EEVs make up 45.6% of vehicles on the road: MITI

The number of energy efficient vehicles (EEVs) can reach its target of 50% by the end of the year, said the second minister of international trade and industry Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan. The percentage of EEVs out of all vehicles on Malaysian roads today is 45.6%, translating to approximately 380,000 cars and 150,000 motorcycles, according to the Sun.

Ong noted that the number of EEVs in the country has been seeing increases averaging 4.1% every month, and that the percentage could grow to surpass 50%, he added.

“Last year, there were 42% (EEV) vehicles, which amounted to about 403,200 vehicles on the road in the country. Although we have the confidence to achieve the target of 50% this year, we remained unsatisfied. We hope all vehicles on the road in the country are EEVs, but we need to give time for Malaysians to adapt to it,” Ong said.

“We want every drop of petrol to be optimised to generate power for the vehicles, but it must also reduce harm to Mother Earth,” the minister said, adding that the ministry would like to see all new vehicles on the roads to be EEVs. The target is to have EEVs comprise 80% of all vehicles by 2022.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• James on Dec 12, 2017 at 11:07 am

Good

• Operation Manager on Dec 12, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Where is the car list of EEV & non-EEV?

• Kuppusamy on Dec 12, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Our EEV definition is different from global EEV definition. Our MITI pandai pndai lowered the standards of EEV to include cars like Myvi and Axia.

So that is why the figures are high. No matter how much they lie, our fuel is still Euro 2. All the EEV cars emit toxic cancer causing fumes.

Euro 2 was banned in Europe 12 years ago cause it is confirmed to cause cancer. So what is the point having EEV cars when it emits poison into the air?

Same with Diesel. Still majority of Diesel cars using Euro 2.

MITI and MAI talk a lot of rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Graduan Bijak on Dec 12, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Rakyat getting smarter only buy Perodua or Toyota/Honda cars.

• 12yrsold on Dec 12, 2017 at 11:10 am

When will we be selling more EVs/PHEV instead of EEVs ??! They sound almost the same yet very different.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 12, 2017 at 11:59 am

EV n PEV including hybrid, NGV, fuel efficient petrol/diesel are part of EEV…lol

• Amran on Dec 12, 2017 at 11:36 am

Proton have Suzuki Ertiga with EEV engine & 4 speed automatic transmission! Buy suzuki Ertiga now!

• This is taking into consideration the sales of Perodua’s so-called EEV compliant vehicles aka Axia… and also the new Myvi (has it been granted the status yet?) hence the huge number… it’s not Camry Hybrid, BMW, Benz, or any other marques only

• liesandblasphemy on Dec 12, 2017 at 1:32 pm

No thanks to proton. No your 5.1L/100km at constant 90 km/h is not counted. Stop fooling the rakyat. Build or transplant more efficiently engines proton. Also RON95 Euro 4 when???

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 12, 2017 at 10:23 pm

With all this EEV hype, I bought the Bezza 1.3MT & found the fuel consumption to be higher than my 9yr Proton Persona 1.6MT or Haval M4 1.5MT. Then compare notes with my friend & he too complain of high FC on his Axia 1.0 AT. He has since bought the new hybrid jazz & is getting closer FC to manufacturer’s claim. EEV often is equate with lower FC but it’s not necessary so with my personal experience.

• No matter what, please make sure those who sell CKD EEV give the tax cut to customer ya.. thanks.

• sam123 on Dec 13, 2017 at 11:38 am

EEV = energy efficiency progress and CO2-reduction

good luck to those buyer that thinks its for low fuel consumption

• Ollie on Dec 13, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Are you lucky or just something else?

Are you saying fuel efficiency does not relate to energy efficiency and carbon emissions? So a 10-tonne diesel lorry with 200gCO2/km is energy efficient?

No wonder we have fake statistics in this country………..