BMW Concept 8 Series shown – production in 2018

After years and years of rumours, spyshots and leaked images, Munich’s long-awaited flagship luxury coupé has finally come to be. The BMW Concept 8 Series revives an iconic nameplate that has sat dormant ever since the original E31 last rolled off the production line in 1999, and previews a production model that is set to go on sale next year.

It’s certainly a more expressive design than what we’ve come to expect from BMW, with a broad, low stance and large, sweeping surfaces. The imposing front end is dominated by the massive double kidney grille conjoined by a chrome frame and featuring a more dynamic trapezoidal shape.

Meanwhile, the slim headlights with hexagonal corona rings give it a focused look, while the large side air intakes underneath them – flanking a carbon fibre front splitter – emphasise the car’s width and provide plenty of aggression. Along the sides, there are deep cuts within the doors that flow from the Air Breather vents aft of the front wheels, and the pronounced rear fender line adds definition and muscle.

The line that forms over the typical BMW long bonnet flows over the tapered, low-slung glasshouse towards the rear, where it is cut off by a dramatic upswept rear deck – under which sit blade-like L-shaped tail lights. Large vents here mirror those at the front, and there’s also a carbon fibre rear diffuser incorporating the twin exhaust outlets. Sizeable 21-inch wheels and special Barcelona Grey Liquid paint complete the look.

Inside, there’s a familiar driver-focused cockpit upholstered in Dark Brown and Fjord White Merino leather, with a tall centre console and low dashboard providing a snug feel. The slim sports seats feature carbon fibre shells, and the race-style steering wheel gets hand-polished aluminium spokes and red anodised paddle shifters. Adding a luxurious touch are the faceted gearlever and Swarovski glass iDrive controller.

No technical details have been revealed so far, but expect the production 8 Series to be based on the modular Cluster Architecture (CLAR), which uses lightweight materials such as aluminium, magnesium and – in the case of the 7 Series – carbon fibre in order to reduce weight.

Also expect the engine lineup to match the 7 Series’, with straight-six, V8 and V12 turbocharged mills in either petrol or diesel forms. A high-performance M8 will likely be introduced as well, powered by the M5‘s 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 producing around 600 hp and over 700 Nm – sent to all four wheels via an eight-speed M Steptronic automatic transmission and M xDrive all-wheel drive.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BMW 850 to me… is still one of the sexiest sport cars alive!

• heybadigol (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 11:16 am

Agreed. The old 8 Series looks better than even this concept. Saw one a few weeks back, still looks good.

• Alex (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 7:48 pm

The 850CSi is damn sexy alright…

• Mikey on May 26, 2017 at 9:09 am

This is a Luxury Flagship worthy to be praised. A true gentlemen Grand Coupe that have EVERYTHING U every conceivably can imagine.

This will be a worthy successor/replacement to the iconic 850i. Expect nothing less than the best from BMW here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 26, 2017 at 10:56 am

Grand coupe??? Check your fact…its a coupe..only 6 series has a grand coupe…the 6 seties coupe has been discontinued…

• Bashers only need “cave facts”. Real world is just an inconvenience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Mikey on May 26, 2017 at 12:51 pm

To AF, U may be right here. I like to call this GRAND bcos I’m writing. If I want to call this a Sports coupe or something else, what is the problem? Did I step on your Tail!

When U said “Check your fact”, U are being ARROGANT & sound like an OXYMORON who think he knows everything. U sure U did NOT make a mistake in your comment B4.

There is a fine line between replying my comment & insulting. Lets see if U have the gumption to write something better than what has been written.

If I were to point out that your wrong spelling on your 6 “seties” coupe, how do U feel now?

& john, I know U are reading this. Don’t hide behind someone/something when U are commenting. It shows U are a coward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • At least i dun try to hide behind other dupes.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 26, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Of course im right…always…any problem with that…ahaks..btw..the 8 series is still a coupe no matter what you call it…

• BringThePain on May 26, 2017 at 2:29 pm

You guys need to calm tf down

• Mikey on May 26, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Thanks BringThePain . U are right. It’s Not worth the trouble or anger. Cheers..

• Shiny Adamantium metal teeth.

• Hastag NoToUglyKidneyGrilles on May 26, 2017 at 10:08 am

Everything looks great EXCEPT for the kidney grilles. Why can t BMW ever get the face spot on, the screwed up with the 6 series as well but this one takes the cake man , yuck for the grilles seriously!

• Jimmy on May 26, 2017 at 10:21 pm

Does the grill look good?

• Lexus better start pushing those LC500 off d shelves before this arrives

shove d lfa v10 for an LCF