FIRST LOOK: Borgward BX5 and BX7 in Malaysia – we talk about the brand, looks, build quality and price

Chinese-owned German brand Borgward is set to enter the Malaysian car market very soon, doing so with two SUVs – the BX5 and BX7 made their first public appearance in the country at the ongoing Malaysia Autoshow 2018.

The examples on show are left-hand drive units, but local assembly of right-hand drive versions are set to follow, with a CKD programme expected to kick off sometime in the third quarter. It was previously reported that local production will also cater for export to other ASEAN markets.

Borgward, which was formed in 1919 before going bankrupt in 1961, was resurrected in 2015 – the brand is owned by Chinese automaker Beiqi Foton Motor, a subsidiary of BAIC Group. The BX7, which made its debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show in 2015, heralded the brand’s return.

The 4.7 metre-long SUV, available in five, six or seven-seat versions, is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot offering 224 PS at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. It’s paired with a six-speed automatic transmission, and the SUV is equipped with a permanent all-wheel drive system.

The BX5, meanwhile, is a slightly more compact five-seater. Motive power is provided by a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine offering 190 PS and 280 Nm, with a six-speed auto transmission and all-wheel drive again on call. There’s also a downsized 1.4 litre turbo four-pot with 150 PS and 250 Nm available in China. Local specs have yet to be revealed.

As for pricing, nothing has been confirmed just yet, but on-site reps have mentioned that the BX5 will be “under RM100k,” while the BX7 will go for “under RM200k.” How much under, we’ll have to wait and see. Watch this video as we talk about the revived brand and take a closer look at the two SUVs, exploring their styling and quality.

GALLERY: Borgward BX5

GALLERY: Borgward BX7

GALLERY: Borgward BX7 TS

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Borgward BX5 and BX7 mainly focus on their looks, build quality, and pricing, with some expressing optimism about China's rapid automotive progress and potential to surpass Korean brands. Many are skeptical about Chinese quality and reliability, citing past issues and global reputation, and prefer established Japanese, German, and Korean brands due to concerns over longevity and after-sales service. There are discussions about pricing expectations, with some expecting the BX7 to be over RM170k, and doubts about Chinese brands penetrating the Malaysian market dominated by Western and Japanese products. Overall, opinions are mixed, with a general tendency to remain cautious about Chinese cars, citing quality and brand perception concerns, but some recognize China's potential to improve and compete in the future.

• AlternatePersona on Apr 27, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Nasty interior quality, questionable after-sales, unknown parts pricing, but priced against Japanese counterparts?

Hmm how about no.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 257 Thumb down 18
    • Hussein Al- Attas on Apr 27, 2018 at 6:52 pm

You just described Proton and Geely. Who dare spend RM100k on a China car?

It is not like you are buying a Xiaomi handphone for RM499. If rosak, you can just throw it in a bin.

But when you spend RM100k on a China car….you cannot throw it away into the bin if it is a crappy car.

China cars gonna have a hard time to sell in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 23
      • Potongstim on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:27 pm

And Proton still at…. naming contest stage

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 6
        • Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:49 pm

Proton still having their nasi lemak bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 7
          • Laughable on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:24 am

So-called ‘German’ brand but few steps behind Japanese. LOL

• But it’s a game changer, ain’t it? And we have matt damon. Oh wai…

• RIP China Car on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Even Haval cannot sell in Malaysia. And 1 year old Haval now can get for RM30k. Like 70% reduction in price

We can see where Boyue is headed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 14
          • Gopal on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:20 pm

China car can never penetrate a market like Malaysia which glorifies Western Products and Japanese products.

Why do you think Marks and Spencer do so well in Malaysia? It is our appetite for Western quality goods

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • Kenneth on Apr 28, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Everybody predict Boyue will be overpriced. Nothing less than RM100k.

I better buy Subaru Forester RM116k. No 1 SUV in Australia and top seller in USA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
          • Nik abduh on Apr 29, 2018 at 8:28 am

China car improve a lot bruh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
          • notakata on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:48 pm

China make junk cars. Still cannot sell in first world countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Volvo China world car of the year in first world countries

• Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:07 pm

Haval H9 now selling RM200k. Dream on China. Dream On.

Who in Mesia want to buy RM200k China car?

