VIDEO: Porsche 911 – from one to 1,000,000 units

Porsche recently hit a significant milestone with the production of its one millionth 911, and has now released a “through the years” video, which chronicles the first to the latest generation of the iconic sports car.

Developed to be the successor to the 356, the first 911 made its public debut at the 1963 Frankfurt Motor Show, where it was originally designated as the 901 (its internal project number). However, for its market launch in 1964, the model was renamed the 911, and early editions came with an air-cooled 2.0 litre flat-six cylinder engine (128 hp).

In the years following its release, the original 911 received plenty of revisions and enhancement (from A to F Series), including more powerful engines and chassis improvements. By the end of its production run, 81,100 units were produced.

The 911’s first thorough makeover came in 1973 with the G Series, which featured front and back impact bumpers (for safety regulations) and a larger 2.7 litre engine. It was produced from 1973 to 1989, longer than any other 911 generation, and saw 198,414 units being made.

In 1989, the 911 Type 964 broke cover with the launch of the Carrera 4, marking the first time all-wheel drive was made available for the sports car. It also came with a much larger air-cooled 3.6 litre flat-six cylinder engine that can be had with a Tiptronic automatic transmission. Compared to its predecessor, the Type 964 platform featured 85% new component, but only 74,008 units were produced.

Following this, Porsche released the 911 Type 993 in 1993 that was the first to be equipped with a biturbo engine. It also featured extensive use of aluminium in its construction, including for the newly-designed chassis and hollow-spoke wheels. In this iteration, 67,535 units were made.

The 911 Type 996 arrived in 1998, which saw Porsche shift from air-cooled to water-cooled engines. This major turning point in the sports car’s history was also accompanied by redesign of the body shell by Pinky Lai, which resulted in the model winning numerous design awards. New variations like the 911 GT3 and 911 GT2 were also introduced with the Type 996, and 179,163 examples were made by the end of its production run.

VIDEO: Porsche 911 – from one to 1,000,000 units

Replacing the Type 996 was the Type 997 in 2005, which saw a revision to the 911’s styling, most notably by the bug-eye headlights, a visual return to older 911 models. Improvements to this generation in 2008 saw the addition of direct fuel injection and a double-clutch transmission to its powertrains. A total of 24 model variants (Carrera, Targa, Cabriolet, GTS, etc.) were associated with the Type 997, which currently has the most number of units produced at 215,092.

Finally, we arrive at the latest – the Type 991 – first introduced in 2012. The Type 991 came with an entirely new platform, only the third since the original 911 and the Type 996. Michael Mauer is the man behind the evolutionary design you see today, including the facelifted range in 2015.

Said facelift saw a shake up to the engine line-up, where the 3.4 (Carrera) and 3.8 litre (Carrera S) engines were replaced with a new 3.0 litre biturbo flat-six cylinder engine, the first time standard Carrera models was fitted with turbocharged engines rather than naturally aspirated ones. Until the end of the 2016 model year, 152,659 units of Type 991 have been produced.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pinky on May 22, 2017 at 2:40 pm

To the next million & beyond!

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 22, 2017 at 3:03 pm

wow, what a great car. No wonder Germans are proud of their cars. They work hard.

• 2fast on May 22, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Germans are smart & work hard. just like the Japanese & chinese.

• 1st time ur comment made any reasonable sense. I knew u cud do it. Bravo!

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 22, 2017 at 5:21 pm

when you work hard you will succeed always. When you relax and lepak whole day, you cannot achieve much in life.

• So true so true. Thats why i tells, u must work harder and stop complaining. Dun be lazy. Then ur life will be more positive

• Deswai Dun be lazy. Gips 2tone Iriz kira facelift alr

• Lcians on May 22, 2017 at 3:24 pm

people that this car drives well and yes it is but theres a major drawback….its safety…one bang u instantly die

• Aiman A. on May 22, 2017 at 3:36 pm

What’s the figure if you include the original 911, the Beetle?

• Ex-VGM staff on May 22, 2017 at 3:45 pm

And I am quoting Jeremy Clarkson here. There is a new 911 model and it looks exactly the same as the one before. And the one one before. In fact, all the 911 looks the same. And underneath it is essentially a Volkswagen beetle

• Mikey on May 22, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Yes, U & JK are right. The 911 is essentially a Beetle, a Very FAST Beetle if I may say. In fact the Beetle is so fast that it runs Ring around many fast cars that will embarrass even JK.

• Kasutpinjam on May 23, 2017 at 2:32 am

And, Jeremy Clarkson is a Porsche fanatics

• Mikey on May 22, 2017 at 3:47 pm

What is the “main” difference between the 1st generation 911 & the current 911??

1) Normally Aspirated engine only for 1st generation while the latest have NA & Turbo plus 4WD.

2) The Car have grown in size, more comfortable with increased tech to make the car easier to drive to cope with increase in power not to mention much faster.

3) The size of the wheels have grown & the engine used to be Air-cooled too.

All in all, its still pretty much a “Boxer” engine that is located at the back of the car.

• 4G63T DSM on May 22, 2017 at 8:35 pm

“In 1989, the 911 Type 964 broke cover with the launch of the Carrera 4, marking the first time all-wheel drive was made available for the sports car.”

I always thought the 1986 959 was the first “911” or a sports car to have all wheel drive.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2017 at 1:02 am

they all look the same