DBKL: Reserved parking bays only for business hours

Finally found a parking space only to find that it’s a reserved parking bay? Those “DBKL Sewa” parking bays are legally tenanted from the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), but they are not supposed to be blocked 24/7 and there are designated hours.

According to the council’s economic planning and development department director Azmi Abdul Hamid, the bays are only rented to businesses from 7.30am to 6pm from Mondays to Saturdays. “After 6pm daily, Sundays and public holidays the bays are open to the public,” he told Malay Mail.

The DBKL man said that there have been many complaints received from the public about the reserved bays with red lines locked with a pole beyond the time frame. He added that as a start, all car park tenants will be sent a notice to remind them of the valid times as this was not enforced before. After a warning, the next step will be to not renew their tenancy, which is due every three months.

“There will never be enough parking and the idea is to not create more available parking so people will take public transport. But for this, we have to ensure there is fair enforcement,” he said.

There are a total of 3,883 parking bays leased out for RM400 per month in the central business district, while bays outside the city centre are to let for RM215 to RM240. Azmi said many reserved parking bay tenants complain that if they don’t block the bays after business hours, the reserved bays will be occupied the following day. “We have a few times got the tow trucks to tow the vehicles away. But they have to adhere to the law, it’s for official operating hours only,” he stressed.

As for business owners who block parking bays for their own use without applying from DBKL, they will face enforcement. “The enforcement team has disposed of all sorts of items like car tyres, bins, broken furniture that were used to block the parking bays but it is back to square one days later,” he said, adding that several business owners have been fined RM500 for obstruction.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Omar Merican on Feb 26, 2018 at 5:35 pm

I go Bangsar all the ulat rizab the bays. DBKL and Polis got no balls to halau them.

They ask RM5 and some RM10. Once I did not pay, they scratched my car teruk teruk.

So much for PDRM and DBKL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 14
    • Dzaman on Feb 26, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Many illegal keropok & burger stalls operate on KL parking bays and pedestrian walkways..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Omar Merican on Feb 26, 2018 at 7:34 pm

In Damansara Utama, MBPJ officers to scared to sound the workshops who put tayar and cones to reserve up to even 5 bays each. This is day time somemore. Bays are not even reserved. Yellow box mah

Last time I complained, MBPJ officer just smile and say cannot do anything

then lunch time, I saw MBPJ officer having makan with the car workshop owner and laughing away happily

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
    • Of cuz got no balls. Its reserved by them.
      Park at yellow box parking lots, or theres plenty besides the BHP/ TOMS/ SHELL, or the rows of parking at Lorong Maarof or Jalan Telawi up to Jalan Terasek or go to Lucky Gardens, or behind the mosque (but sometimes they do pasar malam there), or multistorey parkings at BV1&2 and Jolly Green, or infront of closed showrooms facing main road. As a commercial area, Bangsar has ample parking spaces if u dun lazy to walk. Stop whining and exercise instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 111
      • Omar Merican on Feb 26, 2018 at 7:32 pm

Yellow box also ulat reserved. So what to do? Polis and DBKL so scared to touch the ulat.

By the way, did you read the article? Reserved parking is only for business hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 91
        • Hahaha. Sorry to burst ur fake news bub, but those places I mentioned got no ulats except ur kind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 32
        • Oh, and “Reserved parking is only for business hours.”
          Have u even been to Bangsar dude? Do u even know what business hours means at here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 751 Thumb down 43
          • IGP mom on Feb 28, 2018 at 10:42 am

Does it matter what’s the business hour at Bangsar? Read the article please … “from 7.30am to 6pm from Mondays to Saturdays.” irrespective of how you define your business hour.

• Suhaimi on Feb 26, 2018 at 11:51 pm

see who are the DBKL workers and PDRM workers. You will understand why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • U picked the wrong place when u quoting Bangsar dude. Its my ‘hood yo. No messing with my ‘hood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Low_cost on Feb 27, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Pantai Dalam aka bangsar south..

• Marketing gimmick. Check the address and its still Kampung Kerinchi. Im a true blue Bangsarian.

• Go pick somewhere else far like Georgetown.

• Geng Cukur on Feb 26, 2018 at 8:59 pm

Ulat rizab supporters detected…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 26, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Try parking in front of Ken TTDI. Those “Valet Parking” gangsters from Ken will claim the public road belongs to them, must pay them parking fee.

• More like a “Private parking” then..

Really good seeing those ppl abused the oku parking being tow’ed, now those double parkers should be expected next, their convenience in the expense of others’, bloody fools.

For those abusers who wanted to save parking fee then stay at home, use the public transports with some walks. You’ll save alot n burn your fats stucked in the brain.

• I bypass this problem completely by not driving into KL at all and choose to drive to more parking-friendly spots in urban Selangor. The only time I’m in KL is via MRT/LRT or merely cutting through to get to other states. Besides, there is hardly a reason for me to go to KL anyway because I can get things done elsewhere or online. Luckily I dont live and work in expensive KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Smokey on Feb 26, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Oug pasar area, some shops expanding their business until a few parking bays are taken…pls do something

• calldisc on Feb 26, 2018 at 10:42 pm

one word to all of us – uber.

• Bernard on Feb 26, 2018 at 11:07 pm

Poor infrastructure planning , over development , short term thinking etc led to all this….no foresight

• Ben Yap on Feb 27, 2018 at 9:48 am

go to hartamas and you can see those jaga kereta boys asking for money for those who park at public places. police and dbkl dare not stop the extortion.

• st2wp1d on Feb 27, 2018 at 9:59 am

kalau siap dikunci, bermangga bagai how? dbkl can unlock?

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 27, 2018 at 11:16 am

My view is to go, where possible, online/digital.

• All over at Klang Valley mamak restoran/other restoran use parking bay as makan place. Dah lah ppl wan Park no parking. Pls stop them mis use tis parking bay.

• lee cheng san on Mar 04, 2018 at 8:37 am

all said, shop owners are still blocking the bays on evenings and sundays, is this all talk? or some actions will be taken?

• Diana Low on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Same la with those ulat at front of APW. Gangsters valet snatched couple of public parking bays for their valet parkings..wtf

• cschong9596 on Apr 15, 2018 at 9:57 am

where to complain those who offense the rules?

• How about mpsj what is the rules

• Nie dbkl jgn buat buta jer…..Di tengkat tong shin skrg Sudah ramai ulat parking…..bila Tanya mereka kata Sudah bayar pow dgn pegawai dbkl Dan polis…..harap pihak bertanggungjawab dpt selesai Kan hal nie….

• Shevanti on Nov 07, 2022 at 12:33 pm

How do i complain about ppl parking in my reserved parking during my working hours? i run an animal clinic with a lot of elderly clients and elderly patients who cannot walk and need to be carried. Especially with big dogs, this is very problematic.

• Shevanti on Nov 07, 2022 at 12:36 pm

The article is actually incorrect. I have private parking. My contract states for the duration of my working hours. Perhaps its different for clinics, im not sure. But i double checked with DBKL and confirmed it.