Same with Geely….dream on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 10
          • But expensive ipong from china laku keras

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
          • Kenneth on Apr 28, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Boyue RM100k
            Subaru Forester RM116k

One car from company started in 1997. Another car from company very old and established.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
          • basherlogic on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:54 pm

No way will I buy a China car ever. Same like Poison baby milk

• Basherlogic on Apr 30, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Wow China car basher used my name. You dun know how to think new names? Let me suggest you some names for you:

#sushinoquality
            #alzaaxletercabut
            #lagibestlagtinmilo
            #8xsushi8xsakeaday
            #airbagskillpipu
            #RVgoesintodrain
            #1stroundmasuklongkang
            #sushinothingtoshoutabout
            #sampanhandling
            #flyontoroof
            #syoksendirigazooiracing

• Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:31 am

Haval sales is very bad cause people know RV is very bad.

Any China car will have bad RV. Buyer beware.

Think 100X before you buy a China car. Proton + China car will be even worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • Teh Boon Hock on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:07 pm

House and Car are the 2 biggest investments for 90% of Malaysians. I don’t think Malaysians will risk buying a China car.

If China can sell poison milk and many infants died, anything is possible with China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • notakata on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Even high quality Korean cars could not succeed in Malaysia. Kia and Hyundai sales like kaput. How China cars want to lawan Jepunis?

• kzm (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 119
        • Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:35 pm

This is why all car companies are investing in Thailand instead of Malaysia….because of our thinking and lazy attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • The japanese car salesmen are shivering right now!! Like his own comment so more!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
      • Honda japanese laku keras!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
        • notakata on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Kia and Hyundai so high quality also kalah to Jepunis sales.

How China want to lawan Jepunis?

• Teh Boon Hock on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Geely and Proton salesman no need to shiver. Already DOA

• Gopal on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:30 pm

Spoken to so many people. All of them say they dare not touch Geely or any China cars.

Like a muscular slim sportsman on the outside but deep inside, all his arteries are clogged up and his heart will get heart attack soon

• Berapa hargz...tu je i nak tahu apa susah on Apr 27, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Wats the price?? U say talk price .whre got price…u fake news ka…habisla lu…rip PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 74
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Watch the video, buddy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Hussein Al- Attas on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Imagine in China, these two cars are priced same same as CRV and HRV

The arrogance of China brands. But in China they will sell lah cause their rakyat patriotic.

In Malaysia, I don’t think Malaysians have a high regard for China brands other than handphones ie Oppo, Huawei and Xiaomi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
        • RIP China Car on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Even Chinese in Malaysia dare not buy China brand…apa lagi orang lain?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 17
          • Citizen on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:10 pm

Even Malay also worried to buy a Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 9
          • Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:08 pm

worried is not the word. Malu is the word

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
          • hahaha on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:38 am

Only you. You say all those pipu buy P1 are tak malu? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
    • Hussein Al- Attas on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:28 pm

OMG, BX7 price is under RM200k. Are China makers crazy. Even in Hafriz words, quality is few steps lower compared to Japanese brands.

This is an indication how much Boyue will cost. Definitely over RM100k. But who in Malaysia dare to buy a China car for RM100k?

A good Japanese SUV 7 seater like Nissan X-trail is only RM126k after discounts.

I rather get a time tested and proven Japanese car that is sold in over 200 countries worldwide.

China car, 99% is sold in China. It is hardly sold globally.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
      • RIP China Car on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:59 pm

You can ketuk the plastics all you want but you don’t know the inside engine quality.

2 years later engine rosak or gear box fail. Then you cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
        • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 28, 2018 at 11:42 am

The gearbox rosak the most is punch CVT. Engine rosak the most is Proton turbo cars. Everyday owners reporting issues over in forum.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
      • seancorr (Member) on Apr 28, 2018 at 12:05 am

The X trial doesn’t have some kit that the other Japanese brands have so no choice but to sell cheap. Tag on the standard kit and watch the price go up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:36 am

i rather buy a 2 airbag Japanese car with track record than a China car which has no track record

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
          • nosushi on Apr 28, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Pipu should go for 6 airbags preve than 2 airbags jepunis car, Better safe than sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
          • syoksendiri on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:04 am

Saga ada berapa airbags?

