2018 Perodua Myvi – 5,000 units booked in eight days, 78% chose 1.5L models, Granite Grey most popular

The third-generation Perodua Myvi is well on track to be another hot seller for the company, going by the rate of bookings it has notched up to date. Two days after the order books opened on November 9, Perodua announced that the figure was firmly at 1,500 units. As of noon today, bookings for the B-segment hatchback surged to 5,000 units.

From that figure, 78% of early bird customers opted for the 1.5 litre variants, with the most popular colour being the Granite Grey (new and exclusive to the 1.5L only). The remaining 22% accounts for the 1.3 litre models in totality.

Despite the strong public interest, Perodua is not revising its initial sales target of 6,000 units a month. This is not to be confused with the figure above, and the 5,000 bookings may not necessarily be converted into actual sales. According to the company, the average bank loan approval rate is currently at 47%. A few years back, it was at 70%, specifically for Perodua.

With the launch of the new Myvi, Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Dr Aminar Rashid Salleh pleads for more flexibility and leniency with bank loan applications. “We still want to work with the banks, and we are hoping that more banks will come and work together, now that the all-new Myvi is launched,” said Aminar.

Pricing for the Myvi starts from RM44,300 for the 1.3 Standard G manual, and RM46,300 for the automatic. Above that is the 1.3 Premium X at RM48,300, followed by 1.5 High at RM51,800 and the range-topping 1.5 Advance at RM55,300. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

To know all about the new Myvi, you may refer to our spec-by-spec comparison or read our initial impressions of the car. Alternatively, you can also visit Carbase.my for a full specs and equipment breakdown of your desired variant.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• longtahar on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Tahniah 5,000 pemilik Myvi baru. Pilihan bijak!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:51 pm

OMG OMG OMG 5000 cars in 8 days. And this also on its own. Some car companies got unlimited orders from Government Departments and Ministries plus all enforcement divisions like PDRM, Askar, Bomba etc etc

Perodua does not get a single Gomen ORDER.

And yet it can do so well

Bravo Perodua!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Potong Sawi on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:25 am

Proton lame response so far:
        – black roof Iriz
        – free service 5 yrs
        – new rims Persona
        – etc. zzzzz

• Anonymous on Nov 17, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Are you sure? Have you seen the number of Peroduas used by the Ministry of Health and the MCMC uses a lot of Myvi(s) as pool vehicles. There are also Departments using them as pool cars in fact! Check your facts man! You have no defence for this statement of yours…

• John Gagal on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:00 pm

Conclusion: Perodua should buy Proton’s factory to meet the guge demand 1 million Myvi car sales soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Almost 60k full spec vs spec Kosong vios. Now the thing that is between is brand only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Bravo Perodua. You guys never beg a single sen also. Other car companies beg and get BILLIONS every year and yet still running at losses.

You guys don’t take a sen but yet, make BILLIONS per year. Bravo Bravo Bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmad kamal on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Very impressive car . All that tech for 55k is very good value for money. This is a success legacy for P2. Now compare this with total failure of proton and all the cash they got from gov and they gave us so little. Give should have helped p2 instead and let proton close down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • SadekSegaraga on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Feel sad for Alza because Perodua left it out quite few years and the only model which is very old, outdated.

• sadek serangga on Nov 17, 2017 at 9:49 am

Rumors said that new alza also coming in nwxt year..seat back and relax bro..your call will be anwers soon

• Younger Than You on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:00 pm

I wonder if the upcoming Daihatsu Sirion in the Indonesian market will be the Myvi again …….. I wish Perodua can have their badge on for the Indonesian market

• KenJi on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:32 pm

P1 patut belajar dr p2. K ain kali jgn buat kereta syok sendiri. Dahlah x menarik, enjin problem, desain semak, ruang makin sempit. Mcm mana nak jual? Beli kereta bukan mcm beli sayur. Tak suka boleh buang. Fikirlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • I am pro so listen on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:36 pm

“This is not to be confused with the figure above, and the 5,000 bookings may not necessarily be converted into actual sales.”

so why are you using another different set of standard for HONDAK? when HONDAK announces booking you take it as sales? why HONDAK you can mislead but not p2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • timlee on Nov 17, 2017 at 12:30 am

Great pricing and of course great Value for our Ringgit. The current GK5 Jazz is completely Dead AF today. Old 2009 engine and hideous design inside out.
    RIP Jazz GK5 2014-2017
    Fiesta long dead and now Iriz also in deep AF s***.

• charlielee on Nov 17, 2017 at 12:33 am

RIP Honda Jazz GK5 facelift 2017 to 2017.
    New Myvi killed it instantly today. JAzz is now dead AF. Hopeless and outdated SOHC engine and whole car can go straight to the junkyard or halfcut scrap shops. LMFAO.

• Lawson on Nov 18, 2017 at 11:42 am

By 1Q 2018 it is quite possible, as a respond, that Honda will fit in, for free 6 airbags and Honda Sensing plus a few goodies, for all models of Jazz and City. Heck!, this new Myvi could even cause a drop of Vios monthly sales figure.

• roger loo on Nov 17, 2017 at 1:10 pm

bila tukar air cond cabin filter & evaporator masih perlu buka dash board?