Motorcycle bike-to-vehicle (B2V) comms system proposed – provides collision detection and warnings

Safety is of paramount importance to all road users, more so motorcyclists, who are, by far, the most vulnerable. A collaboration between auto industry automation giant Bosch and Israeli company Autotalks aims to reduce that risk with a Wi-Fi based system that enables a motorcycle to alert surrounding vehicles to its presence, as well as warn the rider of impending collisions.

Autotalks’ bike-to-vehicle, or B2V, system communicates with other vehicles on the road, exchanging data such as speed, direction, location, braking status and other parameters with similarly equipped machines. Currently scheduled for testing using Ducati motorcycles, the Autotalks system is lightweight, compact, and low-powered, making it suitable for use on bikes, says Autotalks chief technology officer Onn Haran.

This is a development of the vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) system the company developed for use in larger vehicles, and research by Bosch suggests one-third of accidents involving motorcycles in Germany could be prevented by using it. However, for the system to be successful, it requires that a significant number of vehicles on the road have V2V or B2V installed.

Implementing such a system will require government intervention, mandating that it be installed in all future vehicles, as is being done in the US where the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) is considering such a rule. For carmakers, Volkswagen (VW) plans to have most of its cars equipped with the pWLAN (IEEE 802.11p) wireless connectivity standard by 2019.

Slated to hit the road in 2019, VW’s technology aims to help detect hazards such as cars making emergency stops, or black ice on the road. This information can be shared instantly with surrounding vehicles and transport infrastructure (car-to-car and car-to-X), enabling other road users to take prompt reaction.

“It’s a low-cost solution with a small form factor, which is critical for motorcycles,” Haran said when talking to Wired. “It can operate in a wide temperature range and be placed anywhere on the motorcycle.” The Autotalk system is being designed to alert the rider when imminent danger is present, such as a car running a red light or braking suddenly.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Correction. Motorcyclists are not the most vulnerable, they are the most suicidal. They want to be safe on the roads? They should stop riding like idiots. No need for any kind of active safety tech. Stop speeding in between cars during traffic jams. Keep away from the overtaking lane. Stop trying to race with cars on the road. Stop racing with each other on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • Alamak on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:39 pm

A bike just smashed my wing mirror today and rode away. Had to go and buy a replacement. Pests…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 03, 2017 at 2:34 pm

be thankful he run away…later he fall down claim ur insurance lagi worse

• Sam Kuntaik Loo on Jun 30, 2017 at 10:21 pm

Also, those mutherf**k*r car drivers that doesn’t give a damn about using signal light need to be pulled off from the road and dragged and thrown into Kamunting/Simpang Renggam detention center (this is for their own good to save the car driver’s head from getting smashed with helmet)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • Donkey Kong is otak batu on Jul 02, 2017 at 6:11 pm

U caught in traffic jam at 0kmh. Bikers passing by at 30kmh. U call that racing? Donkey Kong u r just plain stupid. Can’t even do simple comparisons between a stationary vehicle and a super slow moving ones. So what u want, the bikers pushing their bikes along with cars in jams??

• Rider4Life on Jul 01, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Correction. Stupid car drivers that doesnt give a signal should be fu**ing blame. ALWAYS CHECK YOUR LEFT AND RIGHT WHEN WANT TO CHANGE LANE!!!!!!! Pls!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Israel? Can enter here or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:14 pm

This thing will have a lot of opposition if it comes to Malaysia. Cause bodohs will say it is from Israel.

So how? What to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • So shud u chuck ur PC out the 14th floor? Cuz that Core arch. proc is oso from…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Lee Kum Kee on Jul 01, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Hello waze is from israel. seems you r the bodoh one.

• Disagree. Core processor was designed in Israel 1st b4 waze. And it came here way earlier

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:22 pm

VW is to be praised. They are interested in latest technology and working hard to make safety a priority.

Some car companies don’t do anything. They get a YES MIFI device for their car and then they say, they have made their car Internet ready.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Repoman on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:10 pm

MIMOS shud develop latest technology and working hard to make safety technology a priority. Not use public funds to play photochopping.

• Sam Kuntaik Loo on Jun 30, 2017 at 10:29 pm

Ya, my ‘beloved’ car company oso same lorrrr… don’t do anything. They get a “G***Up To Hell” stupid bodykits for their junks, but when asked to install VSC, they say their junks are not ready (ie. not designed for it).

• U mean that toyota of urs?

• panjang on Jul 01, 2017 at 4:07 am

Talk about low cost but run test on premium bikes. Using wireless which maybe will works on pedestrian speed but would be interesting to see how they overcome the range issue.

• Lee Kum Kee on Jul 01, 2017 at 3:55 pm

The real culprits are motorcycles. Even after I gave signal to change lane, they wont slow down and gave middle finger right after passing by. I used to bike, and have always been a patient one. Seriously i dont understand motorcyclist attitude of late.

• karam singh on Jul 02, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Ah, of course the middle finger when u only give signal 3 blinks before turning into a junction and failed to realise the biker in your blind spot.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 01, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Advance tech in a Kapchai… Highly doubt it’ll ever see it’s way into Malaysia’s mass market in the next few decades, exotic bikes yes but mass market… doubtful.

Kudos however to Israel for being in the forefront of modern inventions at least for my case thanks for Waze.

• Yabbadabbadoo on Jul 03, 2017 at 1:53 am

We already have a vehicle to vehicle comms system.

It’s called a horn.