30 years of the Honda EX5 in Malaysia – from RM4,906

After 30 years, the Honda EX5 has become a permanent fixture of the Malaysian motorcycling scene, with many riders getting their first taste of powered two-wheeling on a Honda Cub. First introduced to the Malaysian market in 1987, the Honda EX5 has sold more than two million units locally since its debut.

This is a drop in the bucket compared to the estimated 100 million units of the Honda Cub sold worldwide since 1958. The event is being commemorated by Honda with a LoveCubSnap site where Honda Cub fans can post pics of themselves and their Cubs.

Powered by a air-cooled, single-cylinder, OHC engine that displaces 109.17 cc, the Honda EX5 is claimed to produce 8.35 hp at 7,500 rpm and 8.4 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. Power gets to the ground via four-speed constant mesh gearbox with wet centifugal clutch.

With drum brakes front and rear, the Honda EX5 Dream Fi weighs in at 98 kg, while the addition of an electric starter adds another kilogram. The EX5 also comes with Honda’s PGM-Fi and fuel is carried in a 4.3-litre tank.

For 2017, three versions of the Honda EX5 Dream Fi are available. These are the base model RM4,906.74 Honda EX5 Dream Fi with kickstart and spoke wheels, and the electric start version with spoke and cast wheels at RM5,150.54 and RM5,404.94, respectively.

There are three main colour options for the 2017 Honda EX5 Dream Fi – Marianna Purple Metallic, Candy Scintillate Red, Pearl Nightfall Blue – and a special cast wheel wheel version in Pearl Magellanic Black. All prices include GST, but exclude registration, insurance and road tax.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Matchy on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:46 am

5k for EX5… I think that is a bit overpriced/expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • kapchai on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:05 am

Try going to buy a new bicycle to day and see how much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • polla on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:12 am

Roti canai kosong up from 40sen/pc in 1987 to RM2/pc today. That’s 5 times and you still think RM5k is BIG???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
      • wawasan2020 on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:58 am

mana mamak jual roti kosong rm2 ? u kena con la bro. masih tak sedar-sedar lagi banyak tahun kena con. tukar mamak laaaaaa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
      • U makan roti canai tu kat mana? Marriott ke Grand Continental?

• Sub_zero on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:06 pm

lol you got con

Silly basher willing to go low to justify his already half baked opinion

• Ben Yap on Jun 09, 2017 at 12:09 pm

RM5k for a motorbike is dirt cheap la….

my cervelo cost almost 6 times the price of an EX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • Mikey on Jun 09, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Chukur, it’s “only” US 1,173.70 That’s dirt cheap if U earn US dollar. It’s expensive for B40 people who “Kais Pagi Makan Pagi”.

• U need to earn USD to buy EX5? Srsly? Then u need to buy 2nd hand lol

• Sub_zero on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:08 pm

What the hell that’s like almost 250cc price

Bicycle > motorcycle

• Woot!! Time for KK to proud with his 2nd hand EX5

• v-tec fan on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:49 pm

EX5… what a nostalgic. My 1st bike when it was past on to me by my father. It never let me down during my sekolah menengah time. what a good bike.

• Amer Mohamad Ali on Jun 10, 2017 at 7:19 am

1993 the year for my late father EX5. I’m still using it now. Still got the umph power. 140km/h no sweat lah. :p

• dreamchaser3456 on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:13 pm

my feedback after owning this new Ex5 PGFI since May 2017:
    1) should have 5 speed
    2) absorber teruk lah
    3) highest speed can go 120km/h tapi goyang kena tolak angin
    4) at fullspeed, gegaran mcm gempabumi 7 scala richter
    5) rm5000 is relatively expensive considering only few improvement only, i expect 5 speed with dual disc brake, 120cc or more

tapi persepsi Honda ni bagus tahan lama..,,just sold my old honda cup70 to get this new ex5 cash purchase.

• roger loo on Nov 06, 2017 at 8:50 am

cruising speed is 20km/hr less than yamaha lagenda. indicator meter & light is the most ugly, cheap orange colour dial looks & no meaning. strong vibration start at 63km/hr. really regret buying 2017 ex5. gear shift up jerk & loud knock sound. bike stop gear cannot shift down. full time crap