Malaysia and China auto parts makers sign trade deal

Malaysia-based Globaltec Formation has formed a partnership with Ningbo Auto Components Industry Association (Ningbo AIA) of China, in order to secure business collaborations in both countries, according to a Bernama report. The alliance was entered into via Globaltec Formation’s wholly-owned subsidiary, AutoV Corporation.

Ningbo AIA is a government body that represents over 200 enterprises from the automotive industry in Ningbo, a major port and industrial hub in east China’s Zhejiang province, according to the news wire report.

The collaboration aimed to merge the Chinese research and development capabilities and financial strength with AutoV’s manufacturing capabilities, qualities and management strengths, said the group executive chairman of Globaltec Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Goh Tian Chuan.

“This will enable AutoV to expand its production capacity as a manufacturer for the Chinese parties and cater for the massive China market. This strategic collaboration will allow the companies to take advantage of the exponential growth of automotive market in the ASEAN region,” he said.

The partnership will see Ningbo AIA provide “full assistance in introducing and promoting (the) AutoV Group” as the ideal partner to its members towards realising the initiatives, which include the localisation of the components and assembly of Ningbo AIA members’ products in Malaysia, along with expanding into the right-hand-drive markets in the ASEAN region, Globaltec added in its filing to Bursa Malaysia.

Both parties are also set to take part in China’s ‘One Belt, One Road’ initiative aimed at strengthening the ties between industry players in China and Malaysia, the report added. This comes as the latest in the Malaysian automotive industry’s ties with China, following the recently-inked Proton-Geely partnership. Last year, the East Coast Rail Link project was also confirmed to be built and financed by China.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Periasamy on Jul 31, 2017 at 6:51 pm

I am glad this is happening. I hope with this deal, more mainland China people come here and make Malaysia their 2nd home.

Africa had about 1 million Chinese migrate when they opened their doors. I hope few million mainland Chinese come to Malaysia and make Malaysia their home too.

We need their expertise, wisdom and hard work ethics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • With current gov polisi, now MY is becoming a multinational country, and MY can take its place in the international stage. Let the current status quo prevails!

• Piang Bo on Aug 02, 2017 at 3:14 pm

expertise & ethics huh? expertise in copycat & ethics in lying.

• Jocky on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:58 pm

And with that, crony suppliers that supplied Proton with their over-priced-poor-quality products will weep.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 31, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Good. The sub standard suppliers will feel the heat. Manufactured goods that don’t meet China QC will be rejected. While locals still think our QC is better & look down on China parts, in actual its the other way around now.

• Ekceli China parts is only as gud as its cost. If u pay peanuts, …

• If you go solely on plastics, could get better bolehland plasctics at same price but that without calculate the shipping cost

Oh i dun mean a car is made 100 percent of plastics basher dun get me wrong

• Ahmadjr on Aug 01, 2017 at 1:35 am

The question is , can our companies export to the china as openly as they do?