VIDEO: Hyundai Kona previewed in several videos

Hyundai has yet to reveal the all-new Kona, and to ensure it retains the attention of the public, its South Korean division has released a slew of videos featuring the upcoming compact SUV.

Unfortunately, you won’t get to see the Kona in its entirety here, but we’ve already seen the vehicle ahead of its planned debut thanks to previous spyshots by autoweek.nl. From the looks of it, the design of the Kona is no doubt funky, and certainly a standout from Hyundai’s other models.

In other videos, Hyundai attempts to explain (in Korean) how the Kona will “break the mould” in the SUV segment, as well as take us on a trip to Hawaii. If you didn’t already know, the SUV gets is name from the Kona district on the Big Island of Hawaii, reflecting the island’s energetic image and unique lifestyle.

When it makes its debut, the Kona will compete against the likes of the Nissan Juke, Renault Captur, Peugeot 2008, Toyota C-HR and Mazda CX-3. It should be underpinned by the same platform as the Creta (and i20), with a range of diesel and petrol engines available.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kona masuk konar masuk longkang kat kornar krana no feeling steering takbleh korna baik baik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
  • Kunta Lietalk on May 26, 2017 at 10:55 am

Price below RM150k please

• immaP1fanbuoi on May 26, 2017 at 11:20 am

Proton Boleh/Boyue > all

• Maria on May 26, 2017 at 11:29 am

Hyundai, Please Kona this car to Malaysia..I’m sick with lot of HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 26, 2017 at 11:30 am

Amazing how Hyundai just started 10 years earlier can sell 8 million cars globally and Proton can only sell 50,000 cars locally. And that also, 90% ordered by Government departments as a sedekah to help proton out.

Kona will sell well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • 2 words: Market volume

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Globe on May 26, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Proton not global car meh?

2 words: No buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Since when? Its only sold to few markets.
          More important home market must have sufficient pipu for market volume.
          Facts.
          Kimchi: 76.5 mil pipu
          MY: 31 mil pipu

So again. Market volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Globe on May 26, 2017 at 8:11 pm

U only provide half true fact. Do u think all 76.5M Kimchi or 31M MY pipu buy cars? If there are no buyers, the company can’t be profitable.

This is fact

• U telling me 15% of 76.5M is same same as 15% of 31M?

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 26, 2017 at 8:17 pm

But Iriz was known as GSC before it was launched. Global Small Car. So we also global mah….oh wai oh wai oh wai!

• That was the term for the Giugiaro(?) small concept car that Iriz was based on. Engineering realities & real world costings dictates that concept being localised to non-NA marketed car which is the Iriz.

• they really put effort on advertising this product~ our car maker should learn on this~

• Henry on May 26, 2017 at 12:21 pm

There is a mountain bike of the same name ~ Kona. I own one.

• Much much much much much better looking than the weird looking “T” CH-R. Opps, RV more important

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 31, 2017 at 12:53 am

dono how they ever gonna knock off the chr hrv and cx3 off the perch