During the inauguration of the RM14.4 million Tangkak racing circuit in Johor, Youth and Sports (KBS) minister Khairy Jamaluddin promised a racing circuit in every state in Malaysia. Khairy said this was inline with the government’s plan to support and encourage the motorsports industry in Malaysia.

This is part of the National Motorsports Development programme to identify and nurture young racers and elevate them to international level. In addition to the Tangkak circuit, which measures 1.2 km, built and owned by KBS, another circuit will open this year in Jengka, Pahang.

The Jengka circuit measures 2.4 km in length with a capacity of 2,000 spectators and will cost RM40 million. Meanwhile, the Terengganu state government has announced that a motorsports complex will be built adjacent to the Dungun Velodrome.

Launch of the Tangkak circuit coincided with the opening round of the 2018 Malaysian Cub Prix Championship, which is in its 25th edition. Three classes were contested, the CP150, CP115 and Wira KBS, which were won by Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin of Johor, Tengku Amirul Haffirudin of Terengganu and Danial Syahmi of Perak, respectively.