2017 BMW G310R now in Malaysia – RM26,900

After much anticipation by Malaysian BMW Motorrad fans, the 2017 BMW G 310 R, the brand’s first offering in the small-displacement motorcycle market in over 60 years, is to be launched in Malaysia this coming weekend at a price of RM26,900, including GST.

Developed in conjunction with BMW Motorrad’s Indian manufacturing partner, TVS, this entry into the mass-market class is BMW’s attempt to get into the lucrative Asian market for sub-400 cc bikes which are popular due to low price and maintenance.

The G 310 R comes with a 313 cc liquid-cooled single-cylinder engine fed by EFI that puts out a claimed 34 hp at 9,500 rpm and 28 Nm of torque at 7,500 rpm. A unique take on the G 310 R is its reversed cylinder orientation that has the intake facing forward, letting the engine be tilted a little further backward to place weight over the rear wheel, while giving the exhaust a straight path to the rear.

Power gets to the ground via a six-speed multi-disc wet clutch transmission, which allows for a 0-100 km/h time of just 7.85 seconds. The adjustable rear wheel suspension comes with up to 10 levels of preload adjustment. Inside the cockpit is a fully digital instrument cluster that also displays, aside from various other functions, the current gear selected.

Bybre, Brembo’s cost-conscious brand option, does the braking with a four-piston caliper and single 300 mm disc in front, while the rear disc is a 240 mm diameter unit, and two-channel ABS is standard. Rolling on 17-inch wheels, the G 310 R is designed to accommodate the new rider, with a seat height of 785 mm, allowing almost all to get their feet down.

Wet weight for the G 310 R is aid to be 158 kg, and fuel is carried in an 11-litre tank. No word from BMW Motorrad Malaysia as to what colour options will be available for the 2017 BMW G 310 R, but from its website, three colour options are offered in Europe – Cosmic Black, Strato Blue Metallic and Pearl White Metallic Motorsport.

So, what do you think of this RM27k bike?

GALLERY: 2016 BMW Motorrad G 310 R Malaysia preview

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• willie on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Good Pricing….these will give the japs bike at that price range a skip. no doubt its made in india, its a BMW, anyway nike is not made in USA anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 1
  • alldisc on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:37 pm

The cheapest entry to BMW ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:38 pm

While the BMW G310R naked bike could be considered a superb entry-level bike, I’m surprised that BMW didn’t produced a more sporty full-faired version of this bike. Perhaps inspired by the bigger S1000RR superbike model , the bike that shocked the Japanese & Italian superbike fraternity and shattered their (street) dominance for almost 8 years or so. A missed opportunity here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • youngun on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Totally agree. We’re short of good looking and affordable sports bike in this class. Those Japanese bikes cost too much…

• KamarulXY on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:54 pm

I believe they will. Right now the G310R is on sale. The G310GS is already produced. Next is G310RR.

• thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:19 pm

I still need 9 years loan for this.

• Malaysian on Aug 09, 2017 at 10:35 pm

are you kidding? buy motorbike can use loan? is there even such a thing from a official financial institute?

Ah Loan can la, but bank loan? Whats the interest like? Loan 50k, but repayment total is 100k macam all housing loan who doubles the amount loaned?

serious question, i did not know people actually loan for a motorbike…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
        • Yuzdi on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:48 am

The shop will provide credit leasing. Or AEON Credit loan. Or u can go for personal loan. Only bikers know hoe to get financing.

• Keyboard dumm on Nov 26, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Hi Marsian, or you live on the moon? Welcome back to planet earth! ~ This is Bolehland LOL Yes you can loan your bike, not your spaceship. ……….

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Finally it’s here but it’s displacement means u can’t use your kapcai license to use…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Yes, the b2 kapcai licence holder won’t be able to mess it. B1 won’t miss it. They will for beemer 800 and above. But at least, there’s a competitor for the japs in the lower rung of affordability.

• BOYRACER on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Yes..finally I can own a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • richard on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Thank you BMW for bringing this bike. But i hope they are planning to bring G310GS here to Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Mikey on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:27 pm

WOW. A brand new BMW for just RM26,900.00 I want to borrow Air Asia tagline of – Now, everyone can Own one without flying.

• Bernard on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Great bike but if 250cc can sell more …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Yuzdi on Aug 11, 2017 at 9:49 am

JPJ should upgrade B2 instead max 250cc to 500cc. Then more will buy this bike.

• dreamchaser3456 on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:36 pm

finally i may have an BMW bike

• panjang on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Thats cheap for a BMW.
    Makes the Ninja 250 looks expensive.

Problem with 250 bike is that they are not powerful enough.A super cub can surprise a 250.250 only won on looks department.Its good for cruising but does not offer much thrill. Have to be above 300cc to produce exciting power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:23 pm

I thought the twin cylinder 250s like the R25 & Ninja 250R could eat the Supercubs for breakfast?

• TwoWheelersFTW on Aug 09, 2017 at 9:57 am

Im quite sure he’s talking about heavily modded supercubs or two strokers like the superkips 150 of which, is pretty fast. But quarter litre bikes were never made to be fast. They’re for starters and the twisties are where their light weight and nimbleness shine. If you want 299kmh crotch rockets get a sbk. But then dont ask why at corners ppl are swerving left or right but you’re going straight masuk gaung *knock on wood*

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 6:51 pm

now everyone can bmw

• But the single cylinder makes it sound like a pasar malam generator. Same goes for the KTM dukes.

• sohai on Aug 08, 2017 at 9:10 pm

this thing won’t sell.
    yes, is a desirable product. yes is a good price point. but by now the market should know that this does not necessary translate to sales. for a very simple reason of our B2 license restriction.
    how many kawa z300 you see on the road? or similar cc bikes? is just too much hassle for someone to upgrade the license for the this. if I actually take the trouble to upgrade, I want 500cc minimum for that big different experience with the 250cc I am riding.
    at the end, you see more people who are existing B license holder looking to get a second / third bike…. which won’t be many.
    you will still more z250/250sl or duke on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • uat88 on Aug 09, 2017 at 8:21 am

While the bike for a BMW sounds cheap, the maintenance and service might possibly be expensive because it’s BMW.

• uat88 on Aug 09, 2017 at 8:25 am

Price sounds cheap for a BMW but will the maintenance and service be cheap as well because it’s a BMW in the first place.

• BOYRACER on Aug 09, 2017 at 7:21 pm

From what I read in the owners forum overseas.The service intervals are at every 13000kms.If in our hot climate, service intervals every 10k kms is very good indeed.Another thing is this has ABS as standard which in this price range only the KTM and Kawasaki 300 has them.The rest is extra cost option.

• archie5k on Aug 10, 2017 at 8:22 am

single cylinder is under power, need at least 2 cylinder to compete with jap bike like kawa ninja

• Lekat sticker ‘L’ la. But dunno limited to how many renewals.

• ROSSI M on Oct 23, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Type your comment here..ohnman why they didnt make 350 or 400? or 2 in line. concept is nice. im going for 310 gs… naked already bored. coz now toad alot of lubang ikan lol…

• Navinaesh nair on Nov 06, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Nice, keep it up