2017 Bianchi SF01 – the RM76k Ferrari you can afford

Ferraris of any era, provenance or condition tend to command eye-wateringly high price tags, but the 2017 Bianchi for Scuderia Ferrari SF01 might be one you could theoretically afford, some 15,000 Euro (RM76,167) worth. Ferrari brand bicycles are not new, of course, with legendary Italian frame maker Colnago having previously made a series of “TF” road racing bicycles for the Prancing Horse.

Made from carbon-fibre, the SF01 begins life as a Bianchi Specialissima, weighing in at 780 grammes for a 55-centimetre frame before being hand-painted. Prospective customers can then choose between Campagnolo Super Record EPS or Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 groupsets, and each SF01 comes equipped with a Fulcrum – Campagnolo’s off-brand range – Speed 40C wheelset shod with Pirelli P Zero Velo 25 mm clincher tyres.

Design input for the SF01 comes from both Bianchi and Ferrari R&D and design engineers, and this extends to the custom-made components. In the case of the saddle, made by Italian brand Astute, and formed from 3K carbon-fibre weave said by Ferrari to be the same material as used in the seats of its racing four-wheelers, weight is only 94 grammes.

Ferrari and Bianchi intend to extend the line into a full range of bicycles, from road bikes to mountain bikes, city to e-bicycles, as well as children’s bikes. As proof of this, a partial carbon-fibre frame, fork and headstock mock-up of a triathlon bike was shown at the Eurobike trade show in Germany recently.

The 2017 Bianchi for Scuderia Ferrari SF01 comes in two colour options – Rosso Corse (Racing Red) and Nero Setoso (Silky Black). Availability of the SF01 will be from November of this year at premier Bianchi dealers, while the rest of the world gets it in 2018.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• For the stupidly rich only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • If you think this is excessive, wait until you see the PG Bugatti Bike. Yours for only USD39k (RM166k), thank you very much. And the PG Bugatti is a fixie…

• Dont call rich people stupid if you cant afford dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:42 am

that we called brand prestige.

• kereta_lembu on Sep 06, 2017 at 11:08 am

If someone is so filthy rich and won’t spend on something he/she likes be it for a statement, for syok sendiri or for whatever reason then that’s really stupid.

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 05, 2017 at 4:52 pm

My kinda ride..pedal powahh!

• arowana on Sep 05, 2017 at 5:11 pm

for that price u get a Ferrari & a set of Pirelli rubbers, that’s a bang for the buck!

• Bang4Buck on Sep 05, 2017 at 6:19 pm

With that kinda money, I can buy a 2nd hand superbike oredi…….and becoming speed demon, without breaking a sweat.

• Kenny on Sep 05, 2017 at 9:19 pm

Yes, it’s light but you got to carry a 10kg chain and padlock to protect it from being stolen.

• Thing is… if you can afford to buy a 70k bicycle, chances are, you’re probably able to buy that ferrari.

• Did we required to buy insurence for this bike? Haha

• The vagabond shoes on Sep 06, 2017 at 11:36 am

I can understand this bike is priced for the racing teams of the Formula1 of bicycles but i just don’t see why an individual would need a bicycle of that price to show off his richness and prestige for nothing.

• BiggyM on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Does riding this bike with ferrari bolded faster than others? Is not expensive if the answer is yes.

• The vagabond shoes on Sep 06, 2017 at 2:49 pm

What makes it expensive is no more but brand names and marketing gimmicks.

• The vagabond shoes on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:21 am

All race bred bicycle frames nowadays are made of carbon fibre and some top brand frames are manufactured under license in Taiwan. A Colnago with that frame now cost much cheaper.

• buyer wont ride this bike for more than 100m.