• Notakata on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:31 pm

jepunis airbags kaput, you go early afterdeath

• Hafriz : Over here, cutiepie…

• Roti john on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:07 pm

In this article about borgward, hafriz did look awkward.. His arms looking too small for his head. Is that a camera trick?

• sonyman on Apr 27, 2018 at 6:58 pm

what happen to Korean cars news ah? lately a lot of Geely, Borgward ( Hogward ) and Nio NX, BAIC news. And Even BYD, BYTON,

Korea Mana?

• Ok? I dah jawab YB sonyman on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:00 pm

S k…busy with N k…no.time for cars..thry worried sicko fat boy will nuke this since now he knows whre and which roads to use…v v pandai u..ni si gemuk

• sonyman on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:00 pm

So hopefully they will improve on quality and pricing as well then it be difficult for Japanese.

Especially Nissan and toyota UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
  • Prof valuer on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:12 pm

I value this at 50k onli..the boyee much fanfare etc should be lower…so since its 100k and above just keep in mainland china..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
  • Prof valuer on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Also those cockoo who buy china cars including boyee..do seal all hinges like doors bumpers windscreens with cement or black tape…its will fall off and will cause many accidents of highway k..#malaysianlifematters..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 12
    • Sonyman on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Never underestimate china cars. 10 years ago they were unheard of. Today they are here. The next 10 years everyone will be driving one. Just like Japanese vs Europe and american. Today it be the chinese. Next will be indian cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
      • Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:12 pm

i hardly see any China cars in USA, Europe, Canada, Australia, Japan etc

So what are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
        • Nat Ryder on Apr 28, 2018 at 8:11 am

Of course you don’t see China cars in US, most of them are not allowed to be sold there. Have you been to Egypt, North Africa? Almost all of the cars are China cars or Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
      • Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:38 am

China cars are only bought by their 1.5 billion population. Until today, it has little International growth.

Malaysia will be the guinea pig test market. They are testing it out here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • nosushi on Apr 28, 2018 at 5:52 pm

So you have to say 1.5bil pipu don’t go wrong with those cars

• Freeze on Apr 27, 2018 at 7:20 pm

I’m Sexy and I Know It

• Good product are welcome, no problem even made in china

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 54
    • U gile gile la bang on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:18 pm

U buy ok 1st..than u take whole famili with u kids pergi macam penang ke jb ke…kelantan..lepas tu u rpt balik ke sini..u experince ..boleh tak…repot je..apa2 pun boleh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • viosfan on Apr 28, 2018 at 5:56 pm

I want to report i regret buying japanese car coz it is ugly. Ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • sagafan on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:41 am

Ugly still ok unlike some syok sendiri ‘SS’ bodykit that think it’s special launched by some local car company

• Sonyman on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:50 pm

What i can say is. Combustion engine from china. Maybe they dont sell a lot. But can foresee we be buying their electric cars in 5 years time. By then they probably conquer most of the electric car market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:41 am

by then Japanese already also have their own electric cheap cheap.

Who people will buy? Japanese or China electric?

After so many videos of china fans catching fire and burning houses down, I rather buy Japanese

• Kilingkiang uu uu on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:26 am

Where got video? Show la we also wan to see!

• nosushi on Apr 28, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Jepunis car salesman sembang kencang je, baik beli geely/P1/Volvo/mesidis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Peugeot 5008 (7 seaters) is now selling at RM174k with warranty…
    How much Borgward BX-7 willingly to be price at?
    Either full spec full options model will be sellable but not the basic one?

China/Malaysia/Germany made, who cares?
    Just show us a good introductory price first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Sammy Loo on Apr 29, 2018 at 12:03 am

i am waiting to get a Peugeot 5008 (7 seaters) 3 years down the road, should be able to get it at the price of a honda jazz

• stastasta on May 03, 2018 at 2:41 pm

5008 selling at 170k but using torsion beam rear suspension, and manual front passenger seat .

• Firdaus on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Borgward Isabella…

• Betol Tak? on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Better than Proton Arena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Chinese peugeot. Looks at the headlights, grill, steering, gauges, head unit and center console. Same like peugeot.

