Modern LED headlamps too bright for safety – RAC

Modern car headlamps can be too bright and can dazzle other road users as a result, according to RAC, an automotive body in the United Kingdom, as reported by The Telegraph. The automotive body reported that 15% of drivers have encountered a near-miss due to being dazzled by said headlamps, and a United Nations working group has been set up to explore the possible factors.

The rise in popularity of LED lights in automobiles was likely due to the perceived brightness offered. “LED light is more directional. Rather than being big spread of light which comes from a halogen bulb, LED light is more focused. It is also a traditionally brighter light which appears as blue white, hence why it appears brighter in the dark,” said Stephen Dixon, a lighting expert at the Quality Light Source Factory.

The RAC also chimed in. “The intensity and brightness of some new car headlights is clearly causing difficulty for other road users. Headlight technology has advanced considerably in recent years, but while that may be better for the drivers of those particular vehicles, it is presenting an unwanted, new road safety risk for anyone driving towards them or even trying to pull out at a junction,” said spokesman Pete Williams.

Drivers also find it very distracting when they have to contend with being dazzled by bright lights in their rear view mirrors, Williams continued. “While regulations specify that all types of dipped headlights must fall between a maximum and minimum luminosity the night-time driving experience of motorists of all ages is very different with many saying dipped beams of some modern vehicles are too bright,” he added.

That said, there will be forthcoming dialogue on this subject. “We look forward to seeing the progress of the United Nations’ vehicle lighting working group in April,” Williams said. Closer to home, we’re certainly no stranger to LED headlamps and other high-intensity discharge variants.

We’ve all surely been dazzled by said type of headlamps at least once. What are your thoughts on this, dear readers? Where should legislation sit?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight concerns about the excessive brightness of modern LED headlamps causing glare and on-road safety issues, especially with high-end models like BMW X5 and Mercedes. Many drivers experience dazzle from OEM LED and HID lights, particularly when headlights are poorly adjusted or mounted too high. There are calls for stricter regulation and revision of ECE standards, emphasizing that brightness alone isn't the sole problem—beam focus and setting are equally crucial. Some comments note that halogen lights can also dazzle if poorly adjusted. The issue seems to be amplified in Malaysia due to aftermarket retrofit LED bulbs and the lack of effective enforcement, with suggestions for law reforms and better headlight calibration to improve safety for all road users.

• Legislate all SUV & MPV & truck lights to be same level from ground same same as cars. This will help prevent headlight blindness.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • meanwhile p1 n p2 owners sibuk2 nk install LED anywhere they seems fit! from crap car to pipu berhias car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • Phyzul on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:18 pm

If you are a Proton Preve or Suprima owner, it is rather common to experience weak light beam and frequent burned head light bulbs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
        • Still okay, got foglights. Mivi rear lights alwiz kaput, often all 3. When driving behind these cars, need to keep 2-3 car lengths away cuz when they E brake, nobody will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
      • sohai on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Not only LED alone problem… But HID super bright, Extra-watt-lamp install, all cause problem… But P drive thru/oppo oso buat taktau no take action…

• ali00 on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:31 pm

I face that alot on night time darky road. So bright but that is still without high beam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Especially kia and Hyundai. Should ask them refitted with normal lamp when sold here.

• diss-illusions on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:37 pm

YES!! some Body has said it. Find that BMWs Laser LED are a bit slow in responding to oncoming traffics. Mercs are much better. I don’t drive either (no, not a sour grape – these cars are just to aplenty – not worth the premium paid for exclusivity but that’s a separate issue) so I believe my suspicions are now verified.

JPJ, please also review Myvi’s headlamp level coming out of the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • CRV, BRV, Accord and Civic too … JPJ should review the headlight level!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • All follow ECE guideline. Macam mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Not just follow ece.any car with headlamp that can couse blindness should refitted with normal lamp.white light not suitable for car.

• Mercs don’t have Laser Light in their cars here & the only BMW that has it is the 730Le & 740Li. They only work at highway speeds.

• tkling on Apr 11, 2018 at 1:17 pm

we noticed all Perodua head lamp are too high….. when you flash them, they flash you higher, then I realised they are on low beam…! What a lamp from manufacturer??

