Ford GT ’67 Heritage Edition – new Le Mans homage

As another homage to its racing heritage, this is the new Ford GT ’67 Heritage Edition, a limited-edition model created to celebrate the Blue Oval’s 1967 Le Mans win. That year, the all-American team of Dan Gurney and A.J. Foyt guided a GT40 Mark IV race car all the way to the chequered flag.

“In creating a worthy successor to the 2017 Heritage edition, we logically looked at our next historic Le Mans victory with the all-American team of Dan Gurney and A.J. Foyt. The 2018 Ford GT ’67 Heritage edition pays homage to that win, with a modern take on one of the most important vehicles in Ford’s storied history of racing,” said Dave Pericak, global director Ford Performance.

As with the previous GT ’66 Heritage Edition, the new car features plenty of unique exterior and interior revisions. Starting with the outside, there’s a gloss-finish Race Red body colour with white stripes, an exposed carbon-fibre styling package and exclusive 20-inch one-piece forged aluminium wheels finished in silver satin.

Completing the look are black lug nuts, red brake calipers, silver side mirror caps and No.1 hood and door graphics. As for the interior, there’s new leather trimming for the carbon-fibre seats, with red contrast stitching also found on the steering wheel. More red accents can be found on the seatbelts, while anodised gray paddle shifters and satin dark stainless trim is applied elsewhere.

You’ll also find a unique serialised identification plate to mark out the limited number of units that will be offered for the 2018 model year. The interior also gets exposed matte carbon-fibre door sills, air register pods and centre console.

“The first Heritage edition car was a huge success, honouring our history with a modern interpretation of the Le Mans winner. Continuing with a 2018 Ford GT based on the winning GT40 Mark IV race car was simply something we needed to do,” said Garen Nicoghosian, exterior design manager for the GT.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not special anymore. Looks like any other conti sportscar now

• 12yrsold on Aug 16, 2017 at 9:57 am

This is a Ford GT 67 Heritage Edition(limited-edition) model created to celebrate the Blue Oval’s 1967 Le Mans win.
      If U cannot appreciate a Ford with a Heritage, U can always keep quiet.
      No one will say U are Dumb or otherwise. It may NOT be Special to U but it is Special to some. Understand!!!?

• And thats problem. Ori Ford GT has lines & desing elements that no other conti sportscars has. This current GT looks like based on Aventador!

I know u bashing cuz its me, but look here, if u dunno jack about design concepts, dun pick a fight when u have nothing to put into the ring, okay?

• 12yrsold on Aug 16, 2017 at 4:37 pm

He he he. The only thing U got it right its U(john). BTW, which part of the GT looks like an Aventador?
          I have a poster of the Lambo right in front of me & nothing here resemble the Aventador.

• A person who has an inkling about design wun need to be told what to look for. Dun expect me spoonfeed u

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 15, 2017 at 7:53 pm

looks like a diff paintjob thats all