2018 race season sees Hafizh Syahrin leave Raceline

After ten years of competition, the 2018 MotoGP racing season sees Malaysian racer Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (23) leave Petronas Raceline Malaysia. Currently competing in the Moto2 class, Hafizh, who hails from Ampang, was discovered by Raceline team principal Barry Leong while racing in the pocket bike league.

Hafizh made his professional racing debut for Raceline in the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix championship in 2007, before moving up to the Asia Road Racing Championship. Hafizh then stepped up to the Australian Formula Extreme Championships and FIM CEV Championship before making to move to Moto2 in 2011.

A series of lacklustre seasons then followed, despite a single third place in 2012, before his two podium wins this year in Misano, Italy and Motegi, Japan, where he placed second and third respectively. While no details have been forthcoming, Pescao 55, as Hafizh is popularly known, is expected to join the SIC Racing Team for the 2018 season in Moto2, with the intention of grooming him the enter the top flight of MotoGP in 2019.

“It truly has been an honour and a privilege for us as a team to have grown together with Hafizh. I have known and guided him since he was 12 years old, racing as a very talented boy, and now, a passionate young adult,” said Leong. Leong added that Raceline will continue to nurture and develop young Malaysian talent in motorcycle racing, saying that the parting between Hafizh and the team was “natural and amicable.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Steven Koh on Oct 21, 2017 at 12:33 am

All the best Hafizh. Do try to go overseas and show your talent there. People will appreciate you better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Err. But he IS going overseas. He not just racing in Sepang edition of Moto2 but the whole year race schedule.

• Headset on Oct 23, 2017 at 4:23 pm

He has been doing it for a few years already.

• He shld replace nakagami at honda asia.

• Shidi on Oct 21, 2017 at 8:48 am

A very best of luck to you Hafizh! Hope to see you race in Motogp class soon. And please stay humble like you do rite now.

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2017 at 9:17 am

the best Malaysian rider hands down.

with proven track record. i know we have many excellent riders as well like Wazi Hamid, M.Meganathan, Shahrol Yuzy, Chia Tuck Cheong but no one has reached the same height as this guy (Moto2 full season with podiums).

Pescao means ‘the fish’ (because he rides better than many in the rain/wet track) – i do hope he can push to keep up with other riders when its dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Brave young boy. Keep it up!

• Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 21, 2017 at 9:56 am

This guy has done Malaysia proud. Keep up the good work!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • alex chan on Oct 21, 2017 at 10:19 pm

waste of rakyat and tax payer money only, how many hospital can be build from the money gov give to him?. that why we at Pakatan & DAP will make sure this waste will not happen when we rule next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 81
    • BN cyber trooper eh?…trying to paint a black picture to PH. Good try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
      • alex chan on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:05 pm

simple,
        how this benefit the rakyat during the very bleak and bad economic situation?? how? his win can automaticly add more salary to suffering rakyat ah?

rakyat is suffering everyday yet gov spending million on this guy alone?
        is his father kroni or what?

wait lah until we at pakatan rule next year surely no more waste from rakyat hard earn tax money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • Slirh on Oct 23, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Alex, I hope you check on your facts first. Secondly, understand the intricacies of sport sponsorship. Thirdly, Petronas is a GLIC. Govt gave the. rm10m as a capital to operate. Whilst they control the oil and gas reserve, They have to spend money to make profit ie ran a business. No help what so ever from govt since govt don’t have that kind of money to spent (eg usd100M for drilling). I do hope you understand what I am trying to say.

• Nah. Its a red herring. Just another false flag operation from them opos. They WANT u to think its a deliberate act from the other side, but its actually FROM them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Shafie on Oct 22, 2017 at 11:06 am

If Proton can take RM1.5B, i don’t see why i can’t?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • desmond wong on Oct 23, 2017 at 9:21 am

agreed with you alex, what does this guy do to contribute to society that our gov poured millions rakyat`s tax money on him? and only him alone? wasted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • alldisc on Oct 23, 2017 at 2:15 pm

he got sponsors lah. he has been racing for over 5 yrs in Moto2. and no, the govt didnt sponsor him. the team Raceline has Petronas as sponsors but thats just it.

• Petronas Raceline Malaysia is Gov agencies? If yes, Petronos should also stop sponsoring the Merc F1 team. No? BTW gov is pouring a lot of money to No.1 badminton player, alone? That also should be stop. No?

• He has potential and showed progress to climb up. So what if gov did sponsor him (which they din)? As compared to badminton’s stagnant (or downward spiral whichever way u see) “progress”?

• desmonde Hong on Oct 24, 2017 at 10:47 am

So what have you done so far?

• Kamaruzaman on Oct 30, 2017 at 1:53 am

Wait, I’m not done yet. You are like a drunk guy standing on a ledge telling Superman who is next to you, ‘hey Superman, I got this’…u thought u can fly and Superman facepalm looking at u

• Ben Yap on Oct 22, 2017 at 11:14 am

Maybe he is currently being coached by Wayne Rainey.

• Leonardo on Oct 23, 2017 at 9:07 am

All the best Hafiz! Hope you will make it to MotoGP soon and make us proud.
    Also hoping Petronas will continue to support young potential riders in Moto3 and Moto2.

• desmonde Hong on Oct 24, 2017 at 11:02 am

His father said hafiz got issue with payment. the one who controls the money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6