helmet. Fuel is carried under the seat in a 5.4-litre tank, and weight claimed to be 105 kg for the single-disc Wave 125i, while the dual-disc model weighs in at 2 kg more.

Classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) with the Road Transport Department (JPJ), Honda claims the Wave 125i can go 300 km between fuel stops, based on ECE R40 standard testing. Three colours are available for the 2017 Honda Wave 125i – Candy Scintillate Red, Pearl Nightfall Blue and Sword Silver Metallic.

Purchasers of the 2017 Honda Wave 125i will enjoy a two-year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty with an additional one year or 10,000 km extended warranty for the engine. The Wave 125i is available from tomorrow at all authorised Boon Siew Honda dealers.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• The Benchmark has Arrive !

• donno on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:17 pm

So it is no longer called the Honda Future??

• Donno on Apr 27, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Basically the only thing that is all new about this motorcycle is the name. Even that is a recycle from the old days. This is the old Honda Future with a different name.

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:44 pm

RM6500 is too pricey for the lower income. This is absurd. Prices need to come down.

Few years ago, can get a good motor for RM3500. But every year, it keeps going higher and higher.

Ministers cannot understand the sufferings of the lower income as they are flooded with millions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 23
    • Borsan on Apr 27, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Free kapcai petrol so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Dono todo on Apr 27, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Yeah….I support 0% gst on 250cc and less…too much for 125cc kapchai….btw…name Future doesn’t exist anymore….that bodykit must been imported from vietnam…..

• 6% is not a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
        • Mikey on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:21 am

6% of 5,000 = 300 ringgit. That is few months of petrol for KapCai. If U want 2 contribute 2 the Gov coffer, go ahead. Only fools say its not a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Ootai on Apr 27, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Ministers don’t ride kapcai. Their offspring ride superbike and fast cars. Ministers shake poor man’s hand when needed. Poor man laden with debt until retire, or maybe not. Buy 2nd hand lo. Give comrade workshop some business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Din read did yeah? This is premium kapcai. Cheaper cubs can be had for Rm4000. But I guess ur level only can afford 2nd hand EX5. So dun be snobbish and make demands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Ben Yap on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:48 pm

kapchai RM6.5K is cheap. Just look at kesas highway, so many cyclists is cycling almost RM10K carbon road bikes.

any bikes below RM10K is affordable to many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • Dogbert on Apr 28, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Cyclist who owns 10K carbon road bikes are not targeted market segment for kapchais

• Archenemy on Jul 01, 2017 at 8:45 am

RM6.5K is not cheap for low income. Monthly payment almost rm200/monthly for 5years.

• Fizah on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:16 am

How to find the cover set for this honda wave 125i? I’d had an accident and its been 2 month but my motocyle still at workshop b”coz there no coverset here

• Yang mahal on Nov 18, 2017 at 4:45 pm

Ask Honda dealer, workshop cannot get

• Michelin on Apr 28, 2017 at 4:44 pm

There is always modenas MR2, bro

• awang on May 02, 2017 at 12:27 pm

semua motor pon korang cakap mahal. ni lah orang malaysia. buat malu je. entah2 kalau rm1 pon cakap mahal. kedekut nak mampus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Maria on Apr 27, 2017 at 1:08 pm

It is Honda Future with new wave name?? The old future comes with led rear light but how come nowdays it use bulb and the price is too steep.. I think Boon Siew need to retired from being local distributer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Muthusammy Loo on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:31 pm

that kind of price, more and more bikers will go for nYamahai as their 2 wheel transportation mode.

• Mystvearn on Apr 27, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Looks like Honda future

• BbalingBiru on Apr 27, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Now getting back the integrated signal lamp. GOOD! That’s the right way.

• Papa G on Apr 27, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Its spec is too close to Honda Future….

• hoyhoysum on May 27, 2017 at 6:42 pm

I have check it looks the same in every aspect, except the rear brake lights is different. Name is different allrite.

• Yamaha on Apr 27, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Overpriced honda future? I’m waiting for new yamaha 115cc / 125cc better.

• i thought dedicated signal stalk is needed to follow the regulation, no?

• In order to meet current ECE Regulations for lights installation, actually the construction of the turn signal doesn’t matter as long as the distance between illuminating surface of left and right hand side of the signal is at least 180 mm or more. So, they can either be split and combi type. Also as components, they need to comply to specific photometric performance which will entitle the parts to have ‘e’ marks embossed on the lens.

• HondaCub Rider on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Better use 6.5k to buy a 2nd hand perodua Kancil……

No worries when rain or hot days. Can bring luggage and shopping for grocery. Also can jalan-jalan with girlfren, with comfy of a/c in the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • hoyhoysum on May 27, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Foolish talk, one is a screwdriver and the other one is a hammer. Is both the tool the same? Is the kapchai and mini car the same. Can your mini car squeeze through the traffic? Can your mini car travel on motorcycle lane. Can your park free in let station?

• Kapcai biker on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:27 pm

But what 4 wheels can’t do is, escape from the jamme ….thats the other reason why people chose kapcai…huhu

• Shame on you honda malaysia. You should compete with others not stay put. Why produce the same machine? Your honda future also is far away from future. Shame!

• where gone CBR250RR???
    hayoo.. waiting too long oledi laa

• Honda Future owner... on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:11 am

These is the same Honda Future….Not a new model…:(

• Hezry on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:04 am

It looks identical..but underneath both kapchais are different. Future have 125cc with traditional carburetor, but new wave 125 have fuel injection. Future got slightly more power + slightly thirsty. Wave 125 is less power but high fuel efficiency

• Honda Wave 125i memang mahal dan pohon kaji semula harga berkenaan.

• yo bro on Oct 13, 2018 at 3:55 am

Anyone have workshop manual for this motorcycle? Thanks!