Deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi has revealed about 100 Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras will be installed nationwide next year. In a report by Bernama, he said the cameras will be installed at strategic locations, including along highways and federal roads.
The move is to ensure motorists comply with traffic rules, and to help reduce the country’s road accident rate. “The AES cameras will be added as we are targeting a 50% reduction in the accident rate by 2020, as per an international agreement,” said Ab Aziz, adding that there are currently about 50 AES cameras installed nationwide.
As part of the Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 plan by the World Health Organisation (WHO), participating countries have been urged to reduce their accident rates by 50% by 2020. In 2016, Malaysia recorded 521,466 road accidents and 7,152 road deaths, according to data by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).
“The AES is the best method since it is impartial. The cameras do not recognise people and will record all vehicles,” said Ab Aziz.
Saman the rich & those bodo enuff to flout laws
Even 1000 AES also no point. When you go to balai to pay, so many officers approach the offender to go to back room to pay RM30 to RM50 to make the saman disappear legally.
So why even put more AES?
Still need to pay, right? So if 1 AES is Rm300 while 1 kopi is Rm30, imagine for 100 AES means 100 kopi mean need to pay Rm3000! This is 10X more than 1 AES!
So no problemo. Either uptable or downtable, as long need to pay, AES works.
bodoh betul! AES where can bribe. use your brain when you talk la…. otak kunta also smarter than you.
So quick masa shopping beli kamera. AP sistem 30 tahun still not resolved…Ha ha
In 2016, Malaysia recorded 521,466 road accidents and 7,152 road deaths, according to data by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS).
According to Msian gomen, if all cars had VSC, confirmed to reduce accidents and deaths by 45%
But gomen UMW and gomen Proton still sell Axia, Myvi, Alza, Bezza and Saga with no VSC.
Imagine, 2016 alone could have saved 3000 lives and prevented 240,000 accidents
Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-2020 plan by the World Health Organisation (WHO) would be achieved if all cars had vsc
Siapa salah? Ask ur jepunislords.
Apa Salah Jepun? Mereka reka TV/Air-con/Kereta. Kalau tak suka, boleh beli barang dari Negara Lain.
Salah for treating ASEAN lives like it dun matter.
#ASEANLifesMatters
U have a choice to buy or Not to buy isn’t it!? Did someone point a gun to your head?
Do i have a choice when that ESC-less vios of urs is hurling uncontrollably towards me?
Rakyat gips GST buy AES. AES samans Rakyat.
Pay taxes dun mean u have freedom to flout laws. Buy ur own secluded island if u wanna whateva u likey.
Good. Roads will become like UK. Every few kilometers got speed trap
100 AES to be installed….
Yes please. 100 AES for Kuching City alone. So many
reckless drives and road users here!
“The AES cameras will be added as we are targeting a 50% reduction in the accident rate by 2020, as per an international agreement,” said Ab Aziz
Seriously, it reminds me of we have to increase the price of sugar so that there will be a reduction of diabetes case…
They say the cameras are installed at high risk sites, and after they made numerous analysis. So wheres the analysis then. I need that on my tae first thing in the morning
IMO, installing AES Camera is not the appropriate way to increase road safety. The Gov should actually enforce laws to make sure that safety features such as Automomous Emergency Braking, Blind Spot Information System are fitted as standard in vehicles sold in Malaysia.
“The AES is the best method since it is impartial. The cameras do not recognise people and will record all vehicles,” said Ab Aziz.
IS IT FINE ANYONE WHO SPEEDING INCLUDE SOME GOVERMENT SERVANT??? lolz
it will record everybody but the gomen will filter out their own mah… where got transparent one..
What if doesnt reduce accident by 50%?
Good question asked bro. Since it is “as per an international agreement” as said by Ab Aziz, we should ask Ad Aziz refund 50% of the price. Fair Ma.
Then saman collection will be up 50% lah!
100? not enough !
Speed limit for some road was ridiculously slow, speed at 60kmph was like in gear 3? Please revise all road speed to be reasonable.
D:
AES cameras don’t catch dangerous drivers. Tailgating, swerving between lanes, overtaking in the slow lane, all perfectly fine on AES cameras. Safe driving isn’t about how fast you drive, it’s about knowing when it’s safe to drive fast and when it isn’t.
Enforcement & punishment alone will not yield results. Un-civilized attitude of drivers is the main culprit. Tailgating, roadhogging, zigzagging, text & driving, running red lights, insensitive of pedestrians & motorcyclists etc. U dont see this stuff occuring in advanced countries.