• s6001 on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:59 pm

When I first arrived to China, Chery, Chang Cheng (Great Wall), Geely and other brands were quite horrible to even look at. After being in China for a while, the progress of these brands, and newer brands, are remarkable in terms of developments and acquisitions. I didn’t know what a Geely car looked like until recently after they acquired Volvo and now a small stake in Daimler but their cars are quite decent. The Boyue will be a pleasant surprise for the Msian market as it is quite a nice car. I’m sure it’ll come with the standard warranty. But even the Haval new range for 2018 is quite impressive, although we don’t get it in Msia due to poorer sales. Rover, now acquired by Shanghai Automobile International Corporation (SAIC), is rebadged Roewe, is quite decent looking due to a JV with GM. All in all, don’t underestimate China’s automotive prowess, they will catch up to Koreans, and then the Japanese. I don’t doubt that China will catch up, overall, very soon…unless you can afford premium brands, be very prepared to own one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 134
    • Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:43 pm

and yet aircon in your house is york or panasonic brand. You refuse to use China Hisense brand

People talk big but they themselves scared to buy. Why your LED TV is Samsung??? You should have bought Hisense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
      • seancorr (Member) on Apr 28, 2018 at 12:02 am

Dude don’t just judge everyone by face value. I have a Midea AC at home just to try out a Chinese brand and heck it’s colder than all my Panasonic systems and guess what? The remote control has backlit LCD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 49
        • Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:43 am

that is China style. They make look high tech but dalam kuality tak ada.

Same same with car. Outside look choon, inside kuality kosong

Dont fall for China designs and gadgets that look so high tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
          • ipong X on Apr 28, 2018 at 6:01 pm

I just bought ipong made in china, no quality you said?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
          • basherlogic on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:56 pm

does ipong cost RM100k?

• ipong? Sure no quality la. Iphone baru ada quality, made under strict manufacturing process.

• beetl on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:46 am

Can get LED indicator on the unit. This is the way it shuld be on cars, not subpar cheapo quality AEB or tin kosong luxury cars

• Kilingkiang uu uu on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:29 am

Sorry lei jipunkia, i use Midea lei and its working fine. Another case of my table fan, 1 Elba and Midea put together and use in workplace, Elba died after 2 months of use while Midea still working after 4 months… Sorry lo dont think ur jipunkia product is as great as their propaganda after all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:59 pm

BX5 pricing sound logical but the BX7….hmmm how about under 170k? As with all new brands they have to start from somewhere right? U can turn into a Honda or Toyota overnight so give these people some slack will ya? China automotive has progressed so rapidly that they will surpass the Koreans soon. Just give them a few more years and they will be on leveled playing ground..unlike Proton which took more than 30 years and still can’t stand on their own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Hassan on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:34 am

China cars have grown cause China has 1.5 billion population. They are bought by their people.

Korean cars have genuinely grown because they sell all over the world. Over hundred countries people use Korean cars

In reality, China cars have never grown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 11
    • 7yrsold on Apr 28, 2018 at 7:48 am

You only know to bash, Geely is there in P1

• Will Mac on Apr 28, 2018 at 12:11 am

It’ll not be around long

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 28, 2018 at 9:23 am

at this price////sorry la cannot la brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • arowana on Apr 28, 2018 at 9:35 am

mazda copycat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 28, 2018 at 11:45 am

I have the Haval M4 for the last 3.5years. There is far lesser issues with it than my 1.3 year old Bezza. I can’t even find parts for Bezza unlike for my M4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
    • Yeah right. What issues do u have with Bezza? Parts are plenty for Bezza in Malaysia unless ur driving it in China!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • Gopal on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:12 pm

My frens Haval always in the workshop in Glenmarie. So so so so so so many quality issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Same with my friend too, he said; beli je honda perodua, tk payah pikir tak pening kepala

• Sobuz on Apr 29, 2018 at 10:37 am

Already stuck with it so has to speak otherwise. Likely haval kept in the garage only so no big issues

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Let me just summarised the opinions here.

Love the time tested T/H/N brands & absolutely don’t trust Chinese brands.

Funny how in the mid 70s, the same was true for Ford/Holden (loved it) & T/H/D (hated it). (D=Datsun, pre name change of today Nissan).

s6001 aptly put it in an eloquent way for he has done his analysis & is far sighted enough to see the possible outcome. Sadly many disagree as they’re too emotionally connected to the present situation & perhaps does not wish to acknowledge this possible future outcome.

