Could this be the next-generation Toyota Vios we see here, spotted testing in Thailand? Photographed by a Headlight Magazine community forum member, the images show a disguised B-segment sedan and hatchback in separate sightings.
Here, what’s anticipated to be the upcoming Yaris Sedan for the Thai market appears to adopt a look which rather resembles the Corolla Altis in its headlamps and tail lights, from what can be approximated through the camouflage. A shark-fin antenna sit atop the roof on both sedan and hatch test mules, replacing the pole unit on the existing model.
On both sedan and hatch, the C-pillar window kink is now slanted forwards slightly. The sedan mule gets a rectangular fuel filler flap compared to the current car’s round item, while the hatchback retains the round fuel flap, and now appears to adopt a split-tail lamp cluster arrangement.
According to the forum post, the upcoming Yaris Sedan is expected to make its Thai market debut in the second quarter of 2017 (which is very soon), with the accompanying hatchback expected to follow later on in the third or fourth quarter this year.
Under the hood, the next Thai-market Yaris Sedan/Vios is tipped to house the 3NR-FE petrol 1,197 cc inline-four engine (to get Thailand’s eco car tax incentives) with Dual VVT-i, producing 86 hp at 6,000 rpm and 108 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, driving the front axle via a continuously variable transmission.
This unit is perhaps unlikely to feature in the future Malaysian-market Vios, which should retain its current 1.5 litre engine – updated to a new Dual VVT-i unit last year.
GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Vios 1.5 GX
Too late for ultraman come rescue toyota. CEO later says loyal ASEAN sheeps no longer loyal anymore, maybe cuz alwiz early afterlife making that loyal numbers dwindling.
Too late for Toyota but Proton have future? aaahahahhahaha
P1 ada big bro China. Toyota mana?
Big bro apa? Berapa unit yang terjual oleh big bro di Malaysia?
Got turbo? No turbo no buy
Big bro also cares about Lotus to enhance Volvo’s handling while Proton is let to rot under DRB
Toyota stand on its two feet unlike beggar Proton
The why toyota oso need Billions donation from jepunis taxpayer?
Still got bailed out for billions
The difference is Toyota repay its own loan unlike Proton that needs others like China and Rakyat to settle its loan
Our Toyota is making profit billions USD while the leech-alike Proton is asking soft loan in billions MYR. See the differences?
Toyota still has a large footprint in ASEAN, in particular Thailand and Indonesia.
Toyota is oso losing sales in tomyam, and only their MPVs r hot in indomee but that’s whittling down by other brands.
Testing here testing there. Why need to wait for matt damon coming back from mars? Just launch it already la
Why copy here and there and kowtow to Abang john?
It’s about time UMW/Toyo bring in the latest Vios to replace the old but reliable workhorse.
It’s your bread & butter for heaven sake so do not disappoint your Toyo die-hard fans.
It will be Gud to give softer plastics like what is in the Mazda2.
Not only about softer plastic dashboard. I still remember when i drove the current generation of Vios, the sound proof was so pathetic. When it rains heavily, I can hear every drop of rain like its falling on a hollow zinc roof. Door and fender also lack sound proof, it sounds so hollow when you do a gentle knock at it.
Toyota found cheap way to advertise their junk cars
Still better than advertising Proton begging from China
It is news not cheapo junk toyota ads
I believe toyota will come back. Hopefully the vios is a start. I believe such a large organization will not lie down and allow themselves to be steam rolled
Nokia was oso thought too big to die. But the took their customer base for granted and sold old tech at hi price. Deswai it died.
As long as the trend doesnt shift to driverless cars or the next big thing soon,i think most automotive giants will have a fighting chance.
Nokia case was that the market shifted
Toyota was No.2, now its No.4. The market has alredi shifted.
In Malaysia, Toyota was No. 4 and now No. 3. Yea, the market shifted
Surprisingly Nokia is not dead. Dig deeper and you will find that they dont bother abt the smartphone market. They hold the tech behind communication. Basically Nokia is stil involved in out everyday telecommunication without we even knowing.
Nokia spun off their telco equipment maker long b4 died. Its a diff entity and same same in name only. The true handpong maker got absorb into Microsoft and now kolos shop alredi. The current one making cheap pongs bought naming rights but again diff company. Nokia, as what we knows from ori 3310, is dead.
Macam cantik silhouette nye
Proton Persona copycat.
Toyota Corporation, get rid of your sole distributor strategy here. Open direct office but appoint multiple 3S distributor (like what Honda did).
Your current predicament is exactly what Honda faced during the final tenure of Kah Motors. Only when they terminated Kah Motors, open direct office, appointed multiple 3S distributors & have control over product choice, sales & marketing strategy, did they see increase in sales.
Look at Honda brand today. #1 in non national car. #2 in passenger car. YTD April 2017 Passenger car, Honda vs Toyota is 34K vs 16K. That’s 2.125 times more!!!
Get rid of your sole distributor strategy. History has proven your competitors correct. Do the right thing.
Looks like another facelift from the pics. Just a change of front and back lights, and UMW will say it’s a new Vios. Boring!!!
From wheelbase we’ll know whether it new chassis or gonna be 20 years old chassis. By then, can kubur vios alredi
Launch a manual version and a racing strips and it will sell like hot cake. Could be a game changing car.
How to survive when target customer market only in Puchong and Penang?
Manual version will sell like hot cake… You can keep on dreaming unless those problematic and unqualified to drive motorists pulled off from the road and dragged into Kamunting/Simpang Renggam detention center.
Yeah like in racing games if got totaled can replace new car, it is kerata pakai buang
Toyota is most reliable brand at most endurance environment like sub Sahara and desert. I used to work in north Africa and use Toyota LC 4WD very reliable strong and robust. In fact Toyota was dominant 90% all 4WD there and very hard to find others. I asked them why Toyota they said they only truth it other is always trouble an give them headache.
Hilux (Vigo) also reliable, strong & robust. Every contractor dream workhorse. Even Msia military has bought Weststar GK-M1 Rapid Rover 4×4 which is based on Hilux chassis, to be based platform for Thales Starstreak VSHORAD missile system. Which goes to say Toyota has build a strong platform for Hilux.
However, passenger cars is a different ball game. They’ve been steadily losing market share here. Something needs to be done to rectify this.
Same strategy here…DRB-Honda in Pagoh, UMW-Toyota in Bkt Raja. So Hold your horses…
Youd probably get a very good deal for the Vios now at showrooms.. :D
New launch diskaun 7k. KK told me in private when he crying.
This is because new launch is repackage of unsold models.
Vios will only be relevant when they have LKAS (lane keep assist), BSD (bind spot display), SACC (smart auto cruise control), LWD (lane departure warning) and AEB. Don’t forget 6airbags, ABS, VSC.
wah….. god car… need testing. is it not.made in.heaven?
Godcar shud learn a thing or 2 about car making from my P2. We straight sell prototypes in showrooms.
Basher said even its camo is nicer than P1. Camo? Serious?
Where? Pls point it out
You must be a noob and spoon-fed person