2017 Honda Rebel shown at Art of Speed – RM31,798

In conjunction with the 2017 Art of Speed custom show at MAEPS, Serdang, Boon Siew Honda launched the 2017 Honda Rebel at a price of RM31,798, which includes GST but excludes road tax, insurance and registration. The Rebel is a street cruiser designed for easy riding and the beginner/commuter market.

Carrying a 471 cc, DOHC, liquid-cooled parallel-twin, the Honda Rebel is claimed to put out 45.4 hp @ 8,500 rpm and 44.7 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. Power for the Rebel gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox with chain final drive.

Rolling on 16-inch tyres front and rear, the Rebel comes with 41 mm diameter forks up front and twin shock absorbers in the rear. Grabbed by single hydraulic discs at both ends, the Rebel comes with ABS.

Seat height for the Rebel is a rider-friendly 690 mm, which will allow most riders to flat-foot the bike with confidence. Fuel is carried in a 11.2-litre peanut tank, and weight is claimed to be 184.7 kg wet.

There are three colour options for the 2017 Honda Rebel – Graphite Black, Millennium Red and Matte Armoured Silver Metallic, as well as a full range of accessories from the official Honda catalogue. The Rebel launched is displayed with optional H2C handlebars and accessories and will be on sale at official Honda Impian showrooms from the end of August.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Copy paste kunta now samy on Jul 29, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Ducatti looks more fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • Ohwai on Jul 29, 2017 at 1:13 pm

I hope we can buy a 1 EURO bike company also and syiok sendiri.

• Ducati sold for 1EURO? Wheres the source news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 67
        • I hope the mental resident does not come here and say

1) we got cheapest cars
          2) we got cheapest petrol
          3) all saga got VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
          • I hope the mental resident does not come here and say

1) We got most exp car in universe
            2) We got most exp petrol in universe
            3) Toyota cars no need ESC if u drive carefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 75
          • MRSM Maths on Jul 31, 2017 at 9:08 am

Bosan dengan fake john ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • PT shud really bar dupes posting comments from same IP address. Pls take note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
          • MRSM Maths on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:14 am

then you will get barred john. you got like 10 dupes….notakata, basherlogic, nancy Liu, nancy liu3 etc etc

• Hew hew. Dah marah ke?

If I wuz using dupes, I wont be making that request, wont I?

Only those using dupes will get angr… oh wai..

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 31, 2017 at 9:54 am

ducati is for sale by VW group who owns them. It has not found a buyer yet.. but the expected sale price is 1.5 billion euros.

• 12yrsold on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:56 am

I know someone can buy it for 1.5 billion euro but he prefer to let his beloved buy some expensive diamond/handbags.

• Elon?
            Maybe Bezos, since he now richest man?
            Johnson Lee?

• John Fake News Poster on Jul 29, 2017 at 2:16 pm

This bike is great. It needs ABS though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • anonymous on Jul 31, 2017 at 12:36 am

It’s mentioned in the article that it comes with ABS isn’t it?

• Periasamy on Jul 29, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Nice bike. Hope gomen abolishes GST on bikes. At least it will help kapchai owners a lot

• Bernard on Jul 29, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Honda Rebel is a great bike but please bring in the 250cc with ABS ….

• Ohwai on Jul 29, 2017 at 1:13 pm

best bike in the world is Pasola

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • want rebel on Jul 29, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Support. pls bring in 250cc with ABS at 20k

• Redidiot on Jul 30, 2017 at 8:01 pm

If you’re into cramped riding positions then go for it. But if you’re an average built rider, or bigger, best stick to virago/v star 250.

• BOYRACER on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:21 am

The Rebel is available in the USA in both 300 and 500 versions.So far there is no 250 version unlike the Versys X which has both 250 and 300 depending on region.

• BikerFun on Jul 29, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Honda Rebel 500cc at RM31k?
    I rather buy Kawasaki Vulcan S 650cc and about the same price as well.
    Vulcan S design look a lot nicer than this.

• BOYRACER on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:24 am

Exactly.The Vulcan S is a 650.More suited for longer trips.Only thing it doesn’t come with ABS which the Honda have.

• Analog on Jul 29, 2017 at 2:26 pm

This kind of bike need old school analog dials!

• horrayooi on Jul 29, 2017 at 3:49 pm

About same price as Vulcan S 650 and without tachometer.
    Fuel tank looks small.

• Mohan, is the LCD screen sufficiently visible under direct sunlight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • polla on Jul 29, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Thailand mari…

• the driver on Jul 29, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Is this bike made in India? Small cruiser bikes (250cc and below) only seem to be sourced from there, where such bikes are popular. But here people tend to avoid such bikes. There will be exceptions though.

• Sub_zero on Jul 30, 2017 at 6:46 pm

This one is made in thailand

Honda second largest factory outside japan is in thailand and Indonesia (also formerly in india before split up from Hero motocorp)

There’s a reason why thai is call Detroit of asia

• Omg the price… Ridiculous!

• anonymous on Jul 31, 2017 at 12:43 am

It goes for about USD 6500 stateside where car and motorcycle prices are supposedly cheap (ABS version + destination charge whatever that is).

That translates to about MYR 28000 at current exchange rates. Do take note however that in the US sales taxes are at sales point thus the retail price in Texas with 8.5% sales tax would be around MYR 31000.

So exactly how much should the price be then?

• After reading this, you have a point. A 250cc bike is already around RM20K. This one has a 500cc engine. Sorry my bad.

• Gracke on Jul 30, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Wait for Benelli Leoncino, next month launch!!! You won’t regret :-)

• versys riders... on Jul 31, 2017 at 7:44 am

Nice bike, I like it a lot…but what a pity, it comes with 16 inches tyres…susah mau exchange tyre if tyre sudah botak…:(

• Add A Comment on Jul 31, 2017 at 8:12 am

I don’t care Ducatti, Yamaha, Kawazaki or Honda. As long as I see gadis is white top like that…I press Like. Wait…where is the Like button??

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• 12yrsold on Jul 31, 2017 at 11:00 am

That is not a comment. That is a STATEMENT & most real men like girls in simple T-shirt with jeans. Cheers…

• gadisMan on Jul 31, 2017 at 11:13 am

finally somebody talked about the Gadis!!! btw not enough Gadis pics.!!