GALLERY: Toyota Fortuner 2.4 VRZ 4×2 with TRD kit

The Toyota Fortuner range was recently updated in Malaysia, which saw revisions to existing variants – 2.4 4×4 and the petrol-powered 2.7 SRZ 4×4 – as well as the introduction of two new ones – 2.4 VRZ 4×2 and 2.4 VRZ 4×4. Here, we bring you a full gallery of a 2.4 VRZ 4×2 that has been fitted with a few optional accessories.

Revisions for the Fortuner aren’t particularly extensive, with new LED front fog lights being installed on the 2.4 VRZ and 2.7 SRZ models, along with rear disc brakes that now come as standard on all variants.

The 2.4 VRZ 4×2 has an equipment list that is largely similar to the 2.7 SRZ, with items like automatic bi-LED headlights (with LED DRLs), 18-inch alloy wheels, puddle lights, keyless entry, push-button start, a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, auto front and rear air-con, cruise control, brown leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, premium solar and security tint, a powered tailgate and a DVD-AVX infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and six speakers.

It’s the same case when it comes to safety, with seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). The 4×4 model also receives Active Traction Control (A-TRC) and Downhill Assist Control (DAC). The last item is new for the 2.7 SRZ 4×4.

This particular unit of the 2.4 VRZ 4×2 is specified with a TRD Sportivo body kit (RM4,982), which tacks on an aerokit, black front grille, emblem, body stripes and specific floors mats. There’s also a panoramic view monitor (RM2,650) and a blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert (RM1,855) as well.

Under the bonnet, the 2.4 litre models get a 2GD-FTV 2.4 litre turbodiesel with 150 PS and 400 Nm, while the 2.7 SRZ receives a 2TR-FE 2.7 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i petrol engine that outputs 166 PS and 245 Nm.

A six-speed automatic transmission is the only pairing for both engines, with the 2.4 VRZ variants and 2.7 SRZ getting paddle shifters. Aside from the 2.4 VRZ 4×2 which is rear-wheel drive, all other Fortuner variants are equipped with a part-time four-wheel drive system with an automatic disconnecting differential (ADD) as well as a rear differential lock.

Price wise, the base 2.4 AT 4×4 kicks things off at RM169,800, and is followed by the 2.7 SRZ AT 4×4 at RM181,800. Next up is the 2.4 VRZ 4×2 that retails at RM185,800, while the 2.4 VRZ 4×4 is yours for RM195,800. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hey PaulTan on Oct 12, 2017 at 6:47 pm

“The 2.4 VRZ 4×2 has an equipment list that is largely similar to the 2.7 VRZ, …”

Correction: 2.7 SRZ,.

• Anwar Ibrahim on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:52 am

Will increase up to RM200k!

• nemesis on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:52 pm

looking at the photos, the wheel arch interiors has no mud guard cover reveal a white steel structure.. the nvh must be very poor. look at continental suv as well as kia sorento they are well padded with soft materia for better noise insulation…

• actually on Dec 15, 2017 at 9:17 am

I saw the inside body of sorento. Its soft material is worst than Toyota.
          Fortuner one is so much better. The seams are also covered or coated. I think this is not a problem. Looks strange yes, but its still tough and quieter.

• ryder0707 on Oct 12, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Wow luxurious looking interior!!! Seriously the bodykit sux big time… without the bodykit is nicer, what’s wrong with designer??? The black grill looks weirdly cheap!!! The luxury feel is gone the moment u put the blackened grill and fog lamp cover. Come onla toyota, bring in the Lexus looking bodykit design laaa not this AhBeng style…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • That’s why it’s optional bro. If you don’t like it, u can still buy the car without it ma. No loss wert.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:33 am

The black chrome grill will look nice on a black or dark red/maroon paint.

Toyota used the wrong colour to show off the accessories.

• Wow! What a fantastic looking SUV from the 90’s! I wonder what the latest model today looks like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Someone on Oct 12, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Menacing look. Although I think bigger rims would look better on the Fortuner

• Not Toyota Fans on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:47 am

OMG! Did I see wrongly? A 200k car still using manual hand brake? Nowadays even a C segment car has Electronic Parking Brake. Just bcoz of its brand & better RV makes it overprice? What else will I get compare to the same class?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:35 am

4WD car with off road capability, I would prefer a manual hand brake anyway.

Doesn’t mention hill start assist, so you will need the manual handbrake.

• 1st disc w drum brakes. Then, add obselete body kits or upgrade leather seats. Bi xenon to leds. Small rims to big rims, add navi, touch screens… mostly cosmetics enhancements n little safety add ons.. all these bits n pcs asking for few K increment.. when can Msia starts giving REAL deals. STOP LEECHING us! For decades, Tw started 0% int for certain period of payment..eg. 60months or above 0 int. Big DISCOUNT for big CCs cars to consumers.

• pondan4 on Oct 13, 2017 at 8:12 am

somehow it looks like korean girl in dress with waist line right below the breast

• Ben Yap on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:21 am

A Fortuner that is almost RM200K, cost you a fortune. the name says it all.

• I'm Chinese btw on Oct 13, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Ah Beng edition. Empty vessel trying to make loud noise. With unnecessary kit and stickers.

• ayoyo on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:39 pm

can toyota come out a MINI fortuner? more affordable price…. plz

• Elchino on Nov 04, 2017 at 11:42 am

Paultan, can u get your boys to clean up your Car Base contents. For example, you have numerous 2.4 ltr fortuner & some are no longer available for sale. So if u click the wrong model, you have to start your search all over again!

• Elchino on Nov 04, 2017 at 11:45 am

Anyone knows whether it will b under powered when fully loaded with 6 passengers?