Next is lack of advanced vehicle safety systems (due to high tax regime). If only we have AEB & VSC as mandatory, insurance companies would save billions of RM & our country would have less orphaned/unfortunate children who lost their parents during festive season traffic rush.
GOV need money. This is one of the better way to get it, not the tourism tax or GST! Also please summon and tow away those illegal parked vehicles! These drivers abuse their right to drive so please punish them and make other’s life better.
AES still doesn’t detect high speed bikes swerving between cars, this applies to superbikes and also mat rempits. Also, AES doesn’t capture lorries and buses overtaking on the fast lane causing cars to queue up behind them.
Cooperate with PLUS: distance travel / (exit time – enter time ) = avg speed, if exceed 110km/h, pay fine at toll gate. Zero investment needed.
Very good idea. For a supposedly 2 hours distance, can drive 220 km/h for one hour then take one hour rest at the RnR. Exit with an average speed of 110 km/h and avoid the fine.
Travel 180kmh, then rest 1hour at RnR. Come out of toll, no saman. PROFIT!
Record saja, whether to issue saman is another matter. Still need a person to process it.
I got super agitated when the joker say AES is impartial…
I got a saman from AES Jln Ipoh in 2016 but my car is actually shipped to Sarawak since 2015!
And so I too day leave made police report, made JPJ report, had my car photograph follow procedure and all in Jan 2017.
Until now the saman is still there under my name. Called few times to JPJ ask for update. My last call the guy say it usually takes a super long time for the saman to be removed… maybe cant even be removed and stay there forever… the system works like that.
I mean wth??? worse, the saman never come with a picture to verify unlike when initially launch. When i requested to view, they actually laugh off say they no power, that is by ‘other ppl’ in kl.
Now i hope insurance company wont increase my premium due to the ‘outstanding saman’.
Also tips for you guys, just change number plate to someone u dont like when u feel like breaking law. Just run amok on all AES with the fake number plate. AES will never know and JPJ will never do anything as AES belongs to other ppl.
Cheers!… I am still in rage… AES impartial my foot!
To the IGP,
the Minister of Transport,
and the Director of JPJ,
The speed cameras are fine. I want something to be amended as I am a citizen of Malaysia. The demerit points system has to be amended to make this work for the safety of Malaysians and the reasonableness of it all.
Currently, demerit points are given straight-away even if you are 1km/h over the speed limit when the camera captures your car speed on the highway. … And the demerit points start from 1-25km/h range, Can you see how wrong it is? Can you see that?…. How can a person who accidentally crossed the limit by 1km/h be punished the same as someone who was driving 25km/h over the speed limit.
For a person who was just 1 or 2 km/h over the speed limit, it could be not purposely or consciously. But a person driving 25km/h over the speed limit, definitely, he can feel it that he was faster than the speed limit. We ought not punish the same person with the same punishment when he steals a loaf of bread to feed his hungry child compared to a person who steals a gold earring after walking into the shop and asking the shop assistant to show him some gold earrings.
These are my proposals.
When a person drives over the speed limit by:-
1. 1-10km/h, he is to be punished with RM50 fines only. No demerit points .
2. 11-20km/h, he is to be punished with RM100 fines, No demerit points.
3. From 21-40km/h, he is to be punished by RM300 fines, and 2 demerit points.
4. From 41-60km/h, he is to be punished by RM1,000 fines, and 3 demerit points
5. From 70km/h upwards, he is to be punished by RM5,000 fines and 6 demerit points.
Why? Why progressively and in this way ?
This is because when you are over 21km/h, it is no longer unconsciously doing it and it is already not a mistake.
And when you are driving 50km/h over the speed limit, you actually want to cause risk to yourself and really not thinking about other people’s lives who are using the same road.
FINALLY, BUSES and LORRIES must not have the same rules as all other cars. Why? Because buses are fetching passengers whose lives are in danger once the bus goes 90km/h over the speed limit. Buses must have automated speed limiter to stop the bus from exceeding 90km/h. And lorries too can cause carnage and death to other when they are driven fast. They are heavy. Therefore, they must not be allowed to exceed 90km/h also.
WE have to implement a system that is fair to the road users and differentiate those who are purposefully causing danger to other with those are just 1 or 2 km/h over the speed limit. They are different. We cannot apply the same punishment on all.
YOU have to AMEND the current demerit points system to make people accept the system as fair and they will comply with it. They will also feel that the cameras are there to keep bad habits out of the road. Don’t appy demerit points to those who are just 1km/h or 5km/h over the speed limit NOW, THAT is TOTALLY bad policy.