• Keith on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:42 pm

The F30, current gen X5, and the previous gen CR-V comes into mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • X5 headlight failed on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Agreed with this. I’ve met lots of X5 on the road and 10 out of 10 of them are glaring my sight from the opposite of the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Simon on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Absolutely. I have been blinded many times by the new BMWs lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • BMW X5! YES YES YES! Blinded for 3 seconds whenever they come through from opposite direction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • BMW=BestManWin on Apr 10, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Blame solely on jpj. They’d tested all new models coming here during daytime and nighttime and found it deemed to be fit on our road. That’s what I’ve been told by their chief engineer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • If passed ECE standards which JPJ follows, still salahan JPJ ke?

• If too many people complain that mean ece standard does not work and should be revised.

• kobealex on Apr 10, 2018 at 9:45 pm

I can agree with this too as i have drove an F30 and being followed by the same one as well. As a driver its good, but as a road user its blardy irritating.

I do hope BMW and others can look into this matter.

• stastasta on Apr 11, 2018 at 3:45 pm

this exactly . brighter lights is obviously good for the driver of the car, but bad for everyone else.

• myotism on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:45 pm

i don’t think brightness is the problem, its more to the headlight optics/headlight beam focus design, and beam height setting.

i have been blinded many times by normal halogen low beam too, didn’t see any headlines on halogen too bright … its always HID before, and now LED, that is the target.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • MeToo on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:50 pm

It gets worse in Malaysia when drivers retrofit their halogen headlights with LED lights which blinds every other road users..

JPJ pls do your job….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Its not just retrofit. Standard new car also problem especially kia and new model from jao

• Hmm.. Much Hmm... on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:18 pm

The bright LED can hardly even be compared to xenon or high intensity bulbs some Malaysians replaced in their regular headlamp car. That is, headlamps that isn’t designed to be paired with such bulbs. I’m guessing the outcome of this rule wouldn’t be affecting us in any positive manner.

• LED vs HID vs Halogen on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:55 pm

It depends whether your car original headlights are projector or reflector. If it is projector type, you can fit most LED or HID bulb and it doesn’t dazzle oncoming cars. If your car has reflector type, please stick to your halogen bulbs. Know the difference and know your limitations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:25 pm

True.
    Better to have automatically controlled variable brightness. Driver is unable to adjust.

• tokmoh. on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:28 pm

I dislike white lights because it gives me headache.

Smartphones nowadays all come with “night mode”, “blue light filter” etc, it’s because there’s studies that white colour has blue light wave that can be tiring, even disturb your sleeping pattern.

LED headlamps mostly are around 6000K colour temperature, too white. It should be dropped to 4000K, a little more yellowish and better for the eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • I drink to this, I think most of Malaysian road users. Top BMW X5, F30 and New Myvi. These intensity are for cold country where driving especially in the winter needs brighter lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Eddie Danu on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:01 pm

Honda City with LED headlamps is equally as bad.

• Ekceli City and Civic LED isnt bright. Lotsa owner complain their LED lights not bright enuff.

• new myvi user on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:08 pm

why targetting myvis? conti cars have brighter luminosity then myvi though.

• Conti cars r adjusted well. Mivi is adjusted shiok sendri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • 12yrsold on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:10 am

Conti cars r adjusted well !!? john, this article is about Led headlamp too bright for safety(RAC) la.

• U try compare 5Series LEDs with Mivi LEDs. Ur eyes will die faster in front of Mivi shiok sendri adjustment.

• But nowadays mostly we do had auto dimming mirror rite. It’s not much a big deal but do concern about the level of such suv and lowered cars like sport or sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • My auto dimming rear view mirror on 2017 Accord is hopeless. Half the time doesn’t activate. Baik letak manual flip down.

• pengayuhbasikal on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:19 pm

LED white light…during raining or foggy … need to give extra attention to the road ahead…

• Yeah, I said this years ago but got bashed by saying these factory-installed LEDs are under tight regulations bla2.

The problem is not really a brightness, but the choice of using white/blueish ray that has shorter wavelength which really irritates human eyes compared to ol’ school amber-yellowish bulbs. You can google the danger of long exposure to blue light.

