2018 Adiva AD1 and AD2 three-wheelers coming to Malaysia – manufacturing hub to be established

Interesting news for the Malaysian motorcycle market in the shape of Italian three-wheeler maker Adiva, who is launching the 2018 Adiva AD1 200 and Adiva AD2 400 three-wheelers in the third quarter. Manufacturing a range of roofed three-wheelers ranging in size from 125 cc to 400 cc, Adiva uses various Peugeot engines for power.

Touting itself as a global brand with engineering sourced from various countries including Japan, and manufactured in Taiwan, Adiva offers a range of six three-wheelers. The AD1 and AD2 have been previously launched in Singapore, imported from Taiwan.

However, for Malaysia, a brand-new corporate entity has been formed for distribution of the Adiva AD 1 and AD2, with assembly done by DNC Asiatic. According to some predictions, the AD1 and AD2 will be launched towards the end of the year.

With regards to local assembly, DNC Asiatic representative Nik Danial Nik Mahmood is putting in effort to establish Malaysia as an manufacturing centre for Adiva in South-east Asia and China. Should all go to plan, Adiva will be the first international motorcycle brand to select Malaysia as a production hub.

Elaborating on this, Nik Danial said Malaysia has several unique advantages compared to Thailand and Indonesia that makes it attractive to overseas manufacturers. He said one examples of this is Malaysia does not require the manufacturer to invest in the construction of a new manufacturing facility, and allowed to choose a third-party as an assembler.

GALLERY: 2018 Adiva AD1 200

GALLERY: 2018 Adiva AD2 400

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• rosdi on Jan 22, 2018 at 6:04 pm

This is backward. Other countries are moving to electric but we are introducing this.

Hopefully this goes kaput and businesses will get the message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
  • Still need stand with 3 wheels? funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • sohai on Jan 22, 2018 at 8:22 pm

3 wheel motorcycle can use b2 license or not ah?

• Krishan on Jan 22, 2018 at 9:38 pm

Interesting

• The advantages of Malaysia as a production hub mention in the article also means that the company is just testing the market and there is a chance that it will pull out if sales don’t meet expectaions

• MY is to be the manufacturing hub for ASEAN. They will be testing ASEAN market, not just MY only.

• Interesting bike. Kinda like those Taqbin carrier bikes in nippon.

• Adiva Rider @SG on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:01 am

Hi Paul It AD1 200cc and AD3 400cc

• Simon on Jan 24, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Think of a better alternative for poor weather transport including rain, wind and sun + delivery!

• Jammer on Jan 24, 2018 at 3:04 pm

Now those who can’t balance on two wheels can ride.

• komarad on Jan 24, 2018 at 3:40 pm

in Malaysian vehicle classification, 3 or 4 wheels considered as class 1 traffic….so

• Paolo on Jun 02, 2022 at 7:59 pm

Hi,
    i will buy an adiva ad1 soon, the changes you made to your ad1 are exceptional, i love them.
    I’d like to know how you did add plexiglas for the cover rain,
    marvelous.

Paolo M.