Mazda launches new engine machining factory at Thailand facility – 2.0L SkyActiv-G to be produced

Mazda has launched a new engine machining factory at Mazda Powertrain Manufacturing Thailand (MPMT) in Chomburi, Thailand, which is part of efforts to expand the local production of vehicles, engines and transmissions in Thailand.

Last year, the carmaker announced it would invest 22.1 billion yen (about RM785 million) to increase MPMT’s annual production capacity to 100,000 units in the first half of 2018. At the time, it was revealed the plant’s capacity stood at 30,000 units annually since full-scale production started in October 2015.

The plant currently manufactures the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel and 1.3 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engines, both of which are shipped to Auto Alliance (Thailand) for use in the Mazda 2. With the new machining factory, the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine will be added to the production list, which will be exported to vehicle production sites in countries like Malaysia and Vietnam.

“We are delighted to open this new engine machining factory. MPMT’s steady growth since its establishment through to today is largely thanks to the generous assistance we’ve received from various parties. Let me express my sincere gratitude to all concerned,” said Mitsunobu Mukaida, president and CEO of MPMT.

“I hope that the engines we make here at MPMT together with our suppliers will go into cars that become an indispensable part of the customer’s life. We will contribute to the growth of manufacturing in Thailand by working with the local community to build high-quality cars and helping to nurture the next generation of industry leaders,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• iammat on Jan 19, 2018 at 1:52 pm

RM785 million engine factory, ohsem Mazda!

• So how does it work? The engine is imported to here, which is assembled into completed cars, which r then imported back to tomyam?

• Ahmadjr on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:26 pm

Mana ada malaysia export kereta ke thailand john. Jangan hisap gam, jangan minum ketum. Ada pun ke sri lanka nun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Paul Tan on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:32 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/08/26/volvo-xc90-t8-twin-engine-ckd-already-exported-to-thailand-shah-alam-is-volvos-asean-production-hub/

https://paultan.org/2013/09/23/mazda-cx-5-exports-locally-assembled-2-2-diesel-begin/

• Hehe. Basher got his just desserts from none other than da bos man himself! Thanks PT!

• Ahmadjr on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:50 pm

Aiyak sudah salah. Sorry geng. Malaysia boleh. One love

• Ronnachai on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:23 pm

https://paultan.org/2007/12/12/proton-sells-over-1000-cars-in-thailand-in-2-weeks/

• Next time banyakan membaca. Jangan main tembak je

• The gambar sure or not? Lady with long eyelashes working with engine block.

• @Ronnachai yes, in 2007 Proton starting very well.
    few month later, Nissan March launched, story ended.

@Paul Tan, I admitted that Malaysian plant assembly Mazda5 neatly.