There’s no absolute right nor wrong. History is repeating itself. If you’re a student of history, you’ll see the same trend happening every generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
    • notakata on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:49 pm

China car may do well but China car associated with Proton sure cannot sell

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Youre looking short term & small picture (M’sia only). Proton is just a stepping stone for now. Branding wise, Proton is more well known & easier to accept than an unknown Chinese brand. Short term, easier to penetrate new markets with an established brand, even if it’s a brand comes with lots of baggage. Bonus of course is an established modern factory with a trained workforce. Literally can start immediately rather than wait 2 years to build a brand new factory & wait another 6 months to train workforce.

But once the Chinese brand is established (maybe in 10 years time), Proton brand may not be necessary anymore. Marketing strategy usually run both short & long term concurrently.

These Chinese manufacturers are looking to expand & one untapped market is the RHD market. Rather than jump into an established market like Australia, NZ, UK, Ireland, why not test out in some emerging market (like ASEAN) & refine along the way. Once you’ve got the right manufacturing-marketing mix/formula, only then penetrate the established market. Along the way, you build branding to help later penetrate established market. Remember, the Chinese from way back when (Admiral Cheng Ho) has always played the long game. They have the patience, resilience & resources.

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:51 pm

I own a Japanese car which is almost 14 years old except for minor issues it is so damn reliable so much so I find it hard to sell even though the driving pleasure goes to Germans. My point is reliability and driving pleasure two reasons for purchase which the Japanese and Germans are known for, Chinese cars are getting closer but not there yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • tweetty88 on Jul 08, 2019 at 5:56 pm

That’s a fair comment Mohan. PRC will go far when it sets its mind on something. Its huge population are never short of smart and talented people. We were ahead of China 20 years ago but look where it is and where we are today. While many Malaysians are still busy and preoccupied with politic, race, religion and sex issues on a daily basis, PRC Chinese are busy with R&D on science, high tech., e-tech and economy. That’s the difference bet. them and countries too obsessed with unproductive issues.

• Jimmy on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Borgward needs constructive inputs and strategies, short-term and long-term.
    Study properly the history of premium brands and their characteristics.
    Study the DNAs of German vehicles.
    Continuing to be short-sighted, Borgward will become a Chinese brand.

For this BX5 and BX7, they passed, on exterior looks/designs.

• Jimmy on Apr 29, 2018 at 2:57 pm

And please, youngsters new to Paultan, don’t use my name.
    Create your own.

• thepolygonal on Apr 30, 2018 at 8:43 am

7 years warranty and at fixed buyback value after 7 years will help promote this brand. Marketing guys should get to work. Main concern here is brand name, reliability and secondhand value.

• Mr. Octopus on Apr 30, 2018 at 9:14 am

LOL that video thumbnail… I guess no one noticed the joke!

• Ben Yap on Apr 30, 2018 at 9:38 am

if i buy and drive this car, i scared people laugh at me and look down on me.

so i drive a honda instead.

• Akira on Apr 30, 2018 at 9:49 am

China culture is, the cost of building a new product is cheaper than fixing a product.
    Hence they will not build quality products.

• Guan yin ma on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Dont look down chinese product. Your Iphone is made in china with 99% chinese component. Even huawei already in top level competing with apple and samsung. Just go and china and look, if their national car can survive the traffic and road condition in beijing and shanghai , the car is almost bulletproof.

• Balik TongShan on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:18 pm

saw most comments and ppl reject China products due to quality issues and this and that.
    But did u really used China product before? have u been to China before?
    Once u been to China then u will know how tiny u are in Malaysia.
    Even our govt partner (or asking for help from China).
    So u think china products still that lousy? exploit when u used it?
    it is a matter of time that eventually all the things we use will be from China (or at least owned by China company).

• If the service centre is everywhere in Malaysia, for ths German car, Chinese price. Why not?

• Looks like Mitsubishi evo engine in there.. recycle again?

• Ashley on May 01, 2018 at 8:19 am

Paultan, can u cover your face ?

• Japan Brand Name but Made in Thailand or Indonesia, most of Malaysian said Japan car rather than Thailand or Indonesia car.

This is German Brand name with true history in German but Made in China, then most of Malaysian said China Car.

This kind of people just lying to himself.