• BOYRACER on Apr 10, 2018 at 7:01 pm

I have to agree with this.Modern LED lights do dazzle oncoming vehicles but not 100% of the the time.On a flat road it’s alright but when you coming up a hill and the car coming from the opposite is at the crest of the hill going down,that’s when it really dazzles.

• Not because of LED but the position of the headlights. I hate BMW X5 the most, so annoying especially it is on opposite direction. I thought this high end BMW model has adaptive lighting and high-beam assistance. Seems not intelligent at all. Is it me only or you guys also experiencing the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Rizal on Apr 10, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Latest BMW and Merc headlight macam jilaka. So glaring and temporary blind you especially when they flash on the highway to give way for them. Certain Northern State driver drives these Contis like the highway belongs to their grandfather.

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 10, 2018 at 8:58 pm

no one blame hilux/fortuner LED headlamp..toyota like to care people..so we give you VSC..

• If you’re behind another car and your light is shining at the back of the other driver’s head/rear view mirror, either you have high beams on or if not, your headlights are set too high

• Astigmatisme on Apr 10, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Yes, finally someone has bring up this long overdue problem I face especially driving at night. I really hope the relevant authority could come up with a solution for this

• Those hid and led with reflective headlamp one worst.

• pailtin auto on Apr 10, 2018 at 10:56 pm

Lampu terang salah..lampu tk terang pun salah, pakai lampu minyak tanah je lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Thank God, there’s news on this bright lights. I thought since its already manufactured, maybe it’s the new thing. It’s like a normal car using the bright light, instead of a lower light. It makes the oncoming cars to feel staring at the extreme brightness. Hope the Malaysian authority will look into this.

• Muhammad Nor on Apr 10, 2018 at 11:56 pm

Betul tu, sakit mata kalau bawa kereta malam-malam.

• tenuk on Apr 11, 2018 at 12:10 am

im using preve,and always got kaput sebelah problem,bru nk plan tukar led,cm x jd je,stick to kaput problem back

• Lorry or any big truck not used led light. They Only used yellow light its help a lot during raining. Estima got both light.

• Merc light suck. Prefer halogen light as can see better on low beam but with LED, it’s so focus that other area look so dark that you find that you need to use high beam to see better even when facing on coming cars.

• Ben Yap on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:00 am

15% of drivers have encountered a near-miss due to being dazzled by said headlamp is only a small percentage. 85% of them have no complains. this 15% are unskillful drivers and need to go back to driving school. my civic 1.5 tcp with white led lights also no problem. no one said anything about my lights except that it’s beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Okina on Apr 13, 2018 at 10:32 pm

The 85% are actually cursing you from within their car. Silence does not necessarily mean acceptance.

• passion on Apr 11, 2018 at 11:19 am

Ah finally Paul Tan picked up on this. thanks. i was suffering in silence thinking there is something wrong with me. now i really hope all the after sales depts will check on the cars when they are sent in for service or do a product recall ASAP to fix it.

• Don’t forget the Vios rear for lights too.

• No i have yet to experience dazzling by led lights. I refer solely to manufacturer OEM lights. Not aftermarket.
    But if you stand too close to a stationary car with its led’s on, it is dazzling. But thats not its purpose. I dont think we should be too quick to jump to conclusions.

• I’ve been glared so many times from yellow halogen cars… many many times, yet nobody talk about it?? Everybody blames the HID and LED… smh…. if speaking about change from halogen to led, if the owner use latest technology led bulbs most probably its way better… try do some research about CREE or ZES led bulb chip, the light pattern mimics the halogen filament…. Also, have anyone ever met a car that dont do proper adjustment and glares so much yet its only yellow halogen light? I bet some of you did but choose to sink it in because whenever see white light cars everybody starts to losing their minds, and even blames the ECE…. hahaha so funny

• All United Nation ECE officers must having glaucoma…

• SherryC on Dec 20, 2022 at 4:46 am

Honda light is stupid,i swear i will never want to get any of them although their model design is more preferable than toyota

• SherryC on Dec 20, 2022 at 4:48 am

Honda headlight is the most annoying on road,i swear i will never want to get any of them although their model design is more preferable than toyota