Ford UK takes orders for Fiesta Active – from RM98k

The seventh-generation Ford Fiesta made its world debut back in November 2016, and one of the most interesting variants besides the row-your-own ST is the higher-riding Fiesta Active. Ford UK has finally started taking orders for it, and prices start from 17,790 British pounds (RM98k).

Three variants – Active 1, Active B&O Play and Active X – of the Fiesta Active form the model line-up, each sporting a rugged styling kit with Active badging and styling cues, rough-road suspension with increased ride height, roof rails, front fog lights and 17-inch five-spoke alloy wheels.

On the outside, the Fiesta Active B&O Play differentiates itself with sportier black highlights on the roof, roof rails and side mirrors caps. All variants can be had in a range of striking colours, but the optional two-part panoramic sliding roof is only available for the Active 1 and Active X.

Inside, the Active B&O Play gets a yellow themed cabin with additional features such as cruise control, rain sensing wipers, auto-dimming rear view mirror, a centre console with armrest and illuminated cup holders. Also on are items like the 4.2-inch display in the instrument cluster with traffic sign recognition and 10-speaker B&O Play premium audio system with 360-degree sound.

Ford’s SYNC 3 infotainment system (with eight-inch touchscreen display) with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support is standard for all models, but only the top-of-the-line Active X variant gets GPS navigation system with DAB radio. It also gains the KeyFree system with keyless entry/start and a rear-view camera with rear parking sensors.

Customers can choose between a three-cylinder direct injection 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine with four different outputs – 85 PS, 100 PS, 125 PS and 140 PS (CO2 emissions from 105 g/km), and the motor is paired with a new six-speed manual gearbox. A 1.5 litre TDCi turbodiesel is also offered, outputting 85 PS or 120 PS. Engine start-stop tech and Active Grille Shutter are standard.

There are three selectable drive modes: Eco, Normal and Slippery, while rough-terrain capabilities are enhanced by the adoption of Ford’s Electronic Stability Programme (ESP) with Hill Start Assist. For manual versions, the car comes with a new Eco button which adjusts engine and throttle mappings to help drivers save even more fuel.

Lastly, safety. All models feature six airbags with front and rear seatbelt pre-tensioners as standard. Also on is the usual suite of safety – ABS with EBD, ESC and more. Again, the Fiesta Active 1 is priced from 17,790 pounds (RM98k), B&O Play from 19,190 pounds (RM106k) and Active X from 20,290 pounds (RM112k).

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ahmadjr on Mar 20, 2018 at 6:20 pm

Dalam macam mazda

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 20, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Malaysians already learnt their lesson. The old Fiesta was a big hit. But then problem after problem. Continuous breakdowns. Dual clutch always rosak. Sime Darby have to order parts 3 months etc. Super expensive parts too.

Now, Fiesta and Focus got ZERO sales Ford SDAC only sales come from the Ranger.

I think this Active….no point coming to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • Fiesta owner on Mar 20, 2018 at 7:20 pm

First of all yup the TCM is the problem but its not always rosak and the clutch doesn’t give any problems so far. Parts for three months? I think u never own fiesta but just pandai cakap. The TCM only takes a week, maximum 3 weeks. Zero sales? You better get your facts right before main hantam saja.

• Yazeed on Mar 21, 2018 at 4:46 pm

I am a FIESTA owner & going on 5th year now…Yes the TCM you say not always ROSAK, but will ALWAYS Jerk and Judder thus the whole car would shake and eventually the driver would need to make an appoinment with the brain surgent due to the daily concusions experienced

This April, this blooming car will be going on with a 3rd clutch replacement. Thankfully FORD Malaysia gave an extended 2 years warranty, (if they dont, i’d probably burn down their service center). If No Warranty, i would have to fork up my own money…RM 3K.

With this new clutch, they claim the bloody Mat Salleh’s at Ford had fixed the Jerking & Juddering issue. Thats wat they claimed on the second clutch replacement. In between we’ve had countless amount of Clutch calibrations. It werks fine first two weeks than back to normal, Jerks & Judders!!!!!

To do scheduled service, have to make an appoinment ahead like you want to schedule for a brain transplant. Got one time also…call today only get appoinment two weeks later!!!!!!!!

I dont deny that the car handles well, built quality is good, looks good…But jerks and judders and low revs????!!!!…And the BLODDY MAT SALLEH’s are highlighting on the grandeur of its technology (ie.the Dual Dry Clutch) why??…maybe to blind people on its engineering feat & not noticing that shakes at low revs..Dunno mayber…..Pair it with a normal torque converter or a CVT for all i care…its powered with 1.6 NA engine only whatt…!!!! And Wats the point of fitting superb clutch when it jerks/judders and has to be replaced every two years…Ingat tukar pampers ka apa ni???

Sorry bro…Not mad at you…But it felt it had to be pointed out to your comment. If you say you have no problem, majority of Ford owners express the same issue. including Ranger…And moral of the story…AVOID FORD AT ALL COST!!!

• Fiesta owner on Mar 22, 2018 at 10:12 am

5th year already 3rd clutch replacement. Mine is same as yours but ive never replace the clutch so far because the SC checked and its still in good condition. I dunno ow u hantam your car bro. Jerking and juddering??? Its a freaking DCT (automated manual transmission) ofc it jerks. Manuals do jerk. Live with it. Im sure u never drive high end car with DCT. If you do, you wont complain at all

• I agree with u. My Ford Fiesta i bought 3 years ago. Still kicking. That fellow just bla bla bla.. Bashing Ford Fiesta like he own one.

• no point coming to Malaysia. Just happen to know a large number govt-sponsored scholars in UK. Decided staying abroad after completing their degrees, went in hiding and have no intention of paying back.

great career and life opportunities abroad….no point coming back to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Bernard on Mar 20, 2018 at 7:15 pm

Yes but if come here, ridiculous msian pricing will be imposed on the rakyat.

• Johnny on Mar 20, 2018 at 11:22 pm

This is another great car. Hope it will land in Malaysia soon!!!

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 20, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Come to think about it…nothing in our market beats the performance, looks and engineering of the previous gen fiesta for this segment. Actually Ford should further strengthen their after-sales and set up a regional warehouse in Malaysia.

• still no sign of new fiesta coming to our shores…not even thailand…

• The sign should come from both Thailand and Australia. If they’re not getting it, then chances are we’re not getting it either.

• Didn’t know older Fiesta quite problematic, too bad for the owner..! but this newer one were fitted with premium Bang&Olufson car audio.! like m’sian like to say ” kau ada?” ;)