Staff not involved in insurance fraud case: Puspakom

Puspakom has refuted allegations that its staff were involved in a false insurance claims syndicate that has raked in up to RM2.9 million, according to The Sun. This was in reference to a recent case where police detained at least eight individuals following a police report lodged last month, and the police realised that something was amiss when many reports lodged of stolen cars were found to be false, the report said.

According to the report, the modus operandi of the alleged syndicate members was to first approach car owners who had outstanding instalment payments due. A false report of vehicle theft would then be made, before the claim with the insurance company is made. The vehicle in question would then be re-registered and then sold on via several ‘networks’ within the syndicate’s contact.

“The authorities have always monitored vehicle’s insurance claims, status of lost vehicles. Such roles are outside the jurisdiction of Puspakom because we do not have the access to information or data of the vehicle which was reported missing and being brought to Puspakom for the purpose of inspection,” the statement from Puspakom read, adding that its staff are not involved in any of the police’s questioning and investigation.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Stinks of corruption on Apr 27, 2018 at 2:59 pm

I think the problem lies more with JPJ since JPJ is responsible for ownership changes, but we definitely can’t rule out the insurance fraud syndicates has ‘jalan’ in Puspakom as well.

• Anonymous on Apr 28, 2018 at 11:42 am

This will not be an issue if the authorities e.g. JPJ and PDRM allow PUSPAKOM to link and verify vehicles’ data (blacklisted, criminal etc.) from their database. JPJ does not allow this verification mechanism to PUSPAKOM, read PUSPAKOM’s statement.

• Gopal on Apr 28, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Puspakom is a money making organisation. Imagine…even new cars need Puspakom certification. You telling me Honda, Toyota and Nissan and others don’t produce quality cars from their factory?

This alone increases price of each car by RM500

All to make Puspakom richer

• Bang, salah topic laa, article ni report pasal insurance claim fraud apa kena mengena puspakom buat duit pulak? Transfer ownership inspection cost u rm30, tell me at what profit margin PUSPAKOM makes? Do u know that inspection fee at PUSPAKOM is controlled and gazzeted by the Gov, and PUSPAKOM does not have the liberty to dictate inspection fee? And how much concession fee paid to the Gov to date and how much margins PUSPAKOM has made over the years? U talk must based on facts bro dont simply accuse, kena jail nanti tau fitnah je kerja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Rightwinger on Apr 29, 2018 at 10:55 am

Biasa la abang. Dia orang ni main tuduh yg bukan2 je. Semua outa, takdak fakta.

• Roti john on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:12 pm

In my past experience involved with theft investigations some issues will be looked by the insurance company. A simple example us how was the monthly instalment pay. Was the insured a good paymaster? If he is good.. The case seems logically legit. If there is already a 4 months outstanding, insurance adjusters and the bank will dig in deeper.

• Michael Chew on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:40 pm

remember the syndicate printing false road tax with original JPJ road tax slips? Polis found tons of rolls and rims of original JPJ road tax paper in the syndicate premises

I scratch your back…you scratch mine